Lia Cirio and Patric Palkens in William Forsythe’s Blake Works I © Angela Sterling

Boston Ballet

Fancy Free • ELA, Rhapsody in Blue • Blake Works I

This event has passed
Lia Cirio and Patric Palkens in William Forsythe’s Blake Works I © Angela Sterling
Dance Ballet with Orchestra
“William Forsythe is widely recognized as one of the most important choreographers working today" The New York Times
Featuring the National Arts Centre Orchestra

One of North America’s top ballet companies, Boston Ballet mesmerizes audiences with its sweeping repertoire that showcases the highest caliber of international talent. The evening includes with William Forsythe’s Blake Works I, a light and joyous “love letter to the art of ballet” (The New York Times) set to the poetic ballads of English musician James Blake. George Gershwin’s sultry Rhapsody in Blue accompanies a new work by Boston Ballet Principal Dancer Paulo Arrais. And, the 1940s Broadway vibe of Jerome Robbins’ showstopper Fancy Free to Leonard Bernstein’s witty score will leave audiences enraptured.

Running Time:
Fancy Free – 35 minutes
Intermission – 20 minutes

ELA, Rhapsody in Blue – 19 minutes
Intermission – 20 minutes

Blake Works I - 35 minutes
***

Jerome Robbins’ Fancy Free

Premiering in 1944, Fancy Free was the first ballet Robbins choreographed and his first collaboration with then up-and-coming composer Leonard Bernstein. The ballet depicts sailors on shore leave in New York City during the 1940s. Fancy Free immediately became a runaway hit and inspired their Tony Award-winning full-length musical On the Town. Boston Ballet premiered Fancy Free in 2012, which Karen Campbell of The Boston Globe described as “full of comic flair and brilliant choreography.”


Paulo Arrais’ ELA, Rhapsody in Blue

Principal Dancer Paulo Arrais’ ELA, Rhapsody in Blue¬ made its world premiere in 2019. Featuring a cast of 14 men and one central female dancer, the work is set to a jazzy and sultry score by George Gershwin with scenic and costume design by Nissinen. Inspired by his mother and other female influences, the ballet tells a deeply personal story of one woman’s experience of defying expectations and rising against the odds. Arrais hopes this ballet will generate conversation while celebrating powerful women everywhere.

Note: smoke machine, ELA, Rhapsody in Blue may contain adult themes


William Forsythe’s Blake Works I

Blake Works I is a work for 21 dancers set to music from GRAMMY-nominated British musician James Blake’s album “The Colour in Anything.” According to Forsythe, the ballet is dedicated to all the teachers who have enabled us to see the joy in rigor. Premiered in 2016 for Paris Opera Ballet, Blake Works I was described as “sheer joy” by Roslyn Sulcas of The New York Times.

Performance is approximately 2 hours and 15 minutes including intermission

video: Boston Ballet
Blake Works I
Boston Ballet Blake Works I
video: Boston Ballet
ELA, Rhapsody in Blue
Boston Ballet ELA, Rhapsody in Blue
video: Boston Ballet
 Fancy Free
Boston Ballet Fancy Free
Lia Cirio and Patric Palkens in William Forsythe’s Blake Works I © Angela Sterling
María Álvarez in William Forsythe’s Blake Works I © Angela Sterling
Roddy Doble and Chyrstyn Fentroy in Blake Works I © Angela Sterling
Blake Works I © Angela Sterling
Isaac Akiba, Patrick Palkens and Paul Craig in Fancy Free © Rosalie O'Connor
Isaac Akiba in Fancy Free © Rosalie O'Connor
© Rosalie O'Connor
Kathleen Breen Combes with artists of Boston Ballet in ELA, Rhapsody in Blue © Rachel Neville Photography
Kathleen Breen Combes with artists of Boston Ballet in ELA, Rhapsody in Blue © Rachel Neville Photography
Kathleen Breen Combes with artists of Boston Ballet in ELA, Rhapsody in Blue © Rachel Neville Photography
Menu

Lia Cirio et Patric Palkens dans Blake Works I de William Forsythe © Angela Sterling
Lia Cirio et Patric Palkens dans Blake Works I de William Forsythe © Angela Sterling
Danse Ballet avec orchestre
Avec l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts

Au nombre des compagnies de ballet les plus en vue d’Amérique du Nord, le Boston Ballet captive les auditoires avec son vaste répertoire, qui met en relief les talents les plus remarquables du monde. Au programme de la soirée : Blake Works I de William Forsythe, une insouciante et joyeuse « lettre d’amour à l’art du ballet » (The New York Times), sur les ballades poétiques du musicien anglais James Blake; la sensuelle Rhapsody in Blue de George Gershwin accompagne une nouvelle pièce de Paulo Arrais, premier danseur de la compagnie; et l’extraordinaire Fancy Free de Jerome Robbins, sur la spirituelle partition de Leonard Bernstein, enchantera le public avec son ambiance évoquant le Broadway des années 1940.

Durée:

Fancy Free – 35 minutes
Entracte – 20 minutes

ELA, Rhapsody in Blue – 19 minutes
Entracte – 20 minutes

Blake Works I - 35 minutes
***

Fancy Free de Jerome Robbins

Créé en 1944, Fancy Free est le premier ballet que Robbins ait chorégraphié et marquait sa collaboration inaugurale avec un jeune compositeur, alors en pleine ascension, du nom de Leonard Bernstein. Le ballet met en scène des marins en permission à terre à New York dans les années 1940. Fancy Free a aussitôt connu un immense succès et a inspiré la comédie musicale intégrale On the Town, couronnée d’un prix Tony. Le Boston Ballet a présenté Fancy Free pour la première fois en 2012, inspirant à Karen Campbell du Boston Globe ce commentaire : « une œuvre débordant de sens comique et d’invention chorégraphique. »



ELA, Rhapsody in Blue de Paulo Arrais

La création mondiale d’ELA, Rhapsody in Blue¬ du premier danseur Paulo Arrais a eu lieu en 2019. Avec une distribution de 14 danseurs entourant une unique danseuse, l’œuvre est réglée sur le jazz sensuel de George Gershwin, dans un décor et des costumes de Mikko Nissinen. Inspiré par la mère du chorégraphe et d’autres figures féminines, le ballet relate l’histoire éminemment personnelle d’une femme qui déjoue les attentes et se dresse contre l’adversité. Arrais espère que ce ballet suscitera des échanges tout en célébrant les femmes fortes du monde entier.

Nota: fumigène, et possibilité de thèmes pour adultes dans ELA, Rhapsody in Blue


Blake Works I de William Forsythe

Blake Works I est une œuvre pour 21 danseurs réglée sur la musique de l’album The Colour in Anything du musicien britannique James Blake, cité pour un prix GRAMMY. William Forsythe dédie ce ballet à tous les enseignants qui nous ont permis de découvrir les joies d’un travail rigoureux. Créé en 2016 par le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris, Blake Works I a été qualifié « d’exubérance pure » par Roslyn Sulcas du New York Times.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
nov 4
nov 5
nov 6
nov 7
  • 20 h 00
nov 8
  • 20 h 00
nov 9
  • 20 h 00
nov 10
video: Boston Ballet
Blake Works I
Boston Ballet Blake Works I
video: Boston Ballet
ELA, Rhapsody in Blue
Boston Ballet ELA, Rhapsody in Blue
video: Boston Ballet
Fancy Free
Boston Ballet Fancy Free
Lia Cirio et Patric Palkens dans Blake Works I de William Forsythe © Angela Sterling
María Álvarez dans Blake Works I © Angela Sterling
Roddy Doble et Chyrstyn Fentroy dans Blake Works I © Angela Sterling
Blake Works I © Angela Sterling
Isaac Akiba, Patrick Palkens et Paul Craig dans Fancy Free © Rosalie O'Connor
Isaac Akiba dans Fancy Free © Rosalie O'Connor
© Rosalie O'Connor
Kathleen Breen Combes avec les artistes du Boston Ballet dans ELA, Rhapsody in Blue © Rachel Neville Photography
Kathleen Breen Combes avec les artistes du Boston Ballet dans ELA, Rhapsody in Blue © Rachel Neville Photography
Kathleen Breen Combes avec les artistes du Boston Ballet dans ELA, Rhapsody in Blue © Rachel Neville Photography

Artistes

Menu