NAC Orchestra Chamber Concert in Yellowknife

Northern Arts and Cultural Centre
Sylvia Cloutier and Leela Gilday

NAC Production

The world-class National Arts Centre Orchestra and music director Alexander Shelley are bringing their Canada 150 Tour north! Join Shelley, eight musicians from the National Arts Centre Orchestra, and some special guests for a unique, intimate concert of chamber music. Classical meets contemporary in a program including Yellowknife composer Carmen Braden’s string quartet, The Raven Conspiracy, as well as the world premiere of a work featuring throatsinger Sylvia Cloutier and Yellowknife’s own Leela Gilday.

Carmen Braden

Carmen Braden is a Western Canadian Music Awards-nominated composer-performer from Yellowknife. Carmen’s music is greatly tied to her sub-Arctic soundscape. She draws from various environmental and human phenomena through sonic, visual, sensual and scientific ways of understanding. 

Sylvia Cloutier

Sylvia Cloutier, originally from Kuujjuaq, Nunavik (Northern Quebec) but now living in Iqaluit, is well-known for performing Inuit throatsinging and drum dancing. She has collaborated with many artists all over the world and joined Governor General Michaëlle Jean on a state visit to Norway and Ukraine in 2009.

Leela Gilday

A passionate singer-songwriter and soulful performer, Leela Gilday has a voice that comes straight from the heart. Confessing her stories to her audiences with a gutsy voice and open stage presence, Gilday weaves her experiences as a Northerner, a member of the Dene nation and a traveller into a beautiful world that transports the listener. 

video: In rehearsal with Leela Gilday & Sylvia Cloutier
In rehearsal with Leela Gilday & Sylvia Cloutier
Sylvia Cloutier and Leela Gilday
Carmen Braden
NAC Orchestra Musicians
Menu

Concert de musique de chambre de l’Orchestre du CNA à Yellowknife

Northern Arts and Cultural Centre
Sylvia Cloutier et Leela Gilday

Production du CNA

Le prestigieux Orchestre du Centre national des Arts et son directeur musical, Alexander Shelley, mettent le cap sur le Nord dans le cadre de leur Tournée Canada 150! Joignez-vous à M. Shelley, huit musiciens de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts et quelques invités spéciaux pour un concert de musique de chambre unique et intime. Le programme se compose à la fois d’œuvres classiques et de pièces contemporaines et met en vedette le quatuor à cordes de la compositrice de Yellowknife Carmen Braden, The Raven Conspiracy, ainsi que la première mondiale d’une œuvre de la chanteuse de gorge Sylvia Cloutier et de Leela Gilday, de Yellowknife.

Carmen Braden

Carmen Braden est une compositrice-interprète de Yellowknife qui a déjà été mise en nomination aux Western Canadian Music Awards. Sa musique est intimement liée à son environnement sonore subarctique. Elle s’inspire de divers phénomènes environnementaux et humains en les considérant sous un angle sonique, visuel, sensuel et scientifique.

Sylvia Cloutier

Originaire de Kuujjuaq, au Nunavik (dans le nord du Québec), et vivant aujourd’hui à Iqaluit, Sylvia Cloutier est bien connue pour ses talents en danse du tambour et en chant de gorge inuit. Elle a collaboré avec de nombreux artistes dans le monde entier et a accompagné l’ex-gouverneure générale Michaëlle Jean lors d’une visite officielle en Norvège et en Ukraine en 2009.

Leela Gilday

Auteure-compositrice-interprète passionnée et artiste d’une grande profondeur, Leela Gilday possède une voix qui vient directement du cœur. Confessant ses histoires devant public sur un ton hardi et avec une généreuse présence scénique, Leela dépeint, par ses expériences de Ténoise, de Dénée et de voyageuse, un magnifique univers qui transporte l’auditoire.

Sylvia Cloutier et Leela Gilday
Carmen Braden
Des musiciens de l'Orchestre du CNA
Menu