October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Bringing Home I Lost My Talk

ELMA'TASIK ENTUAP NTLI'SUTIM

In spring 2017, the NAC Orchestra was hosted by the Eskasoni Mi’kmaw Nation, the ancestral home of the highly acclaimed poet and elder Rita Joe, to present Bringing Home I Lost My Talk. The symbolic heart of the performance was the piece I Lost My Talk, based on the poem by Rita Joe.  Rita Joe penned her poem to express not only the pain and suffering she survived at Schubenacadie Residential School in Nova Scotia, but also her hope and conviction that her words could guide and inspire Indigenous and non-Indigenous peoples across Canada to journey to a place of strength and healing.

The orchestra also collaborated with local artists Kalolin Johnson, Carter Chiasson and Thomas Johnson to present an arrangement of their powerful song We Shall Remain. This song was written in tribute to the Elders and ancestors of all First Nations peoples. It echoes the voices of a strong and resilient people from times of innocence and harmony with the earth, through centuries of struggle, oppression and hardship and onwards into a time of rebirth and reconciliation through education and the empowerment of youth. Kalolin Johnson is also the featured singer.

Please enjoy this special performance!


Full program

DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9, IV. Allegro con fuoco

SIBELIUS Violin Concerto, III. Allegro ma non tanto (James Ehnes violin)

JOHN ESTACIO I Lost My Talk* based on the poem by Rita Joe, C.M.

CARTER CHIASSON/KALOLIN JOHNSON/THOMAS JOHNSON
We Shall Remain (It Wasn't Taken Away) – Kalolin Johnson, singer

​Arranged by REBECCA PELLETT


I Lost My Talk full credits

Based on the poem by Rita Joe, C.M.

Monique Mojica, actor
Donna Feore, creative producer & director
Barbara Willis Sweete, filmmaker
Tekaronhiáhkhwa Santee Smith film choreographer
Normal, visual and stage design
Kimberly Purtell, lighting designer

Onscreen dancers:
Kennedy Bomberry
Jesse Dell
Joshua DePerry
Ascension Harjo
Monique Mojica
Billy Merasty
Nimkii Osawmick
Montana Summers
Santee Smith
Alex Twin

I Lost My Talk was commissioned for the National Arts Centre Orchestra to commemorate the 75th birthday of the Right Honourable Joe Clark, P.C., C.C., A.O.E. by his family.


Rita Joe National Song Project

In her autobiography, Rita Joe challenges Indigenous youth to find their voices, share their stories, and celebrate their talents. Inspired by this idea, the NAC asked the teachers and students in five communities across Canada to create a song based on what I Lost My Talk means to them and their community.

Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août

I Lost My Talk rentre au bercail

ELMA'TASIK ENTUAP NTLI'SUTIM
Cette vidéo n’est disponible qu’en anglais

Au printemps 2017, l’Orchestre du CNA a été accueilli par la nation mi’kmaq Eskasoni, terre ancestrale de la réputée poète et aînée mi’kmaq Rita Joe, pour présenter I Lost My Talk rentre au bercail. Le clou symbolique du concert était la pièce I Lost My Talk, basée sur le poème du même nom de Rita Joe. Rita Joe a composé ce poème pour exprimer non seulement les souffrances et les chagrins auxquels elle a survécu au pensionnat Shubenacadie, en Nouvelle-Écosse, mais aussi son espoir et sa conviction de pouvoir inspirer les peuples autochtones et non autochtones de tout le Canada en les accompagnant vers un lieu de ressourcement et de guérison.

L’orchestre a également collaboré avec les artistes locaux Kalolin Johnson, Carter Chiasson et Thomas Johnson pour présenter un arrangement de leur chanson puissante We Shall Remain. Cette chanson a été composée pour rendre hommage aux Aînés et aux ancêtres de tous les peuples des Premières nations. Elle fait écho aux voix d’un peuple fort et résilient, d’un temps d’innocence et d’harmonie avec la Terre, à des siècles de lutte, d’oppression et d’épreuves, jusqu’à une période de renouveau et de réconciliation par l’éducation et l’autonomisation des jeunes. Kalolin Johnson interprète également la chanson.

Bon concert!


Programme complet :

DVOŘÁK Symphonie no 9, IV. Allegro con fuoco

SIBELIUS Concerto pour violon, III Allegro ma non tanto (James Ehnes au violon)

JOHN ESTACIO I Lost My Talk, d’après le poème de Rita Joe, C.M.

CARTER CHIASSON/KALOLIN JOHNSON/THOMAS JOHNSON
We Shall Remain (It Wasn’t Taken Away) – Kalolin Johnson, chanteuse

​Arrangements de REBECCA PELLETT


Crédits : I Lost My Talk

D’après le poème de Rita Joe, C.M.

Monique Mojica, comédienne
Donna Feore, productrice du contenu créatif et metteure en scène
Barbara Willis Sweete, cinéaste
Tekaronhiáhkhwa Santee Smith, chorégraphe du film
Normal, conception visuelle et scénique
Kimberly Purtell, conceptrice des éclairages

Danseurs à l’écran :
Kennedy Bomberry
Jesse Dell
Joshua DePerry
Ascension Harjo
Monique Mojica
Billy Merasty
Nimkii Osawmick
Montana Summers
Santee Smith
Alex Twin

La pièce a été commandée à l’intention de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts par la famille du très honorable Joe Clark, C.P., C.C., A.O.E., pour souligner le 75e anniversaire de ce dernier.


Projet national de chanson inspirée de Rita Joe

Dans son autobiographie, Rita Joe exhorte les jeunes autochtones à trouver leur voix, faire connaître leurs histoires et célébrer leurs talents. Inspirés par cette idée, nous avons demandé aux enseignants et aux élèves de cinq collectivités de tout le Canada de créer une chanson basée sur leur interprétation du poème I Lost My Talk (« J'ai perdu ma langue ») de Rita Joe, et sur le sens qu'il revêt pour leur communauté.

Menu