50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it! (Starting in:
)

Boston Ballet

Fancy Free • ELA, Rhapsody in Blue • Blake Works I

The return visit of Boston Ballet to our stage is long overdue. One of the world’s leading ballet companies, it continues to both uphold the classics and forge new projects under the inspired leadership of Mikko Nissinen. Mikko, who has a lovely Canadian connection in his illustrious career as former Artistic Director of Alberta Ballet, worked closely with us to develop this eclectic triple bill, one that showcases the dancers’ incredible range and talents alongside a spectrum of fantastic music.

Enjoy the world of NAC Dance!


Program

Fancy Free (35 minutes)

Intermission (20 minutes)

ELA, Rhapsody in Blue (19 minutes)

Intermission (20 minutes)

Blake Works I (35 minutes)

About Boston Ballet

Since 1963, Boston Ballet’s internationally acclaimed performances of classical, neo-classical, and contemporary ballets, combined with a dedication to world-class dance education and community initiatives, have made the institution a leader in its field.

Under the leadership of Artistic Director Mikko Nissinen and Executive Director Meredith (Max) Hodges, the Company, made up of 69 dancers and 11 nationalities, performs a diverse and acclaimed repertoire ranging from full-length classical ballets, to masterworks by George Balanchine, and new works and world premieres by today’s finest contemporary choreographers including Resident Choreographer Jorma Elo, as well as William Forsythe, Jiří Kylián, and Helen Pickett. Boston Ballet’s award-winning The Nutcracker, choreographed by Nissinen, is a tradition in New England.

In 2009, The New York Times hailed Boston Ballet’s repertoire as “one of the most eclectic in the country,” and in 2010 as having dancers that are “striking by national and international standards.” In 2016, Boston Ballet announced a long-term partnership with internationally-renowned choreographer William Forsythe and presented Forsythe’s full-length Artifact in February 2017 and the world premiere of Playlist (EP) in 2019.

The company performs its full season at the historic, 2,500-seat Citizens Bank Opera House and resides in a state-of-the-art facility in Boston’s South End designed by architect Graham Gund. Boston Ballet also has national and international touring engagements, including Paris, France (2019); Lincoln Center, Kennedy Center (2014); London, England (2013); Helsinki, Finland (2012); Spain (2010 and 2007); Ottawa, Canada (2010); and Seoul, Korea (2008).

Boston Ballet’s achievements, coupled with the generous and prestigious support of local and national funding sources, have brought Boston Ballet to the forefront of the international dance scene.
 

Boston Ballet gratefully acknowledges the following institutional partners:

Boston Cultural Council

The Boston Foundation

Klarman Family Foundation

Massachusetts Cultural Council

National Endowment for the Arts

Fancy Free

With the NAC Orchestra

World Premiere: April 18, 1944, Ballet Theatre (now American Ballet Theatre)

Boston Ballet Premiere: May 10, 2012

Choreography: Jerome Robbins

Music: Leonard Bernstein*

Scenic Design: Oliver Smith

Costumes: Kermit Love

Staging: Jean-Pierre Frohlich

Lighting Design: Les Dickert (based on original concepts by Ronald Bates)

Premiering in 1944, Fancy Free was the first ballet Jerome Robbins choreographed and his first collaboration with then up-and-coming composer Leonard Bernstein. The ballet depicts sailors on shore leave in New York City during the 1940s. Fancy Free immediately became a runaway hit and inspired their Tony Award-winning full-length musical On the Town. Boston Ballet premiered Fancy Free in 2012, which Karen Campbell of The Boston Globe described as “full of comic flair and brilliant choreography.”

* By arrangement with Boosey & Hawkes, Inc., Sole Agent for Leonard Bernstein Music Publishing Company LLC, publisher and copyright owner.

ELA, Rhapsody in Blue

With the NAC Orchestra

World Premiere: Boston Ballet, May 16, 2019

Music: George Gershwin

Choreography: Paulo Arrais

Costumes: Mikko Nissinen

Lighting Design: Brandon Stirling Baker

Principal Dancer Paulo Arrais’ ELA, Rhapsody in Blue made its world premiere in 2019. Featuring a cast of 14 men and one central female dancer, the work is set to a jazzy and sultry score by George Gershwin with scenic and costume design by Nissinen. Inspired by his mother and other female influences, the ballet tells a deeply personal story of one woman’s experience of defying expectations and rising against the odds. Arrais hopes this ballet will generate conversation while celebrating powerful women everywhere.

Blake Works I

World Premiere: July 4, 2016, Paris Opera Ballet, Palais Garnier, Paris, France

Boston Ballet Premiere: March 7, 2019

Choreography: William Forsythe

Music: James Blake*

Stage Design: William Forsythe

Costumes: William Forsythe and Dorothee Merg

Lighting Design: William Forsythe and Tanja Ruehl

Sound Design: Neils Lanz

Staging: Christopher Roman, Stefanie Arndt and Jill Johnson

Blake Works I is a work for 21 dancers set to music from GRAMMY®-nominated British musician James Blake’s album The Colour in Anything. According to Forsythe, the ballet is dedicated to all the teachers who have enabled us to see the joy in rigor. Premiered in 2016 for Paris Opera Ballet, Blake Works I was described as “sheer joy” by Roslyn Sulcas of The New York Times.

* Performed by permission of The Robbins Rights Trust.

Patricia Cordingley

A Lasting Legacy

This performance is dedicated in memory of the late Patricia (Pat) Cordingley. Pat had a lengthy career in Global Affairs and travelled the world, but considered Ottawa her home. When she retired, Pat actively supported local and national cultural organizations – including the National Arts Centre Foundation – in the spirit of giving back for the opportunities she had during her lifetime.

Pat left a generous charitable gift in her Will to the National Arts Centre Foundation in support of the performing arts. The NAC is grateful for Pat’s legacy gift which will support performance, creation and learning well into the future.


Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août

Boston Ballet

Fancy Free • ELA, Rhapsody in Blue • Blake Works I

Ce retour du Boston Ballet sur nos scènes était très attendu. Il s’agit de l’une des compagnies de ballet les plus en vue, qui continue de faire revivre les classiques tout en créant des projets novateurs sous la direction inspirée de Mikko Nissinen. Mikko, qui entretient des liens privilégiés avec le Canada en raison de son illustre passé comme directeur artistique de l’Alberta Ballet, a travaillé étroitement avec nous pour développer ce programme triple éclectique qui met en lumière les talents exceptionnels des danseurs, lesquels se meuvent au son d’une musique magnifique et variée.

Entrez dans l’univers de la danse au CNA!


Programme

Fancy Free (35 minutes)

Entracte (20 minutes)

ELA, Rhapsody in Blue (19 minutes)

Entracte (20 minutes)

Blake Works I (35 minutes)

À propos du Boston Ballet

Depuis 1963, les ballets classiques, néoclassiques et contemporains présentés par le Boston Ballet, renommés dans le monde entier, et l’engagement de la compagnie en faveur d’un enseignement de la danse de haut niveau et du rayonnement dans la collectivité, ont fait de cette institution un chef de file dans sa discipline.

Sous la conduite du directeur artistique Mikko Nissinen et de la directrice générale Meredith (Max) Hodges, la compagnie regroupant 69 danseurs de 11 nationalités présente un répertoire varié et très applaudi qui embrasse aussi bien les ballets classiques intégraux que les chefs-d’œuvre de George Balanchine ou les œuvres nouvelles et les créations mondiales des plus brillants chorégraphes d’aujourd’hui, comme Jorma Elo, chorégraphe en résidence, William Forsythe, Jiří Kylián et Helen Pickett. Le Casse-Noisette primé du Boston Ballet, chorégraphié par Nissinen, est une tradition en Nouvelle-Angleterre.

En 2009, le New York Times rendait hommage au répertoire du Boston Ballet, « l’un des plus éclectiques au pays », et en 2010, saluait ses danseurs « à la hauteur des standards nationaux et internationaux les plus élevés ». En 2016, le Boston Ballet a annoncé un partenariat de longue durée avec le chorégraphe de renommée mondiale William Forsythe; la compagnie a présenté à ce jour le ballet intégral Artifact de ce dernier, en février 2017, et a créé Playlist (EP) en 2019.

La compagnie présente sa saison complète dans l’historique Citizens Bank Opera House, salle de 2 500 places, et est domiciliée dans une installation de pointe conçue par l’architecte Graham Gund, sise dans le quartier South End de Boston. Le Boston Ballet tourne aussi sur la scène nationale et internationale; il s’est notamment produit à Paris (2019); au Lincoln Center et au Kennedy Center (2014); à Londres (2013); à Helsinki (2012); en Espagne (2010 et 2007); à Ottawa (2010); et à Séoul (2008).

Les réalisations du Boston Ballet, alliées au généreux et prestigieux appui de sources de financement locales et nationales, ont propulsé la compagnie aux avant-postes de la scène mondiale de la danse.
 

Le Boston Ballet remercie chaleureusement les partenaires institutionnels suivants :

Boston Cultural Council

The Boston Foundation

Klarman Family Foundation

Massachusetts Cultural Council

National Endowment for the Arts

Fancy Free

Avec l’Orchestre du CNA

Creation mondiale : 18 avril 1944, Ballet Theatre (maintenant American Ballet Theatre)

Première du Boston Ballet : 10 mai 2012

Chorégraphie : Jerome Robbins

Musique : Leonard Bernstein*

Décors : Oliver Smith

Costumes : Kermit Love

Mise en scene : Jean-Pierre Frohlich

Éclairages : Les Dickert (d’après la conception originale de Ronald Bates)

Créé en 1944, Fancy Free est le premier ballet que Jerome Robbins ait chorégraphié et marquait sa collaboration inaugurale avec un jeune compositeur, alors en pleine ascension, du nom de Leonard Bernstein. Le ballet met en scène des marins en permission à terre à New York dans les années 1940. Fancy Free a aussitôt connu un immense succès et a inspiré la comédie musicale intégrale On the Town, couronnée d’un prix Tony. Le Boston Ballet a présenté Fancy Free pour la première fois en 2012, inspirant à Karen Campbell du Boston Globe ce commentaire : « une œuvre débordant de sens comique et d’invention chorégraphique. »

* En vertu d’une entente avec Boosey & Hawkes, Inc., unique éditeur et titulaire des droits d’auteur pour Leonard Bernstein Music Publishing Company LLC.

ELA, Rhapsody in Blue

Avec l’Orchestre du CNA

Création mondiale : Boston Ballet, 16 mai 2019

Musique : George Gershwin

Chorégraphie : Paulo Arrais

Costumes : Mikko Nissinen

Éclairages : Brandon Stirling Baker

La création mondiale d’ELA, Rhapsody in Blue du premier danseur Paulo Arrais a eu lieu en 2019. Avec une distribution de 14 danseurs entourant une unique danseuse, l’œuvre est réglée sur le jazz sensuel de George Gershwin, dans un décor et des costumes de Mikko Nissinen. Inspiré par la mère du chorégraphe et d’autres figures féminines, le ballet relate l’histoire éminemment personnelle d’une femme qui déjoue les attentes et se dresse contre l’adversité. Arrais espère que ce ballet suscitera des échanges tout en célébrant les femmes fortes du monde entier.

Blake Works I

Création mondiale : 4 juillet 2016, Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris, Palais Garnier, Paris, France

Première du Boston Ballet : 7 mars 2019

Chorégraphie : William Forsythe

Musique : James Blake*

Décors : William Forsythe

Costumes : William Forsythe et Dorothee Merg

Éclairages : William Forsythe et Tanja Ruehl

Conception sonore : Neils Lanz

Mise en scène : Christopher Roman, Stefanie Arndt et Jill Johnson

Blake Works I est une œuvre pour 21 danseurs réglée sur la musique de l’album The Colour in Anything du musicien britannique James Blake, cité pour un prix GRAMMY. William Forsythe dédie ce ballet à tous les enseignants qui nous ont permis de découvrir les joies d’un travail rigoureux. Créé en 2016 par le Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris, Blake Works I a été qualifié « d’exubérance pure » par Roslyn Sulcas du New York Times.

* Interprétée avec l’autorisation du Robbins Rights Trust.

Patricia Cordingley

Les arts en héritage

Le spectacle de ce soir est dédié à la mémoire de la regrettée Patricia (Pat) Cordingley. Au cours d’une longue carrière dans les affaires internationales, elle a voyagé partout dans le monde, mais Ottawa a toujours été son chez-soi. Une fois à la retraite, Pat a redonné à la collectivité en soutenant avec ferveur des organisations culturelles locales et nationales, y compris la Fondation du Centre national des Arts.

Pat a choisi d’immortaliser sa passion pour les arts de la scène par un legs à la Fondation du Centre national des Arts. Le CNA est rempli de gratitude à l’égard de Pat pour son engagement en faveur de l’interprétation, de la création et de l’apprentissage pour les années à venir.


Menu