Latest renovation updates

  • July 2017

  • July 1st NAC Ribbon Cutting

  • June 2017

  • June 28, 2017

    National Arts Centre lifts curtain on $110.5M reno

    The first phase of the National Arts Centre's $110.5-million renovation was on display Wednesday in a sneak preview of what's expected to open to the public on Canada Day.

    The national theatre's newly renovated Elgin Street entrance, relocated box office and main floor of the north atrium will be open for public tours on July 1.

    Source: CBC/Radio-Canada

  • Getting ready for the opening!

  • We are set to celebrate!

  • The construction hoarding is down on Elgin

  • Sneak peek on our new bathrooms

  • 24 days to go!

  • Recap of the project looking ahead to July 1st

  • NAC spaces to be named after generous donors

  • May 2017

  • Architect Donald Schmitt talks about some of the changes happening at the NAC.

  • April 2017

  • Hamilton Southam, director-general of the National Arts Centre in Ottawa, tours the centre as it nears completion. With Mr. Southam is Mary Joliffe, the centre’s public relations director. 1969 handout photo; construction April 9, 2017

    What would Hamilton Southam say?

    He had picked Polish architect Fred Lebensold to design the NAC to stand with gravitas and look like a bunker. But times have changed, and Southam, says his daughter, would be “overjoyed” by what’s happening now because it is evident Donald Schmitt, of the Toronto firm Diamond Schmitt Architects, admires and respects what is already there.

    Source: Ottawa Citizen

  • January 2017

  • January 4, 2017

    The NAC’s Mega Makeover

    Watch this CTV National News update about the NAC Architectural Rejuvenation Project.

    http://www.ctvnews.ca/video?clipId=1028691

  • December 2016

  • December 20, 2016

    NAC changes its address to 1 Elgin Street

    It is one of the most famous landmarks in Canada, visited by millions of people annually. However, few people know the place has a street address: 111 Wellington Street, Ottawa, better known as Parliament Hill and home to Canada’s seat of government. Now there is a brand new address – located in the shadow of the Peace Tower – vying to become known as the place where the performing arts live. Presenting “1 Elgin”, address of Canada’s National Arts Centre. The change of civic address from 53 to 1 Elgin (or One Elgin) came as a... Read more

  • Play December 1, 2016

    Sensational New Southam Hall

    The National Arts Centre’s Southam Hall was state of the art when it opened in 1969. However, the way an audience experiences the performing arts has evolved dramatically since then. That’s why Southam Hall is undergoing a dramatic transformation.

  • November 2016

  • NAC Lantern

  • October 2016

  • Play October 28, 2016

    Why is the entrance to the NAC on the Rideau Canal's side?

    Carl Martin explains why the NAC entrance is located on the Rideau Canal's side instead of on Elgin Street. This will be modified upon completion of the construction work on July 1, 2017.

    (video in French only)

  • Play October 27, 2016

    Visit from Radio-Canada

    Radio-Canada dropped by for a visit to give everyone an update on the renovations.

    Watch the video for exclusive footage of the building as well as additional information about the project itself.

    (video in French only)

  • September 2016

  • Play September 30, 2016

    The New NAC Rising!

    The transformation of the National Arts Centre building has seen incredible progress since February 9, 2016, when a group of dignitaries held a special groundbreaking ceremony in the NAC Fourth Stage. Relive the first 250 days of the NAC Architectural Rejuvenation Project, including the demolition of the old Panorama Room, the erection of the steel structure for the new NAC atrium, the installation of the wooden roof/ceiling coffers of the new Elgin Street Entrance, and the dramatic overhaul of the NAC’s largest venue, Southam... Read more

  • Each triangle is made from Douglas Fir. 10 September 8, 2016

    Coffer Installation

    PCL Constructors dropped the wooden roof/ceiling coffers into place on the new tower entrance at Elgin Street and along the new extension closer to the Rideau Canal.

  • Play September 1, 2016

    The inspiration behind the NAC’s Architectural Rejuvenation

    Jennifer Mallard, Project Architect for the NAC rejuvenation (Diamond Schmitt Architects) speaks about the design heritage of the NAC and its transformation to a light-filled, welcoming and accessible space.

  • August 2016

  • Play August 19, 2016

    New Elgin St. entrance takes shape

    The framework for the National Arts Centre's new Elgin St. entrance is almost complete. This drone footage provides a top down view of the new digital lantern that will function as a beacon for Canada's national stage. The new NAC will include improved performance spaces, public areas for education and events, full accessibility for people with mobility challenges, and a magnificent glass atrium with a glittering entrance on Elgin Street, embracing Confederation Square and some of the most iconic views of important landmarks... Read more

  • July 2016

  • Play July 27, 2016

    Time-lapse: June 27 to July 27, 2016

    This time-lapse video will give you a glimpse into the future as our new glass entrance takes shape.

  • Play July 21, 2016

    Bird's-eye view over the construction site

    Soar high above the NAC Construction site listening to the NAC Orchestra's recording of Brahms Symphony NO. 4.

  • Ready to remove the seats! 5 July 12, 2016

    Southam Hall facelift begins

    This major facelift is unlike anything Southam Hall has seen since the building opened. Better seats, better sound and better access. Read more.

  • June 2016

  • All the seats are gone!

  • June 29, 2016

    Southam Hall seats donated to three theatres

    The NAC will donate more than 1,300 seats to the Studio Theatre in Perth, Ontario, Ottawa's Woodroffe High School, and the Astor Theatre in Liverpool, Nova Scotia - the province's oldest performing arts venue. The renovation of Southam Hall will continue over the summer.

    Read more

  • Steel columns arrive at the NAC 4 June 28, 2016

    Steel framing begins

    The first steel column of the NAC lantern has been erected on Elgin Street. On the same day the Board of the National Capital Commission unanimously approved our plan to project images on the digital lantern.

    The National Arts Centre will use the digital lantern to display digital imagery of artists across from Canada, as well as performances happening at the NAC and important national celebrations such as Canada Day, Remembrance Day and Winterlude.

  • Play June 15, 2016

    Drone Footage of NAC Construction site

    A great deal of progress has been made on the NAC renovation project. Vast sections of the precast concrete exterior have been removed and the Fourth Stage and Panorama terrace have been demolished to make way for the new additions. This drone footage captured by PCL Constructors provides a bird's-eye view of the entire site with a lovely shot of Parliament Hill as an added bonus.

  • Demolishing the roof of the Fourth Stage 5 June 13, 2016

    Fourth Stage demolition

    Our beloved Fourth Stage has been demolished. Although it tugs at our heartstrings we look forward to a brand new performance space to showcase incredible artists.

  • Play June 11, 2016

    The show must go on!

    Nothing could stop the GG Performing Arts Awards last weekend, not construction, or a sinkhole. Colm Feore our unflappable host, gets directions from the NAC's President and CEO, Peter Herrndorf to get to the stage.

  • Before 4 June 4, 2016

    Hoarding updated

    The plywood hoarding on Elgin St. was updated with photos of musicians, artists and illustrations of the new building. The new look represents some of the exciting programming in the 16-17 season.

  • May 2016

  • Play May 13, 2016

    The “big beam” floats through the NAC lobby

    In mid May PCL construction completed a significant milestone in the NAC renovation project. Members of Ironworkers local 765 installed a 10 ton (9071 kg) steel beam to support the new addition at the north end of the building. 

    Watch as the team moves a 10 ton steel beam through the lobby on a cushion of air!

  • 6 May 6, 2016

    Latest renovation photos

    The NAC is starting to tear down the old to prepare for the new. The exterior walls are being taken down and will soon be replaced with new glass extended walls that will offer a great view of downtown Ottawa and Parliament Hill. Interior work is also underway in the parking and at Elgin Street level, where the new and much more accessible main entrance will be. Browse our photo album for more.

  • May 2, 2016

    Panorama Room elevator is getting a major refit

    Panorama Room elevator is now closed until October for a major refit. This means access to the main foyer from levels 2 and 3 of the parking garage will be affected. All accessible parking will be moved to the upper level 1 parking garage at that time to ensure visitors who are mobility impaired can access the main foyer.

  • April 2016

  • Sections of the precast concrete exterior are removed for the new addition. 2 April 21, 2016

    Start of Building Demolition

    Workers demolish the NAC digital marquee at the corner of Elgin Street and Freiman Lane. Sections of the precast concrete exterior of the building are removed in preparation for the new Elgin Street entrance and Fourth Stage. 

  • Directions to the NAC entrance (on Albert Street towards the Mackenzie King Bridge) April 18, 2016

    Elgin Door Closes

    The NAC’S Elgin Street Door is now closed.  Pedestrians are being redirected to the NAC main foyer via the Mackenzie King Bridge. Patrons will be redirected to these entrances via colourful signs and helpful volunteers.

  • April 11, 2016

    Access to Freiman Lane Changes

    Freiman Lane is closed Monday to Friday from midnight to 5 p.m. However, Freiman Lane will continue to be fully accessible until July 1 on weekdays in the evening and on weekends during performance times.

  • Elgin Street 4 April 4, 2016

    Hoarding Installation Starts

    Hoarding is being installed along the northeastern edge of the National Arts Centre along  Elgin Street all the way around to the Box Office area facing the Rideau Canal.

  • March 2016

  • The Satellite Box Office, Welcome Centre and Donors' Circle are located at the corner of Elgin and Queen street 4 March 4, 2016

    The Satellite Box Office, Welcome Centre and Donors’ Circle opens

    The new space will serve as an oasis for patrons, subscribers and donors from the construction taking place over the next 18 months across the street at the NAC. It will be a comfortable place to take care of ticketing needs, get a cup of coffee and find out the latest NAC news.

  • Play March 3, 2016

    Architect Donald Schmitt explains the design vision and features of the NACs’ architectural rejuvenation

    Watch a presentation by internationally renowned architect Donald Schmitt explaining the design vision and features of the NACs’ architectural rejuvenation. With its new wings of glowing transparent atriums and accessible publics spaces, this renovation will bring the building into the 21st century while maintaining a respect for the geometry of the original 1960s Fred Lebensold architecture.     

  • February 2016

  • Getting ready to bring the tapestry down 5 February 19, 2016

    “Untitled” by Jessie Oonark moves

    “Untitled” by Jessie Oonark (typically referred to as the Oonark Tapestry) will be temporarily stored away, as a result of the ongoing renovations at the NAC.

  • Using a crane to lift the sculpture over the terrace 3 February 18, 2016

    “Musica” by Leonardo Nierman moves

    “Musica” by Leonardo Nierman will be temporarily stored away, as a result of the ongoing renovations at the NAC.

  • February 11, 2016

    The Glenn Gould Piano moves

    CD 318, the storied Steinway piano of legendary Canadian pianist Glenn Gould, will be temporarily stored at the Canadian Museum of Nature, as a result of the ongoing renovations at the NAC. Read more

  • February 9, 2016

    NAC Ground Breaking Ceremony

    Read more

Menu

Dernières nouvelles sur les rénos

  • juillet 2017

  • Cérémonie inaugurale du CNA le 1er juillet

  • juin 2017

  • 28 juin 2017

    Le Centre national des Arts lève le voile sur ses rénovations de 110 millions

    Article en anglais

    The first phase of the National Arts Centre's $110.5-million renovation was on display Wednesday in a sneak preview of what's expected to open to the public on Canada Day.

    The national theatre's newly renovated Elgin Street entrance, relocated box office and main floor of the north atrium will be open for public tours on July 1.

    Source : CBC/Radio-Canada

  • On se prépare à l'inauguration officielle!

  • Prêts à célébrer!

  • Les palissades de constructions sont retirées sur Elgin

  • Aperçu de nos nouvelles salles de bains

  • Plus que 24 jours!

  • Résumé du projet en prévision du 1er juillet

  • Les espaces du CNA porteront le nom de généreux donateurs

  • mai 2017

  • L'architecte Donald Schmitt nous parle de certains changements présentement en cours au CNA.

  • avril 2017

  • 9 avril 2017

    Que dirait Hamilton Southam?

    Article en anglais

    He had picked Polish architect Fred Lebensold to design the NAC to stand with gravitas and look like a bunker. But times have changed, and Southam, says his daughter, would be “overjoyed” by what’s happening now because it is evident Donald Schmitt, of the Toronto firm Diamond Schmitt Architects, admires and respects what is already there.

    Source: Ottawa Citizen

  • janvier 2017

  • 4 janvier 2017

    Transformation grandiose du CNA

    Visionnez la vidéo de l’émission CTV National News au sujet du Projet de renouveau architectural du CNA (vidéo en anglais).

    http://www.ctvnews.ca/video?clipId=1028691

  • décembre 2016

  • 20 décembre 2016

    Le CNA a une nouvelle adresse : 1, rue Elgin

    C’est l’un des lieux les plus emblématiques du Canada, accueillant des millions de visiteurs chaque année. Mais bien peu en connaissent l’adresse : 111, rue Wellington à Ottawa – la colline du Parlement, siège du gouvernement du Canada. Une nouvelle adresse – à l’ombre de la Tour de la Paix – s’imposera maintenant comme le centre par excellence des arts de la scène : le 1, rue Elgin, l’adresse du Centre national des Arts du Canada. L’occasion de passer du 53 au 1, rue Elgin (ou Un Elgin) s’est présentée dans le cadre des... Plus

  • Play 1 décembre 2016

    La sensationnelle nouvelle salle Southam

    La salle Southam du Centre national des Arts était considérée comme ultramoderne à son inauguration en 1969. Or, les attentes du public qui fréquente les salles de spectacle ont beaucoup évolué depuis. C’est pourquoi la salle Southam a subi une cure de rajeunissement majeure.

  • novembre 2016

  • Tour numérique du CNA

  • octobre 2016

  • Play 28 octobre 2016

    Pourquoi l'entrée du CNA est-elle située du côté du canal Rideau?

    Carl Martin nous explique pourquoi l'entrée du CNA donne sur le canal Rideau et non sur la rue Elgin, ce qui changera dès la fin des travaux le 1er juillet 2017.

  • Play 27 octobre 2016

    Visite de Radio-Canada

    Radio-Canada nous a rendu visite afin de vous faire un compte rendu des travaux.

    Visionnez la vidéo pour des images exclusives de la construction ainsi que des informations complémentaires sur le projet en tant que tel.

  • septembre 2016

  • Play 30 septembre 2016

    L’émergence du nouveau CNA

    La transformation du Centre national des Arts a avancé de façon spectaculaire depuis la cérémonie de lancement des travaux à la Quatrième Salle du CNA en compagnie d’un groupe de dignitaires le 9 février 2016. Revivez les 250 premiers jours du Projet de renouvellement architectural, y compris la démolition de la vieille salle Panorama, la construction de la structure d’acier du nouvel atrium, l’installation des caissons en bois du toit/plafond de la nouvelle entrée sur Elgin et la rénovation de fond en comble de la salle... Plus

  • Chaque section est de forme triangulaire de bois douglas. 10 8 septembre 2016

    Installation des caissons de bois

    La compagnie PCL Constructors a installé le toit de la nouvelle entrée sur Elgin, en commençant par les caissons de bois qui forment le plafond de la tourelle et de la nouvelle section du côté du canal Rideau. 

  • Play 1 septembre 2016

    L’évolution architecturale du CNA

    Jennifer Mallard, Architecte d’opération (Diamond Schmitt Architects) pour renouvellement architectural du CNA, parle du patrimoine architectural du CNA et de sa transformation en un espace lumineux, accueillant et accessible.

  • août 2016

  • Play 19 août 2016

    La nouvelle entrée sur Elgin continue de prendre forme

    La structure de la nouvelle entrée du Centre national des Arts sur Elgin est presque complète. Cette vidéo offre une vue du ciel de la tourelle numérique, brillant phare de la scène nationale. Le nouveau CNA comprendra des aires de spectacle améliorées, de nouveaux espaces publics pour la tenue d’activités éducatives et d’événements divers, ainsi qu’un magnifique atrium vitré prolongé d’une entrée magistrale donnant sur la rue Elgin et embrassant la Place de la Confédération, d’où le public aura des vues imprenables sur... Plus

  • juillet 2016

  • Play 27 juillet 2016

    Vidéo accélérée : 27 juin au 27 juillet 2016

    Cette vidéo en accéléré vous donnera un aperçu du futur pendant que vous regardez notre nouvelle entrée prendre forme.

  • Play 21 juillet 2016

    Vue à vol d'oiseau sur la construction

    Observez du haut des airs le chantier du CNA au son d'un enregistrement de la Symphonie no 4 de Brahms par l'Orchestre du CNA.

  • Prêt à enlever les sièges! 5 12 juillet 2016

    Début de la cure de rajeunissement de la salle Southam

    Il s’agit là d’une cure de rajeunissement sans précédent pour cette salle depuis l’inauguration de l’édifice. Meilleurs sièges, acoustique améliorée et accessibilité accrue. Pour en savoir plus.

  • juin 2016

  • Tous les sièges ont été retirés!

    Tweet en anglais

  • 29 juin 2016

    Les fauteuils de la salle Southam donnés à trois théâtres

    Le CNA offrira plus de 1 300 fauteuils provenant de sa plus grande salle, la salle Southam, à trois établissements : le Studio Theatre de Perth, en Ontario, la Woodroffe High School d’Ottawa, et l’Astor Theatre de Liverpool, en Nouvelle‑Écosse – la plus vieille salle de spectacle de la province.

    La rénovation de la salle Southam se poursuivra au cours de l'été.

    En savoir plus

  • Les poutres d'acier arrivent au CNA 4 28 juin 2016

    Début de la charpente d'acier

    La première poutre d’acier de la tourelle du CNA sur la rue Elgin a été installée sur Elgin. Le même jour, le Conseil d’administration de la Commission de la capitale nationale a approuvé à l’unanimité notre plan de projeter des images sur la tourelle numérique.

    Le CNA se servira de la tourelle numérique pour projeter des images numériques d’artistes de partout au pays, pour présenter les spectacles et concerts à l’affiche au CNA ainsi que les célébrations nationales comme la fête du Canada, le jour du Souvenir ou le Bal de... Plus

  • Play 15 juin 2016

    Vidéo par un drone de la construction au CNA

    Le projet de rénovation au CNA progresse bien. De vastes pans du revêtement extérieur en béton préfabriqué ont été enlevés, et la Quatrième Salle et la terrasse de la salle Panorama ont été démolies pour faire place à la nouvelle construction.
    Cette vidéo captée à l'aide d'un drone par PCL Constructors donne une vue à vol d'oiseau de tout le chantier et, en prime, de la Colline du Parlement.
    ... Plus

  • Démolition du toit de la Quatrième Salle 5 13 juin 2016

    Démolition de la Quatrième Salle

    Notre bien-aimée Quatrième Salle a été complètement démolie. C'est bien triste… mais on a hâte de voir la nouvelle salle de spectacles, qui mettra en valeur des artistes merveilleux.

  • Play 11 juin 2016

    Le spectacle doit continuer!

    Rien ne pouvait se mettre en travers du PGAAS la fin de semaine dernière, pas la construction ni l'affaissement de la chausée. Notre imperturbable hôte, Colm Feore, obtient des directions du président et chef de la direction du CNA, Peter Herrndorf pour se rendre sur la scène.

  • Avant 4 4 juin 2016

    Palissade de construction décorée

    La palissade en contreplaqué qui borde la rue Elgin est maintenant ornée de photos de musiciens et d’artistes, ainsi que d’illustrations du CNA modernisé. On y voit un aperçu de l’exaltante programmation de la saison 2016-2017.

  • mai 2016

  • Play 13 mai 2016

    Passage d’une poutre géante dans le Foyer du CNA

    À la mi-mai, la compagnie PCL Constructors a posé un jalon important dans le projet de rénovation du CNA en confiant à l’équipe Ironworkers (section locale 765) l’installation d’une poutre d’acier de 10 tonnes (9 071 kg), qui sert de support à la nouvelle partie ajoutée sur la façade nord-est de l’immeuble. 

    Regardez-les déplacer la poutre d'acier de 10 tonnes!

  • 6 6 mai 2016

    Photos récentes des rénovations

    Les travaux de rénovation sont bien évidents à l’extérieur du CNA. La démolition des murs existants est en cours pour permettre l’édification de murs vitrés offrant une vue imprenable sur le centre-ville d’Ottawa et la Colline du Parlement. Des travaux ont aussi lieu à l’intérieur du CNA dans le stationnement et au niveau de la rue Elgin, où sera érigée une nouvelle entrée beaucoup plus facile d’accès. Parcourez notre album photos pour en voir plus.
    ... Plus

  • 2 mai 2016

    L'ascenseur de la salle Panorama en rénovation

    L’ascenseur de la salle Panorama fait présentement l’objet de rénovations majeures et sera fermé jusqu’au mois d’octobre. Ces travaux auront un impact sur l’accès au Foyer principal à partir des niveaux 2 et 3 du stationnement. Tous les espaces de stationnement réservés aux personnes à mobilité réduite seront situés au niveau 1 durant cette période afin de faciliter l’accès au Foyer principal.
    ... Plus

  • avril 2016

  • Des sections du revêtement extérieur en béton préfabriqué sont enlevées pour faire place à un nouvel ajout. 2 21 avril 2016

    Début des travaux de démolition au CNA

    Les travailleurs s’affairent à démolir la marquise située à l’angle de la rue Elgin et de l’allée Freiman. Des sections du revêtement extérieur en béton préfabriqué sont enlevées pour faire place à la future entrée donnant sur la rue Elgin et à la nouvelle Quatrième Salle.

  • Indications vers l'entrée du CNA (sur la rue Albert en direction du pont Mackenzie King) 18 avril 2016

    Fermeture de l'entrée sur Elgin

    La porte d’entrée principale du CNA pour les piétons (située sur Elgin) est maintenant fermée. Les piétons seront redirigés vers le Foyer principal du CNA par l’artère menant au pont Mackenzie King.

  • 11 avril 2016

    L'accès à l'Allée Freiman change

    L’allée Freiman est fermée du lundi au vendredi, de minuit à 17 h. Elle restera néanmoins entièrement accessible jusqu’au 1er juillet en soirée, pendant la semaine et pour la présentation des spectacles à l’affiche les week-ends.

  • Rue Elgin 4 4 avril 2016

    Début de l'installation de la palissade de chantier

    On procède à l'installation de la palissade de chantier sur toute la façade de la rue Elgin, faisant le coin jusqu'au secteur de la Billetterie donnant sur le canal Rideau.

  • mars 2016

  • La Billetterie satellite, le Centre d'accueil et le Cercle des donateurs sont situés au coin des rues Elgin et Queen 4 4 mars 2016

    Ouverture de la Billetterie satellite, le Centre d’accueil et le Cercle des donateurs

    Pendant les 18 prochains mois que dureront les travaux de construction au CNA, cet espace sera, pour le public, les abonnés et les donateurs du Centre, une oasis à l’écart du bourdonnant chantier amorcé de l’autre côté de la rue. On trouvera là un lieu confortable où effectuer tout type d’opération de billetterie, siroter un café et prendre les dernières nouvelles sur l’évolution des travaux.

  • Play 3 mars 2016

    L’architecte Donald Schmitt explique le concept architectural et les caractéristiques du projet de modernisation du CNA

    Regardez cette vidéo dans laquelle l’architecte de renommée mondiale Donald Schmitt explique le concept architectural et les caractéristiques du projet de modernisation du CNA. Avec ses atriums lumineux et ses nouveaux espaces publics facilement accessibles à tous, le CNA réinventé entrera de plain-pied dans le XXIe siècle, tout en préservant l’empreinte géométrique originale de l’immeuble, telle qu’imaginée par l’architecte Fred Lebensold dans les années 1960.      
    ... Plus

  • février 2016

  • Préparation pour descendre la tapisserie 5 19 février 2016

    Déplacement de « Untitled » par Jessie Oonark

    « Untitled » par Jessie Oonark (généralement appelée la Oonark Tapisserie) sera entreposée temporairement pendant les travaux de rénovation au CNA.

  • Utilisation d'une grue pour soulever la sculpture par-dessus la terrasse 3 18 février 2016

    « Musica » par Leonardo Nierman est déplacée

    « Musica » par Leonardo Nierman sera entreposée temporairement pendant les travaux de rénovation au CNA.

  • 11 février 2016

    Le piano de Glenn Gould déménage

    Le piano Steinway CD 318 du légendaire Canadien Glenn Gould sera entreposé temporairement au Musée canadien de la nature pendant les travaux de rénovation au CNA.  En savoir plus

  • 9 février 2016

    Première pelletée de terre pour le CNA

    En savoir plus

Menu