April 8, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Haydn, Biss & Beethoven

Reflection

The Fifth Piano Concerto is one of the finest and most powerful expressions of one of Beethoven's essential qualities: exhilaration. In it, Beethoven the eternal optimist is at the forefront, and even in its most ruminative moments, the music communicates joy above all else. While much of this manifests as a kind of heroism, the piece's most striking moment might be the opening solos of the slow movement, where the sound of the piano must shine like the moon – an unimaginably beautiful dreamscape. Playing this work is to experience the sort of elation that only Beethoven can provide.


The NAC Orchestra played Haydn’s Symphony No. 97 for the first time in 1971, under the direction of Boyd Neel, and most recently in 1992, with Hans Graf on the podium.

---

The music from Mendelssohn’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream that we are hearing tonight have been played by the NAC Orchestra at various times over the years, sometimes individually, sometimes as a suite, and as part of the full Incidental Music. Pinchas Zukerman led the Orchestra in playing these three pieces in 1999, as did Roberto Minczuk in 2009, and most recently in 2014, the complete Incidental Music with Alexander Shelley.

---

The NAC Orchestra has played Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto many times since their first performance in 1970 with Marek Jablonski at the piano and Boris Brott on the podium. Their most recent interpretation took place in 2018 under the direction of Alexander Shelley, with Emanuel Ax as soloist. Other soloists who have played this work with the Orchestra over the years include Claudio Arrau, Anton Kuerti, Yefim Bronfman, Angela Cheng and Jonathan Biss, who performs it for us again this evening.

Music from the Incidental Music to A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 61

FELIX MENDELSSOHN
Born in Hamburg, February 3, 1809
Died in Leipzig, November 4, 1847

The plays of William Shakespeare (1564–1616) have inspired more music from more composers than any other single literary figure. Though his popularity declined during the eighteenth century, he made an enormous comeback during the nineteenth, the age of musical romanticism. The translation by Ludwig Tieck and A.W. Schlegel of 16 Shakespeare plays into German opened the floodgates for a veritable deluge of music based on this author. A Midsummer Night’s Dream was the favourite of both Felix Mendelssohn and his sister Fanny. Tieck himself called the play “a Romantic masterpiece.” William Hazlitt remarked that reading the play was “like wandering in a grove by moonlight.” The union of literature and music was a prevailing aspect of musical romanticism, and in Mendelssohn’s score we find one of the most successful cases in all music of the transference of one art to another.

In 1843, 17 years after writing the Overture, Mendelssohn wrote 12 additional numbers to accompany a production of the complete play in Potsdam. So perfectly does the incidental music match the Overture in spirit and style that there is not even the slightest suggestion of a chronological gap. And so perfectly also does the music fit the play that it set new standards and brought about a musical revolution in theatre productions. No one since Mendelssohn, however, has quite risen to his level of achievement, though many have tried.

The NAC Orchestra is performing tonight three of the most famous numbers from the complete incidental music. The ethereally dreamy Nocturne serves as an entr’acte between Acts III and IV. Puck has put to sleep the entire lot of hopelessly mismatched lovers with his magic flower drops. The confusion and strained relations of the day are forgotten as all the tender lyricism and beauty of a warm, dream-filled summer night are captured in this Nocturne. The Scherzo is music of diaphanous delicacy that perfectly captures the impression of a dozen tiny fairy feet dancing in the moonlight beneath tall blades of grass. This piece, with its scintillating woodwind sonorities, has virtually come to define the idea of “lightness” in music. The splendorous Wedding March celebrates a triple wedding (Hermia-Lysander, Helena-Demetrius, Theseus-Hippolyta). So famous is this march that it has become something of a cliché, mangled in countless arrangements and disarrangements; tonight we hear it in its pure, original form.

— Program notes by Robert Markow


Haydn

Symphony No. 97 in C major

FRANZ JOSEPH HAYDN
Born in Rohrau, Austria, March 31, 1732
Died in Vienna, May 31, 1809

On New Year’s Day, 1791, Haydn arrived in England, where he remained for the entire year and well into the next. This was the first of his two highly successful sojourns in London (he returned in 1794–1795), for each of which he wrote six symphonies. Collectively, these 12 final entries in his symphonic catalogue would become known as the “London” or “Salomon” symphonies. No. 97 received its first performance at the Hanover Square Concert Rooms probably on May 3, 1792.

The symphony opens with a slow introduction, a feature of every Haydn symphony from No. 90 onward with one exception (No. 95), either as a foil to the ensuing main part of the movement or as a seed-bed of melodic material to come. (In the case of No. 97, it is the former.) The music plunges fortissimo into the Vivace main section, a powerful unison for the full orchestra outlining the tonic chord of C major. The contrast couldn’t be greater. More startling contrasts are in store. The second subject is a simple, dainty little waltz tune with an oom-pah-pah accompaniment. This is soon dispelled by vigorous triplets for the full string section, replete with strong accents in unexpected places. The development section begins with still another surprise – a leap into a foreign key, following which comes a long solo trio for two oboes and a flute. In Haydn the surprises never cease!

The second movement consists of a theme and three variations. Each half of the theme – and of each variation – is repeated, but in most cases not exactly (another thwarting of expectation). For the third variation, when the tonality shifts back to major after an excursion in the minor, Haydn asks the violins to play sul ponticello (bowing near the bridge of the instrument, which produces a thin, glassy sound).

The Menuetto is music befitting a splen-dourous ballroom and proud dancers. Trumpets, horns and timpani prominently add their festive colours to the sound. The central Trio provides the utmost in contrast. Oboe and violins sing a delightful tune while the bassoon follows at the interval of a tenth below.

Melodic, harmonic, structural and textural surprises continue in the finale, one of Haydn’s most spirited and invigorating. It begins quietly, a favourite Haydn trick to command attention. As for the end, not one listener in ten ever guesses exactly where it comes. Good luck!

— Program notes by Robert Markow

Mendelssohn

Nocturne from A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Mendelssohn

Scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Mendelssohn

Wedding March from A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Beethoven

Piano Concerto No. 5, in E-flat major, Op. 73, “Emperor”

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN
Born in Bonn, December 16, 1770
Died in Vienna, March 26, 1827

Although Beethoven did not affix a subtitle to this work, it is, in its grandeur and splendour, indeed an emperor among concertos. The name, which, strangely enough, is not used in German-speaking countries, appears to have been bestowed by the pianist and publisher John Cramer, a close friend of Beethoven. Another theory has it that a French officer called out “C’est l’empereur” during a majestic passage at the first Viennese performance. In any case, Beethoven would certainly not have had in mind to honour Napoleon: the French, led by their Emperor, were once again at war with Austria, and in the spring of 1809, France occupied Vienna. “Nothing but drums, cannons, human misery of every sort!” wrote Beethoven on July 26 to his publisher in Leipzig.

The spirit of heroism nonetheless infuses this music, and the Emperor Concerto, over and above its inherent musical qualities, stands as a stirring testament to humankind’s heroic will to survive in trying times. Indeed, as Maynard Solomon points out in his biography, this concerto was just one of many manifestations of Beethoven’s “Heroic Decade,” a period that also brought forth half a dozen other works in the “heroic” key of E-flat major, including the Eroica Symphony, the Variations Op. 35 for piano, the String Quartet Op. 74 and the Les Adieux Sonata Op. 81a.

The last of Beethoven’s five piano concertos was finished in October 1809, but its first performance waited for over two years, in Leipzig on November 28, 1811. (There may have been earlier performances, or private ones, but these are unconfirmed.) The first Viennese performance took place in February 1812; here the critical reception was much cooler – Beethoven was accused of “being able to obtain the support only of connoisseurs.” But in neither performance was he the soloist. He had played the premieres of his four previous concertos, but now his hearing was so far gone that a continuing career as a pianist was out of the question.

The Emperor Concerto opens in resplendent majesty: three imperious chords are sounded by the orchestra, each in turn elaborated by the soloist in “fountains and cascades” (to quote Michael Steinberg’s apt phrase) of arpeggios, trills, scales and broken octaves. Following this impressive introduction comes the first subject – a big, sonorous, richly scored theme punctuated with martial elements. The mysterious second theme occurs first in tentative tones in E-flat minor, then immediately afterwards in a flowing legato horn duet in E-flat major. When the piano finally returns, the two principal themes and other material as well are elaborated and developed in a mighty discourse between soloist and orchestra. Unusually, the standard cadenza for the soloist is omitted, this function having already been fulfilled by the opening flourishes and the return of this passage at the recapitulation.

The slow movement is one of Beethoven’s most profound. A hushed mood of sublime simplicity offers refreshing, soothing contrast to the militant grandeur and exuberance of the first movement. At its conclusion, in a transitional passage, Beethoven outlines the principal theme of the next movement, and suddenly, without a break, the jubilant finale bursts forth in full panoply. Although nominally in rondo form, there is but a single contrasting episode, a lyrical theme of regal bearing heard twice in the course of the movement, and only by the soloist. In the central portion of the movement, the galloping main theme is subjected to what amounts to a short series of variations as Beethoven re-introduces it three times, each in a different key in succession (C major, A-flat major, E major) before returning to the home key of E-flat. Eventually the theme expires, almost as if exhausted from its relentless repetitions, only to revive in one final, exuberant burst of energy.

— Program notes by Robert Markow


Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août

Haydn, Biss et Beethoven

Réflexion

Le Concerto pour piano no 5 de Beethoven est l’une des œuvres qui expriment avec le plus de finesse et de puissance un trait caractéristique essentiel du compositeur : l’allégresse. Beethoven, éternel optimiste, y est au sommet de son art, et même dans les moments les plus sombres de la partition, l’œuvre respire par-dessus tout la joie. Et si cette joie traduit essentiellement une sorte d’héroïsme, c’est sans doute dans les solos d’ouverture du mouvement lent que résident les passages les plus marquants de l’œuvre, où la sonorité du piano doit luire comme la lune – dans une féerie d’une beauté inimaginable. Jouer cette œuvre, c’est accéder à un état d’euphorie auquel seul Beethoven peut mener.


L’Orchestre du CNA a joué la Symphonie no 97 de Haydn pour la première fois en 1971, sous la baguette de Boyd Neel; plus récemment, en 1992, Hans Graf était au pupitre.

---

Les trois numéros du Songe d’une nuit d’été de Mendelssohn au programme ce soir ont été plusieurs fois interprétés par l’Orchestre du CNA au fil des ans, à la fois individuellement et comme éléments d’une suite. Pinchas Zukerman a dirigé l’Orchestre dans ces numéros en 1999; Roberto Minczuk a fait de même en 2009. Plus récemment, en 2014, l'Orchestre a offert une prestation de l'intégrale de la musique de scène du Songe d’une nuit d’été sous la direction d'Alexander Shelley.

---

L’Orchestre du CNA a joué le concerto « Empereur » de Beethoven à de nombreuses reprises depuis sa première prestation, donnée en 1970 sous la houlette de Boris Brott, avec Marek Jablonski au piano. La plus récente interprétation a eu lieu en 2018, sous la direction d’Alexander Shelley, avec le soliste Emanuel Ax. Parmi les autres solistes qui se sont produits dans cette œuvre avec l’Orchestre au fils des ans, on trouve Claudio Arrau, Anton Kuerti, Yefim Bronfman, Angela Cheng et Jonathan Biss, qui l’interprète pour nous à nouveau ce soir.

Musique de scène pour Le Songe d’une nuit d’été, op. 61

FÉLIX MENDELSSOHN
Hambourg, 3 février 1809
Leipzig, 4 novembre 1847

Le dramaturge William Shakespeare (1564–1616) a inspiré plus d’œuvres musicales de la part de plus de compositeurs que n’importe quel autre écrivain. Si sa popularité a diminué au XVIIIe siècle, elle a repris de plus belle au XIXe, à l’époque romantique. La publication, par Ludwig Tieck et A.W. Schlegel, de 16 pièces de Shakespeare en traduction allemande a provoqué un véritable déluge de musiques inspirées par l’œuvre du barde anglais. La pièce préférée de Félix Mendelssohn et de sa sœur Fanny était Le Songe d’une nuit d’été. Tieck lui-même la qualifiait de « chef-d’œuvre romantique ». William Hazlitt, quant à lui, faisait remarquer que sa lecture était « comme une promenade au clair de lune dans les bois ». L’union de la littérature et de la musique était au cœur de la musique romantique et Mendelssohn nous offre ici l’une des adaptations d’une pièce de théâtre en musique les plus réussies.

En 1843, 17 ans après avoir créé son Ouverture au Songe d’une nuit d’été, Mendelssohn composa douze numéros supplémentaires pour accompagner une représentation de la pièce complète à Potsdam. La musique de scène s’allie si parfaitement à l’Ouverture, dans son esprit et son style, que l’on ne peut y déceler la moindre distance chronologique. D’autre part, la musique épouse si bien la pièce qu’elle imposa de nouvelles normes et provoqua une véritable révolution musicale dans les productions théâtrales. Beaucoup de compositeurs ont tenté d’imiter Mendelssohn, mais aucun n’a véritablement réussi à atteindre un tel degré de perfection.

L’Orchestre du CNA interprète ce soir les trois numéros les plus célèbres de l’intégrale de la musique de scène. Le nocturne onirique et éthéré sert d’interlude entre les Actes III et IV : Puck a endormi toute la compagnie d’amants terriblement mal assortis, grâce au philtre qu’il a concocté à l’aide du nectar magique. La confusion et les tensions de la journée s’effacent et ce nocturne illustre le lyrisme tendre et la beauté d’une chaude nuit d’été propice à la rêverie. Diaphane et délicat, le scherzo dépeint merveilleusement les sarabandes des petites fées dansant au clair de lune sous les grands brins d’herbe; cette pièce, qui nous donne à entendre les sonorités scintillantes des bois, est pratiquement devenue l’archétype de la « légèreté », telle qu’on peut l’exprimer en musique. Enfin, la majestueuse Marche nuptiale célèbre un triple mariage (Hermia et Lysandre; Héléna et Démétrius; et Thésée et Hippolyta). Cette marche nuptiale est si célèbre qu’elle est devenue une sorte de cliché, dont on a fait d’incalculables arrangements plus ou moins heureux. Nous pouvons l’entendre ce soir dans sa forme originale la plus pure.

— Traduit d’après Robert Markow


Haydn

Symphonie no 97 en do majeur

FRANZ JOSEPH HAYDN
Rohrau, Autriche, 31 mars 1732
Vienne, 31 mai 1809

Le jour de l’An 1791, Haydn débarquait en Angleterre, où il séjourna toute l’année et une bonne partie de la suivante. C’était le premier de deux fructueux séjours à Londres (il y retourna en 1794–1795), dont il allait profiter à chaque occasion pour écrire six symphonies. Ensemble, les dernières entrées dans son catalogue symphonique sont désormais connues comme « symphonies londoniennes » ou « Salomon ». La Symphonie no 97 a été créée aux Hanover-Square Concert Rooms, probablement le 3 mai 1792.

L’œuvre s’ouvre sur une introduction lente, trait commun à toutes les symphonies de Haydn à compter de la quatre-vingt-dixième, à une exception près (no 95), soit pour paver la voie à la section principale, soit pour préfigurer le matériau mélodique à venir (ce qui est le cas de la Symphonie no 97). Puis, la musique plonge fortissimo dans la section principale, marquée Vivace, un puissant unisson pour l’orchestre entier mettant en relief l’accord tonique de do majeur. Le contraste ne pourrait être plus vif. Mais Haydn a d’autres contrastes saisissants en réserve. Le second sujet est un air de valse tout simple et délicat, sur un rythme appuyé. Il se dissipe bientôt pour faire place à de vigoureux triolets de toute la section des cordes, regorgeant d’accents forts qui surgissent inopinément. La section de développement s’amorce avec un autre passage inattendu – un saut dans une tonalité éloignée, suivi d’un long trio pour deux hautbois et une flûte. Chez Haydn, on n’est jamais au bout de ses surprises!

Le second mouvement consiste en un thème et trois variations. Une partie du thème et de chaque variation est reprise, mais non à l’identique dans la plupart des cas (autre pirouette pour déjouer les attentes). Pour la troisième variation, lorsque la tonalité revient en mode majeur après une brève excursion en mineur, Haydn demande aux violons de jouer sul ponticello (en attaquant les cordes avec l’archet près du chevalet, ce qui produit un son dense et cristallin).

Le menuet est digne d’une splendide salle de bal où s’enlacent de superbes couples de danseurs. Trompettes, cors et timbales dominent, ajoutant leurs timbres festifs à la sonorité d’ensemble. Le trio central présente le contraste le plus puissant qu’on puisse imaginer : tandis que le hautbois et les violons entonnent un air exquis, le basson suit à l’intervalle de dixième inférieur.

Les surprises mélodiques, harmoniques et architectoniques se poursuivent dans le finale, l’un des plus inspirés et exaltants de toute l’œuvre de Haydn. Le mouvement s’amorce tout en douceur, une astuce à laquelle le compositeur  avait souvent recours pour retenir l’attention. Quant à la fin, il n’y a pas un auditeur sur dix qui parvienne à l’anticiper avec exactitude. Bonne chance!

— Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Mendelssohn

Nocturne du Songe d’une nuit d’été

Mendelssohn

Scherzo du Songe d’une nuit d’été

Mendelssohn

Marche nuptiale du Songe d’une nuit d’été

Beethoven

Concerto pour piano no 5 en mi bémol majeur, op. 73, « Empereur »

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN
Bonn, 16 décembre 1770
Vienne, 26 mars 1827

Le sous-titre n’est pas de Beethoven, mais il n’en demeure pas moins qu’on peut considérer le Concerto no 5, en raison de sa majesté et de sa splendeur, comme l’empereur des concertos. Il semble que son surnom – lequel, étrangement, n’est pas en usage dans les pays germanophones – lui ait été attribué par le pianiste et éditeur John Cramer, ami du compositeur. Selon une autre théorie, le nom viendrait plutôt du mot d’un officier français – « C’est l’empereur! » – à l’audition d’un passage majestueux lors de la création du concerto à Vienne. Quoi qu’il en soit, l’intention de Beethoven n’était certes pas de rendre hommage à Napoléon : en effet, la France, sous les ordres de l’empereur, était alors en guerre avec l’Autriche et, au printemps 1809, l’armée française occupait Vienne. « Rien que des tambours, des canons, la misère humaine sous toutes ses formes! », écrivit le compositeur le 26 juillet à son éditeur à Leipzig.

L’héroïsme n’en imprègne pas moins le concerto « Empereur » qui, par-delà ses qualités musicales intrinsèques, se dresse comme un vibrant témoignage de la volonté héroïque de l’homme de survivre en des temps difficiles. En fait, comme le souligne Maynard Solomon dans sa biographie de Beethoven, ce concerto n’est que l’une des nombreuses manifestations de la « décennie héroïque » du compositeur, une période qui vit aussi naître une demi-douzaine d’autres œuvres écrites dans la tonalité « héroïque » de mi bémol, y compris la symphonie « Héroïque », les Variations pour piano, (opus 35), le Quatuor à cordes (opus 74) et la sonate « Les Adieux » (opus 81a).

Le dernier des cinq concertos pour piano de Beethoven fut achevé en octobre 1809, mais sa création n’eut lieu que deux ans plus tard, à Leipzig, le 28 novembre 1811 (il se peut toutefois que l’œuvre ait été interprétée auparavant, peut-être en privé, mais on n’en a aucune confirmation). La première viennoise fut donnée en février 1812; l’œuvre y fut reçue plutôt tièdement par la critique – qui reprocha à Beethoven de « ne pouvoir remporter l’adhésion que des seuls connaisseurs ». Mais il ne fut le soliste pour aucune de ces premières. Il avait lui-même créé ses quatre concertos précédents, mais sa surdité était désormais trop avancée pour que la poursuite d’une carrière de pianiste soit même envisageable.

Le concerto « Empereur » s’ouvre justement avec majesté : l’orchestre fait sonner trois accords impériaux que le soliste reprend tour à tour dans des « fontaines et cascades » (comme le dit si bien Michael Steinberg) d’arpèges, de trilles, de gammes et d’octaves brisées. Cette introduction impressionnante est suivie du premier sujet – un thème imposant, sonore, richement orchestré et ponctué d’éléments martiaux.

Un deuxième thème mystérieux est présenté tout d’abord dans des tonalités hésitantes de mi bémol mineur, puis vient un duo fluide pour cor legato en mi bémol majeur. Lorsque le piano est enfin de retour, les deux thèmes principaux ainsi que d’autres matériaux musicaux sont élaborés et développés au cours d’un vigoureux dialogue entre le soliste et l’orchestre. La cadence habituelle est cependant omise, cette fonction ayant déjà été accomplie par les fioritures initiales et le retour de ce passage dans la reprise.

Le mouvement lent est l’un des plus profonds de la musique de Beethoven. Une atmosphère feutrée d’une simplicité sublime présente un contraste rafraîchissant et apaisant par rapport à la grandeur et à l’exubérance martiale du premier mouvement. À la fin de cet adagio, dans un passage de transition, Beethoven esquisse le thème principal du finale, qu’il laisse éclater soudainement, sans interruption, dans toute son exubérance. Bien qu’il soit de forme rondo, le dernier mouvement ne comporte qu’un seul épisode contrasté, un thème lyrique majestueux exposé deux fois, mais uniquement par le soliste. Dans l’épisode central, le fulgurant thème principal est soumis à une courte série de variations alors que Beethoven le réexpose à trois reprises, l’enchaînant dans trois tonalités différentes (do majeur, la bémol majeur, mi majeur) avant de revenir à la tonalité initiale de mi bémol. Le thème expire finalement, comme épuisé par toutes ces haletantes répétitions, avant de renaître une dernière fois en une ultime et exubérante explosion d’énergie.

— Traduit d’après Robert Markow


Menu