Sylvia Cloutier  | Adrián Morillo, National Theatre School
performing artist, producer, director

Sylvia Cloutier

Iqaluit · Nunavut

Sylvia Cloutier originally from Kuujjuaq, Nunavik (Northern Quebec) living in Iqaluit, Nunavut, is a mother, performing artist, producer, director, well known for  performing Inuit throat singing and drum dancing. She has collaborated with many artists all over the world including Think of One from Belgium; Tafelmusik, a Toronto based baroque orchestra; Montréal based DJ Geronimo Inutiq and the National Symphony Orchestra.

Ms. Cloutier is the co-founder of a performance company Aqsarniit producing shows that promote Inuit culture for special events such as  the Nunavut Celebration at the Museum of Civilization in April 1999, Toonik Tyme and Alianait festival in Iqaluit, Canadian North’s Nunavut Day Gala in 2007, fashion shows for the Government of Nunavut promoting the high fashion seal skin products.

Ms. Cloutier was the producer for a television series Inuit Piqqusingit with Inuit Communication Systems Limited in 2000 learning about Inuit survival skills across Nunavut. She has also been involved as a motivational speaker for youth events and has worked extensively with creating training for youth in creative projects while addressing social issues such as video production, the development of murals, social theatre, music, dance and circus.

She was the Artistic Director of Qaggiq theatre company in Iqaluit, project manager at the Northern village of Kuujjuaq and collaborator with Social Hip Hop projects with the Blueprints for life team working in Inuit communities in Nunavik and Nunavut. In 2009, Mr. Cloutier was managing the social Circus program CIRQINIQ as the Recreation advisor for Arts & Culture at the Kativik Regional Government, a program developed for youth in Nunavik in collaboration with Cirque du Soleil’s social circus department Cirque du Monde.

She joined her Excellency Governor General Michaëlle Jean on the state visit to Norway and Ukraine in 2009 and was named “Woman of the Year” by Pauktutiit, the national Inuit women’s organization and later received an award for “Outstanding young woman of the year” by Qullit Nunavut women’s organization in 2013. Sylvia is the producer and co-director of TULUGAK bringing together Inuit performing artists from Canada and Greenland since 2011. She is currently a television Producer at Inuit Broadcasting Corporation in Iqaluit.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 12 février 2021.
Sylvia Cloutier  | Adrián Morillo, National Theatre School
artiste de la scène, réalisatrice et metteure en scène

Sylvia Cloutier

Iqaluit · Nunavut

Originaire de Kuujjuaq, au Nunavik (nord du Québec), Sylvia Cloutier est établie à Iqaluit (Nunavut). Mère, artiste de la scène, réalisatrice et metteure en scène, elle est renommée pour ses interprétations de danses du tambour et chants de gorge inuits. Elle a collaboré avec de nombreux artistes d’ici et d’ailleurs, dont Think of One (Belgique), Tafelmusik (ensemble de musique baroque établi à Toronto), DJ Geronimo Inutiq (Montréal) et l’Orchestre symphonique national.

Mme Cloutier est la cofondatrice de la compagnie artistique Aqsarniit, qui réalise des spectacles axés sur la promotion de la culture inuite pour des événements spéciaux comme les célébrations entourant l’inauguration du Nunavut au Musée canadien des civilisations en avril 1999, le festival Toonik Tyme à Iqaluit, le gala de Canadian North en l’honneur de la Journée du Nunavut en 2007 et des défilés de mode pour le gouvernement du Nunavut visant à promouvoir les vêtements et articles de mode en peau de phoque.

Mme Cloutier a réalisé la série télévisée Inuit Piqqusingit avec Inuit Communication Systems Limited en 2000, émission qui explorait les techniques de survie inuites au Nunavut. Elle a aussi participé à des événements jeunesse comme conférencière spécialiste de la motivation et s’est engagée à fond auprès des jeunes par l’entremise de projets créatifs (production vidéo, peinture murale, théâtre, musique, danse et arts du cirque) à vocation sociale.

Elle a été la directrice artistique de la compagnie de théâtre Qaggiq à Iqaluit et gestionnaire de projet à Kuujjuaq. Elle a collaboré aux projets de hip-hop à vocation sociale de l’équipe de Blueprints for life dans diverses communautés inuites du Nunavik et du Nunavut. En 2009, Mme Cloutier a géré le programme de cirque à vocation sociale CIRQINIQ en tant que conseillère en loisirs (arts et culture) pour l’Administration régionale Kativik. Ce programme à l’intention des jeunes du Nunavik a été conçu en collaboration avec Cirque du Monde, le département de cirque social du Cirque du Soleil.

Sylvia Cloutier s’est aussi jointe à Son Excellence la gouverneure générale Michaëlle Jean à l’occasion de sa visite officielle en Norvège et en Ukraine en 2009, et elle a été nommée « femme de l’année » par l’association nationale de femmes inuites Pauktutiit. En 2013, l’organisation féminine Qullit Nunavut lui a décerné le titre de « jeune femme s'étant le plus distinguée au cours de l’année ». Mme Cloutier est la productrice et codirectrice du collectif TULUGAK, qui réunit des artistes de scène inuits du Canada et du Groenland depuis 2011. Elle travaille actuellement comme réalisatrice de télévision à l’Inuit Broadcasting Corporation (Iqaluit).

Menu