Street closures around NAC during Canada Army Run
Christian Tetzlaff © Giorgia Bertazzi
“I have never known him to give less than a fully committed performance. Is there a more physically engaged fiddle virtuoso before the public?” – Chicago Tribune, 2017
  • Schubert Symphony No. 9, “Great”
  • J.S. Bach - Stokowski “Preludio” from Partita No. 3 in E major
  • Berg Violin Concerto

A lively Bach Prelude prepares our ears for the complex simplicity of Alban Berg’s Violin Concerto, dedicated “to the memory of an Angel”.  Berg’s heart wrenching 1935 masterpiece, with its echoes of Bach’s chorale “Es ist genug”, is a perfect artistic vehicle for German violinist Christian Tetzlaff.

Known equally for his intimate solo recitals and for his riveting collaborations with orchestras, Tetzlaff’s approach to his craft reflects a deeply curious intellect, a brilliant technique and remarkable respect for the composer’s intent.

The program closes with Schubert’s Symphony No. 9, the last and greatest symphony by the Austrian composer, who did not live to hear it performed.  Composer Robert Schumann declared that Schubert’s symphony “…reveals to us something more than beautiful song, mere joy, and sorrow; it leads us into regions which--to our best recollection-- we had never before explored.”

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

8 Oct

9 Oct

10 Oct

  • 8:00 PM

11 Oct

  • 8:00 PM

12 Oct

13 Oct

14 Oct

Duration

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission.

video: Christian Tetzlaff playing Brahms
Christian Tetzlaff playing Brahms
Christian Tetzlaff © Giorgia Bertazzi
John Storgårds © Freestyle Photography
Christian Tetzlaff © Giorgia Bertazzi

Artists

  • conductor John Storgårds
  • violin Christian Tetzlaff
Menu

Cet événement est passé
Christian Tetzlaff © Giorgia Bertazzi
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre
« Je ne l’ai jamais vu offrir moins que le meilleur de lui-même. Existe-t-il un seul virtuose du violon qui se donne davantage corps et âme à son public? » – Chicago Tribune, 2017
  • J.S. Bach - Stokowski Prelude de la Partita no 3 en mi majeur pour violon seul
  • Berg Concerto pour violon
  • Schubert Symphonie no 9 en do majeur, D. 944, « La Grande »

Un prélude animé de Bach met la table pour la simplicité trompeuse du Concerto pour violon d’Alban Berg, dédié « à la mémoire d’un ange ». Ce poignant chef-d’œuvre de 1935, avec ses réminiscences du choral de Bach « Es ist genug », est un écrin idéal pour l’art du violoniste allemand Christian Tetzlaff.

Renommé aussi bien pour ses récitals intimes en solo que pour ses captivantes collaborations avec des orchestres, la démarche de Tetzlaff témoigne d’une profonde curiosité intellectuelle, d’une technique éblouissante et d’un respect remarquable des intentions du compositeur.

Le programme s’achève avec la Symphonie no 9 de Schubert, la dernière et la plus grande symphonie du compositeur autrichien, qui ne l’entendit pas de son vivant. Le compositeur Robert Schumann dira de cette symphonie qu’elle « (…) nous révèle davantage que de la beauté mélodique et que de la joie pure et simple (…); elle nous entraîne dans des régions que – même au meilleur de nos souvenirs – nous n’avions jamais explorées auparavant. »

Apprenez-en plus dans les notes de programme ›

Durée

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte.

video: Christian Tetzlaff joue Brahms
Christian Tetzlaff joue Brahms
Christian Tetzlaff © Giorgia Bertazzi
John © Freestyle Photography
Christian Tetzlaff © Giorgia Bertazzi
Menu