Parking this weekend

The World Remembers

Featuring the National Youth Orchestra of Germany

This event has passed
BJO © Selina Pfruener
Music Classical music

World Premiere

NAC Co-commission

On November 11th, Alexander Shelley will conduct the German Youth Orchestra (Bundesjugendorchester, BJO) in the world premiere of The World Remembers, a song cycle commemorating the First World War. It is a co-commission by the NAC and The World Remembers, led by famed Canadian actor, R.H. Thomson. With this concert, it is Shelley’s hope for the music to have a voice in encouraging an understanding of the history of others, with a promise for the future.

Alexander Shelley and the BJO will be joined onstage by members of the National Youth Orchestra of Canada, OrKidstra and combined local youth choirs from De La Salle and Canterbury High Schools, and the Calixa-Lavallée Chamber Choir from the University of Ottawa.

The song cycle is comprised of “Song of Poets” (composer Abigail Richardson); “Song of the Mothers” (composer Meiro Stamm) and the “Song of the Soldiers” (composer Jeffrey Ryan), each set to the words of war poets, mothers, soldiers and citizens from many of the WWI nations, reflecting the experience of multiple nations. The Songs share in music and in text, the voices of those who lived the immensity of WWI, the first global conflict, and underscore the reality that even from opposing sides, peoples’ experiences were often similar. The purpose of the Songs is to acknowledge the generation who lived through the war as well as commemorate those who were killed.

Other works on the program include “To Young Canadians” by James Wright, with text written by Jack Layton (from his last letter to Canadians), and “Udo Shalom” by Christine Donkin, with the text consisting of the word “peace” in 30 spoken languages and five sign languages.

The free concert follows the National Ceremony of Remembrance at the National War Memorial.

This concert is dedicated to the memory of Col. J. Ewart Osborne, D.S.O. and Col. Henry Campbell Osborne, C.M.G., C.B.E.

The NAC wishes to thank Sarah Jennings and Ian Johns for their generous support of this performance.

No tickets are required for this concert and seating is general admission.

Duration

Performance is approximately 75 minutes with no intermission.

BJO © Selina Pfruener

Artists

Menu

Le monde se souvient

Avec l'Orchestre national des jeunes d'Allemagne

BJO © Selina Pfruener

Première mondiale

Commande conjointe du CNA

Le 11 novembre prochain, Alexander Shelley dirigera l’Orchestre national des jeunes d’Allemagne (le Bundesjugendorchester, BJO) pour la première de Le monde se souvient. Cycle de chansons écrit pour commémorer le centenaire de la Première Guerre mondiale, l’œuvre est une commande conjointe du CNA et du projet Le monde se souvient, placé sous la direction du célèbre acteur canadien R.H. Thomson. Shelley souhaite qu’à travers la musique, ce concert mène à une meilleure compréhension du passé et à une promesse d’avenir meilleur.

Outre le maestro et le BJO, le concert rassemblera sur scène des membres de l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada, OrKidstra, des chœurs combinés des écoles secondaires De La Salle et Canterbury, ainsi que l’Ensemble Calixa-Lavallée, chœur de chambre de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Le cycle Le monde se souvient comprend les compositions « Chanson des poètes » d’Abigail Richardson, « Chanson des mères » de Meiro Stamm et « Chanson des soldats » de Jeffrey Ryan; la musique accompagne les paroles de poètes de guerre, de mères, de soldats et de civils originaires de plusieurs des pays ayant participé à la Première Guerre mondiale. Ces pièces évoquent en musique et en mots les expériences de ceux qui ont vécu le premier grand conflit à échelle planétaire dans toute son immensité – expériences souvent partagées, malgré les frontières et les camps. Cette œuvre se veut un hommage à la génération touchée par la Grande Guerre et à tous ceux qui y ont trouvé la mort.

Parmi les autres œuvres au programme, notons To Young Canadians de James Wright, dont les paroles sont tirées de la dernière lettre aux Canadiens de Jack Layton, et Udo Shalom de Christine Donkin, dans laquelle le mot « paix » est énoncé dans 30 langues parlées et interprété dans 5 langues des signes.

Ce concert gratuit a lieu après la Cérémonie nationale du jour du Souvenir au Monument commémoratif de guerre du Canada.

Concert à la mémoire du colonel J. Ewart Osborne, D.S.O. et du colonel Henry Campbell Osborne, C.M.G., C.B.E..

Le CNA remercie chaleureusement Sarah Jennings et Ian Johns pour leur généreux soutien de cet événement.

Les sièges ne sont pas assignés; aucun billet n’est requis.

Durée

Durée approximative de 75 minutes sans entracte.

BJO © Selina Pfruener

Artistes

Menu