NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31
This event has passed
Music Classical music Masterworks Piano
  • Haydn Symphony No. 97 in C major
  • Mendelssohn Nocturne from A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  • Mendelssohn Scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  • Mendelssohn Wedding March from A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  • Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5, in E-flat major, Op. 73, “Emperor”

We regret to inform you that due to illness, pianist Jonathan Biss is unable to perform for this concert.  We wish Jonathan a swift recovery and look forward to having him appear with the National Arts Centre Orchestra in the future.

Internationally acclaimed pianist Inon Barnatan will step in for Jonathan Biss to perform the Beethoven “Emperor” Concerto. Called “one of the most admired pianist of his generation” by the New York Times, Barnatan is celebrated for his poetic sensibility, musical intelligence and consummate artistry.  This will be Inon’s third appearance with the NAC Orchestra.

--

It’s always a stellar event when the NAC Orchestra’s beloved director emeritus Pinchas Zukerman returns to the podium of Southam Hall, and this program is no exception.

Felix Mendelssohn wrote the incidental music for a production of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream just a few years before his death, but this wonderful work lives on, from its serene Nocturne through its sprightly Scherzo to its euphoric Wedding March, embraced by newlyweds the world over.

Lovers of Beethoven will be enthralled as pianist Inon Barnatan performs the great composer’s regal “Emperor” Piano Concerto No. 5. The last of Beethoven’s piano concertos, the “Emperor” was written while Vienna was under occupation by the French, and the concerto’s resulting militaristic rhythms and themes of victory reveal a brilliant artist creating in the midst of chaos. This was Beethoven’s final completed piano concerto: the relentless progress of his increasing deafness meant that he never performed it himself, yet it remains one of his most notable and cherished works.

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission

Inon Barnatan © Marco Boreggrev
Pinchas Zukerman © Cheryl Mazak
Menu

Cet événement est passé
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Piano
  • Haydn Symphonie no 97 en do majeur
  • Mendelssohn Nocturne du Songe d’une nuit d’été
  • Mendelssohn Scherzo du Songe d’une nuit d’été
  • Mendelssohn Marche nuptiale du Songe d’une nuit d’été
  • Beethoven Concerto pour piano no 5 en mi bémol majeur, op. 73, « Empereur »

Nous avons le regret de vous informer que le pianiste Jonathan Biss devra annuler sa présence pour cause de maladie. Nous lui souhaitons un prompt rétablissement et nous avons hâte de le voir se produire avec l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts à l’avenir.

Le pianiste de renommée internationale Inon Barnatan remplacera Jonathan Biss pour interpréter le concerto « Empereur » de Beethoven. Qualifié de « l’un des pianistes les plus admirés de sa génération » par le New York Times, Barnatan est acclamé pour sa sensibilité poétique, son intelligence musicale et son art sans pareil. Ce sera la troisième fois que Barnatan se produit avec l’Orchestre du CNA.

--

Les retrouvailles de l’Orchestre du CNA et de son bien-aimé chef émérite Pinchas Zukerman à la Salle Southam sont toujours mémorables, et ce concert ne fait pas exception.

Felix Mendelssohn a composé une musique de scène pour la présentation du Songe d’une nuit d’été de Shakespeare, avant de mourir quelques années plus tard. Cette œuvre magnifique est cependant passée à la postérité, avec son Nocturne serein, son Scherzo enjoué et sa Marche nuptiale euphorique qui accompagne les nouveaux mariés partout dans le monde.

Les amoureux de Beethoven seront ravis de retrouver le pianiste Inon Barnatan dans le majestueux Concerto pour piano no 5, « Empereur ». Beethoven a écrit son ultime concerto pour piano alors que Vienne était occupée par les Français, et les rythmes militaires et les thèmes triomphaux qui en ont résulté traduisent le génie d’un artiste capable de créer au milieu du chaos. Ce concerto pour piano est le dernier qu’ait achevé Beethoven : l’irrépressible progression de sa surdité croissante a fait en sorte qu’il n’a jamais pu l’interpréter lui-même, mais l’œuvre n’en est pas moins l’une de ses compositions les plus remarquables et appréciées.

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte

Inon Barnatan © Marco Boreggrev
Pinchas Zukerman © Cheryl Mazak
Menu