John Storgards © Freestyle Photography
  • Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
  • Arvo Pärt Trisagion
  • Vaughan Williams Symphony No. 5

Returning to the brilliance of Beethoven, the NAC Orchestra welcomes international phenomenon and Ottawa favourite Yefim Bronfman to back to the stage to perform Beethoven’s exquisite 4th piano concerto. Beethoven himself publicly premiered the work in 1808, in his last appearance as a soloist with an orchestra.

Approaching each performance as a new experience, Bronfman delivers a unique moment of truth in every concert. If you experienced the journey through Beethoven’s genius that opened the 2018/19 NACO season, you won’t want to miss this opportunity to immerse yourself, once again.

John Storgårds conducts this evening’s program, which concludes with Vaughan Williams’s poignant and reflective Symphony No. 5 – in the NAC Orchestra’s first-ever performance of a symphony by the eminent British composer.  Ralph VaughanWilliams, who was an unapologetic admirer of Jean Sibelius, dedicated his 5th symphony to Jean Sibelius “without permission and with the sincerest flattery.” He composed the work as the Second World War raged around him, perhaps as a way of escaping to the peaceful and idyllic England of his memories.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

4 Feb

5 Feb

6 Feb

7 Feb

  • 8:00 PM

8 Feb

  • 8:00 PM

9 Feb

10 Feb

Duration

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission.

John Storgards © Freestyle Photography
Yefim Bronfman © Dario Acosta
Yefim Bronfman © Oded Antman

Menu

Cet événement est passé
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre
  • Arvo Pärt Trisagion
  • Beethoven Concerto pour piano no 4 en sol majeur, opus 58
  • Vaughan Williams Symphonie no 5 en ré majeur

Renouant avec l’éclat de Beethoven, l’Orchestre du CNA accueille Yefim Bronfman, phénomène international et favori du public d’Ottawa, de retour au CNA pour interpréter le délicieux Quatrième concerto pour piano. L’œuvre marqua la dernière apparition de Beethoven comme soliste avec un orchestre lorsqu’il la créa lui-même, en 1808.

Abordant chacune de ses prestations comme une expérience inédite, Bronfman fait de chaque concert un moment de vérité. Si vous avez plongé avec nous dans le génie de Beethoven à l’ouverture de la saison 2018-2019, vous ne voudrez pas manquer cette occasion d’y revenir.

John Storgårds dirige ce programme qui se conclut avec la poignante et méditative Symphonie no 5 de Vaughan Williams – la toute première interprétation d’une symphonie de l’éminent compositeur britannique par l’Orchestre du CNA. Ralph Vaughan Williams était un grand admirateur de Jean Sibelius, à qui il dédia sa Cinquième symphonie « sans permission et avec la plus sincère flatterie ». La Deuxième Guerre mondiale faisait rage quand il composa cette œuvre, peut-être pour s’évader dans l’Angleterre paisible et idyllique de ses souvenirs.

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte

video: Yefim Bronfman: Beethoven Concerto pour piano no 4
Yefim Bronfman: Beethoven Concerto pour piano no 4
John Storgards © Freestyle Photography
Yefim Bronfman © Dario Acosta
Menu