January 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Professional Development Workshops in Music for Teachers

Professional Music

Get hands-on performance and coaching tips from some of the finest musicians in the NAC Orchestra, who are equally renowned for their performance skills and expertise as teachers!

Possible virtual workshops include:

Instrument-specific tips and tricks

Get the inside scoop on breathing, fingerings, equipment (reeds, mouthpieces, etc), tuning, warm-up suggestions, and ideas for students. This workshop is for teachers who would like to improve their understanding of specific instruments or instrument groups in order to more effectively guide their students. This can also be offered as a hands-on workshop with your students.

Conducting techniques and ensemble leadership 

Have an NAC Orchestra musician observe your prerecorded conducting and coaching techniques with your student group and provide practical feedback and ideas for concert or competition preparation.

Sectional or small ensemble coaching 

Have an NAC Orchestra musician listen to your band or sectional rehearsals, and get practical feedback about their performance prior to a competition; this can include a mock adjudication. Students will come away with practical tips for better performance as individuals and in ensembles.

Music for children with exceptionalities

with Elizabeth Simpson (Second Horn, NAC Orchestra) and Dr. Erin Parkes (Executive Director, Lotus Centre for Special Music Education)

Work with the creators of the NAC’s Music Circle series for students with exceptionalities, who will share ideas and strategies for making music education accessible to all. This session is appropriate for music teachers, general classroom teachers and special education teachers who are looking for ways to engage students with exceptionalities in music making.

Learn more about the artists

Join our email list for the latest programming updates!

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address

Bring the performing arts into children’s lives

Your donations help the National Arts Centre reach more students, educators and communities across Canada. The National Youth and Education Trust is the NAC’s primary source of funding for initiatives that nurture and develop the creativity of children and youth, and support the educators and artists who challenge and encourage them.

The NAC Foundation would like to acknowledge the generous support from the Leacross Foundation, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Excellence in the Performing Arts, Grant and Alice Burton, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 janvier 2021.

Ateliers de perfectionnement professionnel pour les enseignants

Professionnel Musique

Obtenez des conseils pratiques et un encadrement auprès de certains des meilleurs musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA, réputés autant pour leurs compétences comme pédagogues que comme interprètes.

Parmi les ateliers virtuels possibles :

Conseils et trucs propres à un instrument

Apprenez les secrets de la respiration, du doigté, de l’équipement (anches, embouchures, etc) et des accords, et découvrez des suggestions de réchauffements et des idées pour vos élèves. Cet atelier est destiné aux enseignants qui souhaitent améliorer leurs connaissances au sujet d’un instrument particulier ou d’un groupe d'instruments afin de mieux guider leurs élèves.

Techniques de direction d’orchestre et d’harmonies

Un musicien de l’Orchestre observera vos techniques de direction et de formation avec votre groupe d'élèves et vous offrira de la rétroaction et des idées pour vous préparer pour une compétition ou un concert.

Mentorat de pupitre ou de petits ensembles

Un membre  de l’Orchestre du CNA assistera à des répétitions d’ensemble ou par pupitre et vous donnera de la rétroaction... et pourquoi pas même une évaluation fictive. Vos élèves repartiront avec des trucs pour améliorer leur jeu individuel et d’ensemble.

Musique pour enfants aux besoins particuliers

avec Elizabeth Simpson (deuxième cor, Orchestre du CNA) et Dre Erin Parkes (directrice générale, Lotus Centre for Special Music Education)

Disponible en anglais seulement

Travaillez avec les créatrices de la série Cercle musical du CNA pour les élèves ayant des besoins particuliers, qui partageront des idées et des stratégies pour rendre l’éducation musicale accessible à tous. 

Découvrez les artistes

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre pour être les premiers informés!

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide

Offrez aux enfants les joies des arts de la scène

Votre contribution permet au Centre national des Arts de rejoindre davantage d’élèves, d’éducateurs et de communautés partout au Canada. La Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation est la principale source de financement d’initiatives qui visent à nourrir et à cultiver les talents créateurs des jeunes de partout au Canada, ainsi qu’à appuyer les éducateurs et les artistes qui stimulent et encouragent la jeune génération.

La Fondation du Centre national des Arts tient à souligner le généreux soutien de la fondation Leacross, des Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, du fonds orienté par un donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, du Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence dans les arts de la scène, de Grant et Alice Burton, et des donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale ressource de financement pour les programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.

Menu