betroffenheit © Wendy D

Betroffenheit

2016-02-12 19:30 2016-02-13 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Kidd Pivot | Electric Company Theatre

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/11762

Two of Canada’s most exciting and adventurous artists – Crystal Pite (Kidd Pivot) and Jonathon Young (Electric Company Theatre) – join forces to create an innovative, boundarystretching dance-theatre collaboration. Touching on powerful themes of loss, trauma, addiction and recovery, Betroffenheit (German for extreme shock or distress) is a  series of movements sustaining tension between stasis and passage. Rich in spectacle, it takes place in a timeless, liminal space....

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
February 12 - 13, 2016
This event has passed
betroffenheit © Wendy D
betroffenheit © Wendy D
Dance Contemporary Cross-disciplinary Canadian
“a stunning testament to what can happen when life turns into art”” The Globe and Mail
  • ≈ 2 hours · With intermission
NAC Co-production

Two of Canada’s most exciting and adventurous artists – Crystal Pite (Kidd Pivot) and Jonathon Young (Electric Company Theatre) – join forces to create an innovative, boundarystretching dance-theatre collaboration. Touching on powerful themes of loss, trauma, addiction and recovery, Betroffenheit (German for extreme shock or distress) is a  series of movements sustaining tension between stasis and passage. Rich in spectacle, it takes place in a timeless, liminal space. With a stellar group of performers and an A-team of artistic collaborators, Pite and Young have woven a fascinating hybrid of drama and pathos, ever teetering between disaster and survival. Betroffenheit will premiere during Panamania, the arts and culture festival accompanying Toronto’s Pan Am Games in summer 2015, before starting a Canadian tour at the NAC.

Please note:

  • contains a strobe-like effect, non-toxic theatrical haze and coarse language
  • The text spoken in Betroffenheit is in English

Created by: Crystal Pite and / et Jonathon Young
Written by: Jonathon Young

Performers
Bryan Arias, David Raymond, Cindy Salgado, Jermaine Spivey, Tiffany Tregarthen, Jonathon Young

Crystal Pite is an NAC Associate Dance Artist

Co-producers: PANAMANIA Arts and Culture Program of the TORONTO 2015 Pan Am and Parapan Am Games, Sadler’s Wells (London), National Arts Centre (Ottawa), The Banff Centre, the CanDance Network , Canadian Stage (Toronto), Agora de la danse (Montréal), Brian Webb Dance Company (Edmonton), and Dance Victoria (Victoria).

video: Betroffenheit
Betroffenheit
video: Betroffenheit - Kidd Pivot / Electric Company Theatre
Betroffenheit - Kidd Pivot / Electric Company Theatre
© <em>betroffenheit</em>
© <em>betroffenheit</em>

betroffenheit © Wendy D

Kidd Pivot | Electric Company Theatre

Betroffenheit

2016-02-12 19:30 2016-02-13 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Kidd Pivot | Electric Company Theatre

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/11762

Deux des artistes les plus fascinants et audacieux du Canada – Crystal Pite (Kidd Pivot) et Jonathon Young (Electric Company Theatre) – s’unissent pour créer une pièce de danse-théâtre inventive qui repousse les limites du genre, avec le concours d’interprètes et de collaborateurs artistiques hors pair. Sur les thèmes du deuil, du trauma, de la dépendance et de la guérison, Betroffenheit (un terme allemand...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
12 - 13 février 2016
Cet événement est passé
betroffenheit © Wendy D
betroffenheit © Wendy D
Danse Contemporaine Interdisciplinaire Artistes canadiens
« [Crystal Pite] est au nombre des chorégraphes les plus en vue de sa génération. » The Globe and Mail
  • ≈ 2 heures · Avec entracte

Deux des artistes les plus fascinants et audacieux du Canada – Crystal Pite (Kidd Pivot) et Jonathon Young (Electric Company Theatre) – s’unissent pour créer une pièce de danse-théâtre inventive qui repousse les limites du genre, avec le concours d’interprètes et de collaborateurs artistiques hors pair. Sur les thèmes du deuil, du trauma, de la dépendance et de la guérison, Betroffenheit (un terme allemand évoquant un choc violent ou une grande détresse) est un enchaînement de mouvements sous tension, entre stase et passage. Spectaculaire à souhait, ce fascinant hybride de drame et de pathos, oscillant constamment entre le désastre et la survie, se déploie dans un espace intemporel et minimaliste. Betroffenheit sera créé dans le cadre de Panamania, le festival d’arts et culture associé aux Jeux panaméricains de Toronto 2015, avant d’amorcer une tournée canadienne au CNA.

Nota :

  • Ce spectacle fait appel à des effets stroboscopiques, à de la fumée non-toxique et à un langage cru.
  • Le spectacle contient beaucoup de texte anglais. Une traduction du synopsis sera incluse dans le programme.

Créé par Crystal Pite et Jonathon Young
Écrit par Jonathon Young

Interprètes
Bryan Arias, David Raymond, Cindy Salgado, Jermaine Spivey, Tiffany Tregarthen, Jonathon Young

Crystal Pite est une Artiste associée de Danse CNA

Coproduction : PANAMANIA, Programme d’arts et culture des Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains de TORONTO 2015, Sadler’s Wells (Londres), Centre national des Arts (Ottawa), The Banff Centre, le réseau CanDanse, Canadian Stage (Toronto), Agora de la danse (Montréal), Brian Webb Dance Company (Edmonton), et Dance Victoria (Victoria).

video: Betroffenheit
Betroffenheit
video: Betroffenheit -  Kidd Pivot / Electric Company Theatre
Betroffenheit - Kidd Pivot / Electric Company Theatre
betroffenheit © Wendy D
betroffenheit © Wendy D
Menu