Handel’s Messiah

with the NAC Orchestra

2022-12-14 19:00 2022-12-15 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Handel’s Messiah

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30542

In-person event

Among the great choral works of Western music, George Frideric Handel’s Messiah is arguably the best and most cherished, exuding joy and humanity from start to finish and celebrating our relationship to the divine.   Handel composed Messiah in just 24 days to safeguard his livelihood at a time when expensive operas were becoming less popular and more difficult to produce. Without a dramatic narrative to guide him, Handel instead relied on scripture to create his musical...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
December 14 - 15, 2022

Libretto

Last updated: December 13, 2022

PART ONE


Sinfony: Grave – Allegro moderato

Accompagnato (Tenor): Comfort ye, comfort ye, my people, saith your God. Speak ye comfortably to Jerusalem, and cry unto her, that her warfare is accomplished, that her iniquity is pardoned. The voice of him that crieth in the wilderness, “Prepare ye the way of the Lord, make straight in the desert a highway for our God.”

Air (Tenor): Ev’ry valley shall be exalted, ev’ry mountain and hill made low, the crooked straight, and the rough places plain.

Chorus: And the glory of the Lord shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together, for the mouth of the Lord hath spoken it.

Accompagnato (Bass): Thus saith the Lord, the Lord of Hosts: yet once, a little while, and I will shake the heav’ns, and the earth, the sea and the dry land; and I will shake all nations, and the desire of all nations shall come: the Lord whom you seek, shall suddenly come to His temple, ev’n the messenger of the covenant, whom ye delight in: behold He shall come, the Lord of hosts.

Air (Alto) : But who may abide the day of His coming? And who shall stand when He appeareth? For He is like a refiner’s fire.

Chorus: And He shall purify the sons of Levi that they may offer unto the Lord an offering in righteousness.

Recitative (Alto): Behold, a virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and shall call His name Emmanuel: “God with us.”

Air (Alto) and Chorus: O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion, get thee up into the high mountain; O thou that tellest good tidings to Jerusalem, lift up thy voice with strength; lift it up, be not afraid; say unto the cities of Judah, “Behold your God: Arise, shine, for thy light is come, and the glory of the Lord is risen upon thee.”

Accompagnato (Bass): For behold, darkness shall cover the earth, and gross darkness the people: but the Lord shall arise upon thee, and His glory shall be seen upon thee, and the Gentiles shall come to thy light, and the kings to the brightness of thy rising.

Air (Bass): The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light; and they that dwell in the land of the shadow of death, upon them hath the light shined.

Chorus: For unto us a Child is born, unto us a Son is given, and the government shall be upon His shoulder; and His name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The Mighty God, The Everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

Pifa: Pastoral Symphony

Recitative (Soprano): There were shepherds abiding
in the field, keeping watch over their flocks by night.

Accompagnato (Soprano): And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them, and they were sore afraid.

Recitative (Soprano): And the angel said unto them: Fear not, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David, a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.

Accompagnato (Soprano): And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host, praising God, and saying,

Chorus: Glory to God in the highest and peace on earth, good will toward men.

Air (Soprano): Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion; shout, O daughter of Jerusalem; behold, thy King cometh unto thee: He is the righteous Saviour, and He shall speak peace unto the heathen.

Recitative (Alto): Then shall the eyes of the blind be open’d, and the ears of the deaf unstopped. Then shall the lame man leap as an hart, and the tongue of the dumb shall sing.

Air (Alto and Soprano): He shall feed His flock like a shepherd, and He shall gather the lambs with His arm, and carry them in His bosom, and gently lead those that are with young. Come unto Him, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and He will give you rest. Take His yoke upon you, and learn of Him, for He is meek and lowly of heart, and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

Chorus: His yoke is easy, and His burthen is light.


PART TWO


Air (Alto): He was despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief. He gave His back to the smiters, and His cheeks to them that plucked off the hair: He hid not His face from shame and spitting.

Chorus: Surely, He hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows. He was wounded for our transgressions. He was bruised for our iniquities, the chastisement of our peace was upon Him.

Chorus: And with His stripes we are healed.
 

Chorus: All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way, and the Lord hath laid on Him the iniquity of us all.

Accompagnato (Tenor): All they that see Him, laugh Him to scorn; they shoot out their lips, and shake their heads, saying:

Chorus: He trusted in God that He would deliver Him: let Him deliver Him, if He delight in Him.

Accompagnato (Tenor): Thy rebuke hath broken His heart; He is full of heaviness; He looked for some to have pity on Him, but there was no man, neither found He any to comfort Him.

Arioso (Tenor): Behold, and see if there be any sorrow like unto His sorrow.

Accompagnato (Tenor): He was cut off out of the land of the living; for the transgression of Thy people was He stricken.

Air (Tenor): But Thou didst not leave His soul in Hell, nor didst Thou suffer Thy Holy One to see corruption.

Chorus: Lift up your heads, O ye gates; and be ye lift up, ye everlasting doors; and the King of Glory shall come in. Who is this King of Glory? The Lord strong and mighty, the Lord mighty in battle. Lift up your heads, O ye gates; and be ye lift up, ye everlasting doors; and the King of Glory shall come in. Who is this King of Glory? The Lord of Hosts, He is the King of Glory.

Air (Bass): Why do the nations so furiously rage together, and why do the people imagine a vain thing? The kings of the earth rise up, and the rulers take counsel together against the Lord, and against His anointed, saying:

Chorus: Let us break their bonds asunder and cast away their yokes from us.

Recitative (Tenor): He that dwelleth in Heaven shall laugh them to scorn: The Lord shall have them in derision.

Air (Tenor): Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron; Thou shalt dash them in pieces like a potter’s vessel.

Chorus: Hallelujah for the Lord God omnipotent reigneth. The kingdom of this world is become the Kingdom of our Lord and of His Christ; and He shall reign for ever and ever. King of Kings, and Lord of Lords, Hallelujah!


PART THREE


Air (Soprano): I know that my Redeemer liveth, and that He shall stand at the latter day upon the earth; and though worms destroy this body, yet in my flesh shall I see God. For now is Christ risen from the dead, the first-fruits of them that sleep.

Chorus: Since by man came death, by man came also the resurrection of the dead. For as in Adam all die, even so in Christ shall all be made alive.

Accompagnato (Bass): Behold, I tell you a mystery: we shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet.

Air (Bass): The trumpet shall sound, and the dead shall be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.

Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb that was slain, and hath redeemed us to God by His blood, to receive power, and riches, and wisdom, and strength, and honour, and glory, and blessing. Blessing and honour, glory and pow’r, be unto Him that sitteth upon the throne, and unto the Lamb, for ever and ever.

Chorus: Amen.

— Text from the King James version of the Bible, selected and arranged by Charles Jennens. Carus Edition, Ton Koopman & Jan H. Siemons, editors.

Repertoire

George Frederic Handel

Messiah

Probably Handel’s most famous work, Messiah (1741) is the only composition of its time to be performed continuously since its premiere in Dublin on April 12, 1742. The remarkable frequency of its performance was due in part to the accessibility of the score (which was published in 1767), and its enduring popularity owes much to the unique qualities of its text and the ways Handel set it to music.

Messiah is an oratorio—a semi-dramatic genre akin to opera but on a religious topic. Like an opera, an oratorio may have a narrative plot with characters, and unfold with operatic elements such as recitatives, arias, and choruses. However, unlike an opera, it’s performed in concert form—that is, without scenery, costumes, and acting (though action would be implied). In Italy during the first half of the 18th century, oratorios were substitutes for opera during Lent, a solemn season during the Christian liturgical calendar when one had to abstain from opera among other worldly activities. Messiah is, notably, a certain kind of concert oratorio that Handel had developed in England, as an alternative to Italian opera, which, by mid-century, was falling out of favour and fashion with audiences there. After its premiere, he introduced Messiah to London theatres beginning in 1743. Initially, the oratorio’s sacred subject appearing in a secular context provoked controversy but later, shifts in circumstance and audience tastes eventually made this a non-issue. In subsequent revivals, Handel always scheduled performances of it at the end of the theatre season, within a couple of weeks before Easter. Today, Messiah is usually performed around Christmas.

Messiah tells the story of God’s redemption of mankind through Christ the Saviour. Charles Jennens, a friend of the composer’s, created the libretto by selecting and adapting verses from the Old and New Testaments in the Authorized Version of the Bible. The verses are grouped so the drama unfolds in three main parts: Part One presents the prophecies about the Messiah’s coming, and their fulfillment in his birth; Part Two follows the passion story of Christ, his crucifixion, death, and resurrection, the rejection of Christ, and God’s ultimate victory; Part Three is a meditation on what is accomplished through Christ’s victory—the promise of eternal life and triumph over death. While the story has clear religious significance, Jennens avoids a dogmatic interpretation. As a result, Messiah’s narrative, rich in complex human themes and emotions, can be appreciated by anyone, regardless of belief or creed.

Handel’s Messiah is unique to the oratorio genre because its story is presented, not through the personification of characters, but rather, in a descriptive format by the voices of the four soloists and chorus. The text thus becomes something to be contemplated, enhanced by the composer’s deft use of recitative, aria, and chorus to infuse variety and drama. In the recitatives, there’s a notable distinction between those accompanied by continuo (i.e., keyboard and cello) versus those accompanied by orchestra (“accompagnato”). While the former serve to introduce new topics, the latter drive the narrative forward in key moments, for example, “And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them” (Part One), “Thy rebuke hath broken His heart” (Part Two), and “Behold, I tell you a mystery” (Part Three). For the ensuing airs (or arias) during which matters are more deeply reflected upon, Handel uses a mixture of forms. He had originally planned four arias to be set in the elaborate Baroque da capo (ABA) form, but only the one for alto, “He was despised”, was not shortened before the first performance. When performed in full, as it will be in this NACO performance, this aria carries deep emotional weight, setting the stage for the dramatic arc of Part Two that ultimately culminates in the glorious “Hallelujah” chorus.

Regarding the choruses, shifting musical textures—from unison declarations to layered counterpoint to majestic chordal statements—enliven these commentaries to powerful effect. The aforementioned “Hallelujah” chorus is a particularly brilliant example, incorporating monophonic (“King of Kings”), homophonic (the opening “Hallelujah”), and polyphonic (“And he shall reign for ever and ever”) textures. Listen also to how it goes from low and quiet on “The kingdom of this world is become” to suddenly loud on “the Kingdom of the Lord, and of his Christ”, on a similar motif but in a higher register, as if radiant—a musical representation of the transformation described in the text. In the final “Amen” chorus, Handel inventively contrasts homophonic and polyphonic textures as well as vocal and orchestral timbres to bring the oratorio to a magnificent close.

Program notes by Hannah Chan-Hartley, PhD

NAC Orchestra

Conducteur: Patrick Dupré Quigley
Soloists: Mireille Asselin, soprano; Julie Boulianne, mezzo-soprano; Lawrence Wiliford, tenor; Norman Garrett, baritone

  • First Violins
    Yosuke Kawasaki (concertmaster)
    Jessica Linnebach (associate concertmaster)
    Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistant concertmaster)
    Jeremy Mastrangelo
    Marjolaine Lambert
    Emily Westell
    Manuela Milani
    Emily Kruspe
  • Second Violins
    Mintje van Lier (principal)
    Winston Webber (assistant principal)
    Leah Roseman
    Carissa Klopoushak
    Frédéric Moisan
    Zhengdong Liang
    Mark Friedman
    *Martine Dubé
    **Karoly Sziladi
    **Edvard Skerjanc
  • Violas
    Jethro Marks (principal)
    David Goldblatt (assistant principal)
    David Marks (associate principal)
    David Thies-Thompson
    Paul Casey
  • Cellos
    Rachel Mercer (principal)
    **Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)
    Leah Wyber
    Timothy McCoy
    *Karen Kang
    **Marc-André Riberdy
  • Double Basses
    Max Cardilli
    Vincent Gendron
    Marjolaine Fournier
    **Hilda Cowie
  • Oboes/Hautbois
    Charles Hamann (principal)
    Anna Petersen
  • Bassoons
    Darren Hicks (principal)
  • Trumpets
    Karen Donnelly (principal)
    Steven van Gulik
  • Timpani
    *Michael Kemp
  • Harpsichord
    * Mélisande McNabney
  • Organ
    * Thomas Annand
  • Principal Librarian
    Nancy Elbeck
  • Assistant Librarian
    Corey Rempel
  • Personnel Manager
    Meiko Lydall
  • Assistant Personnel Manager
    Laurie Shannon

*Additional musicians/Musiciens surnuméraires
**On Leave/En congé

Cantata Singers of Ottawa

Andrew McAnerney, Artistic Director

  • Soprano
    Kristi Aruja
    Bonnie Day
    Valerie Douglas
    Deirdre Garcia
    Natasha Harwood
    Victoria Holland
    Erica Loughlin
    Cathy Patton
    Debbie Smith
    Anna von Holzendorff
  • Alto
    Barbara Ackison
    Meghan Boersma
    Trish Brooks
    Vickie Classen Iles
    Janet Cover
    Nichole Ekkert-Vine
    Hannah Feagan
    Liz Gray
    Mateya Hughs
    Diana James
    Eileen Johnson
    Grace Mann
    Sheri Meyerhoffer
    Andi Murphy
  • Tenor
    Loyal Beggs
    Gary Boyd
    Neil Crawford
    Richard Fujarczuk
    Dorian Gerdes
    Ross Jewell
    Karl Mann
  • Bass
    Kevin Day
    Andrew Hodgson
    Greg Huyer
    Björn Johansson
    J.P. McElhone
    Sean Robertson
    Daniel Savoie
    Glen Seeds
    Mike Vanier
    John Young

Capital Chamber Choir

Jamie Loback, Artistic Director 

  • Soprano
    Maura Forrest
    Jasmine Lyengar
    Janessa Mann
    Katarina Michalyshyn
    Sophia Nickel
    Nicola Oddy
    Sonja Peters
    Lily Polowin
  • Alto
    Sam Greve
    Alison Hamer
    Olivia Harvey
    Katy Quinn
    Valeria Rincon
    Aidan Shenkman
    Jocelyn Veevers
    Alice Yoch
  • Tenor 
    Jamie H. Bell
    Simon Cavanagh
    Cameron Climie
    Dorian Gerdes
    Ian Silk
    Kelly Symons
    Max Von Holtz
  • Bass 
    Spencer Cripps
    Christopher Mallory
    Alan Rempel
    Madox Terrell
    Justin Willette
    Nicolas Zuluaga
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa

Présenté par Audi

Le Messie de Haendel

avec l'Orchestre du CNA

2022-12-14 19:00 2022-12-15 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Le Messie de Haendel

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30542

Événement en personne

Parmi les grandes œuvres chorales de la musique occidentale, le Messie de Georg Friedrich Haendel est certainement la plus aimée et acclamée de toutes. Profondément humaine et respirant la joie du début à la fin, elle célèbre notre lien avec le divin.  Haendel a composé son Messie en 24 jours à peine, pour assurer sa survie à une époque où les opéras, très coûteux, perdaient de...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
14 - 15 déc 2022

Nos programmes sont passés au numérique.

Balayez le code QR à l’entrée de la salle pour lire les notes de programme avant le début du spectacle.

Dernière mise à jour: 13 décembre 2022

Libretto

PREMIÈRE PARTIE

Sinfony : Grave – Allegro moderato

Accompagnato (ténor) : Console-toi, c’est assez de plaintes! Plus de pleurs, sèche enfin tes larmes! dit ton Seigneur, car la paix revient vers toi Jérusalem; la gloire du Seigneur s’est révélée, la chaîne s’est brisée et tes iniquités sont expiées; la servitude est finie. Entends la voix qui crie du haut du ciel : « Frayez le chemin du Seigneur, pour lui rendre droite la route, car Il vient. »

Air (ténor) : Toute vallée sera comblée; toute montagne s’abaissera, tout rude sentier deviendra bien uni.

Chœur : Et la gloire du Créateur sera révélée; toute chair partout la verra. Le Seigneur par sa bouche a parlé.

Accompagnato (basse) : Car ainsi parle le Tout-Puissant, le Seigneur des armées : « Encore un peu de temps, et j’ébranlerai les cieux et la terre, la mer et le sol; et j’ébranlerai toutes les nations, et de toutes les nations adviendra le désir. » Il entrera soudainement dans son temple, le Seigneur que vous cherchez, et même le messager de l’alliance, en qui vous vous complaisez : « Voici qu’Il  va venir », dit le Seigneur des armées.

Air (alto) : Mais qui pourra soutenir le jour de sa venue? Qui restera debout quand Il paraîtra? Car Il est comme le feu du fondeur.

Chœur : Et Il purifiera les fils de Lévi, qu’ils puissent présenter en toute justice leurs offrandes au Seigneur.

Récitatif (alto) : Voici que la Vierge a conçu. Elle enfante un fils, et Il a pour nom Emmanuel, Dieu parmi nous.

Air (alto et chœur) : Ô toi qui portes la bonne nouvelle, élève au loin la voix dans la campagne! Dans Sion répands l’allégresse, en tous lieux proclame la bonne nouvelle : « Voici ton Dieu, Il vient le Roi des Rois! » Ô toi qui portes la bonne nouvelle, voici le Roi des Rois, Il vient dans sa gloire!

Accompagnato (basse) : Car voici : « L’ombre régnait sur la terre  et plongeait dans la nuit tous les peuples du monde. » Mais le jour du Seigneur se lève et sa gloire sur Sion rayonne. Les nations auront sa faveur; les Rois marcheront à sa lumière.

Air (basse) : Les peuples marchaient dans les froides ténèbres, perdus dans la nuit sombre; ils ont vu briller le jour, ils ont vu la clarté. Et ceux qui dormaient encore au royaume des ombres de mort ont vu la lumière céleste."

Chœur : Chantons l’Enfant qui vient de naître. Un Enfant nous est donné, un Sauveur. Le pouvoir va reposer sur ses épaules, et c’est Lui que l’on nomme : Admirable! Tout-Puissant Conseiller, le Fils égal au Père, le Roi de la Paix!

Pifa : Symphonie pastorale

Récitatif (soprano) : Des bergers, dans les champs de Judée, veillaient sur leurs troupeaux durant la nuit.

Accompagnato (soprano) : Tout à coup, un ange du Seigneur leur apparaît et la gloire du Très Haut brille autour d’eux : ils furent saisis de peur...

Récitatif (soprano) : Mais l’Ange du Seigneur leur dit : « Ne craignez point, je viens vous annoncer une grande joie, et pour vous, et pour votre peuple. Car le salut vous est apporté en ce jour fortuné; en vos murs le Sauveur est né. »

Accompagnato (soprano) : Au même instant, les esprits bienheureux s’assemblent en Chœur :

Chœur : Gloire au Seigneur au plus haut des cieux! Paix sur terre aux hommes de bonne volonté!

Air (soprano) : Tressaille de joie, fille de Sion! Voilà ton Roi qui vient vers toi! Il vient sauver le monde; car c’est le salut qu’Il apporte. Ce Dieu si bon dans sa clémence vient nous sauver : aux nations, Il apporte l’heureux message de la Paix.

Récitatif (alto) : Alors s’ouvriront les yeux des aveugles, et se déboucheront les oreilles des sourds; alors le boiteux bondira comme un cerf et la langue du muet chantera.

Air (alto et soprano) : Berger toujours fidèle, Il veille jour et nuit. Il est le bon pasteur qui rassemble autour de Lui ses brebis aimées. Aux calmes pâturages, Il mène son troupeau, et porte dans ses bras les plus petits agneaux. Venez à Lui vous tous qui gémissez, venez à ce doux Maître, Lui seul est votre appui. Ô coeurs meurtris et las, venez à ce doux Maître, Il vous consolera; si vous suivez sa douce loi, Il vous donnera la force et la paix.

Chœur : Son joug est doux et son fardeau léger.


DEUXIÈME PARTIE


Air (alto) : Chargé d’opprobres, abandonné des hommes, Il fut un homme de douleurs, qui connut la souffrance. Il offrait Son dos à ceux qui le frappaient, Ses joues à la colère de l’ennemi brutal, Il ne dérobait pas Son visage à l’ignominie et aux crachats.

Chœur : C’est pour nous que ce Dieu souffrit et donna sa vie, c’est à cause de nos péchés qu’Il fut meurtri, brisé pour nos iniquités; ses blessures ont guéri nos misères.

Chœur : Il a versé son sang pour nous et, par sa mort, Il nous rachète.

Chœur : Comme un troupeau loin du pasteur, chacun suivait sa voie, comme un troupeau dispersé loin du pâtre, chacun suivait son chemin. L’Éternel jeta sur Lui le poids de nos iniquités.

Accompagnato (ténor) : Et tous l’insultaient et se moquaient, levant les épaules, ils blasphémaient disant entre eux :

Chœur : Il a cru que l’Éternel allait le délivrer : Qu’Il le libère, s’Il se complaît en lui!

Accompagnato (ténor) : Tant d’outrages Lui brisent le coeur, Il est seul, abandonné... Il cherche autour de Lui le regard d’un ami, mais il n’est personne qui, de ses souffrances, ait eu pitié... C’est en vain qu’Il attend, c’est en vain qu’Il espère.

Arioso (ténor) : Voyez, regardez, y eut-il jamais douleur aussi cruelle, sort plus misérable?

Accompagnato (ténor) : Il était arraché à la terre des vivants; Il était frappé à cause des péchés de son peuple.

Air (ténor) : Mais tu ne le laissais pas descendre au tombeau; tu n’acceptais pas que ton Sauveur voie la corruption.

Chœur : Portes des cieux, élevez vos linteaux! Ouvrez-vous en ce jour, car voici le Roi glorieux! Quel est ce Roi glorieux? Le Dieu des armées, le Dieu triomphant qui commande à la victoire. Portes des cieux, élevez vos linteaux! Ouvrez-vous en ce jour, car voici le Roi glorieux! Quel est ce Roi glorieux? Le Dieu des combats! C’est l’Éternel! Voilà le Roi glorieux!

Air (basse) : Pourquoi donc les peuples de la terre se dressent-ils contre le Christ? D’un fol orgueil la rage insulte le Dieu Tout-Puissant. Les rois de la terre se soulèvent et les princes audacieux tiennent conseil contre Dieu et son Fils bien-aimé.

Chœur : Faisons éclater leurs liens et rejetons loin de nous leurs chaînes!

Récitatif (ténor) : Celui qui habite les cieux rit d’un rire dédaigneux : le Seigneur les tourne en dérision.

Air (ténor) : Tu les briseras avec le fer : tu les réduiras en pièces comme le vase du potier.

Chœur : Alléluia! Alléluia! Dieu Tout-Puissant et Roi du ciel, règne, Alléluia! Toujours Il régnera, Triomphe, Honneur et Gloire au Christ, le Roi des Rois! Il régnera à jamais, seul vrai Dieu et Roi des Rois, Alléluia!


TROISIÈME PARTIE


Air (soprano) : Je sais que mon Sauveur est vivant et qu’Il viendra au jour dernier sur la terre pour nous juger. Mon pauvre corps, fût-il en cendres, mes yeux, en face, pourront voir Dieu. Le Christ a surgi triomphant des ténèbres du sépulcre; Il est les prémices de ceux qui sont morts.

Chœur : Puisque par un homme est venue la mort, c’est par un homme que nous devons ressusciter. Et comme tous, en Adam, sont soumis à sa mort, dans le Christ, seront ressuscités.

Accompagnato (basse) : Voici le grand mystère que je vous révèle : nous ressusciterons tout à coup à l’appel retentissant de la dernière trompette.

Air (basse) : À tous les échos la trompette sonnera et les morts ressusciteront, incorruptibles. Ils revêtiront la forme immortelle d’un corps plus parfait.

Chœur : Gloire à l’Agneau qui est mort et nous a réconciliés avec Dieu par son sang, pour recevoir force et richesse et sagesse et puissance et honneur et gloire et grandeur et grâce. Nous lui devons puissance et honneur et gloire et grâce à Lui qui siège sur son trône et aussi à l’Agneau, pour toujours et toujours.

Chœur : Amen.

— Adaptation française de Félix Raugel.

Répertoire

GEORG FRIEDRICH HAENDEL

Le Messie, HWV 56

Probablement lʼœuvre la plus célèbre de Haendel, Le Messie (1741) est la seule composition de son époque à avoir été jouée sans interruption depuis sa création, à Dublin, le 12 avril 1742. La fréquence remarquable de son exécution est attribuable en partie à lʼaccessibilité de la partition (qui a été publiée en 1767), et sa popularité pérenne doit beaucoup aux qualités uniques de son texte et à la façon dont Haendel lʼa mis en musique.

Le Messie est un oratorio, un genre semi-dramatique qui sʼapparente à lʼopéra mais qui traite dʼun sujet religieux. Comme un opéra, un oratorio peut avoir une trame narrative avec des personnages, et se dérouler avec des éléments dʼopéra tels que des récitatifs, des arias et des chœurs. Cependant, à la différence de lʼopéra, il est présenté sous forme de concert, cʼest-à-dire sans décors, sans costumes et sans jeu théâtral (bien que lʼaction soit implicite). En Italie, dans la première moitié du XVIIIe siècle, les oratorios remplaçaient lʼopéra pendant le Carême, une période solennelle du calendrier liturgique chrétien où lʼon devait sʼabstenir dʼun certain nombre dʼactivités mondaines, dont lʼopéra. Le Messie, notamment, illustre un certain type dʼoratorio de concert que Haendel avait développé en Angleterre en remplacement de lʼopéra italien, lequel, au milieu du siècle, tombait en désuétude auprès du public anglais. Après sa création, il a présenté Le Messie dans les théâtres londoniens à partir de 1743. Au début, le fait que le sujet sacré de lʼoratorio apparaisse dans un contexte profane a suscité une certaine controverse, mais celle-ci sʼest estompée au fur et à mesure de lʼévolution des circonstances et des goûts du public. Lors des reprises ultérieures, Haendel a toujours programmé les représentations du Messie à la fin de la saison théâtrale, quelques semaines avant Pâques. De nos jours, Le Messie est généralement présenté aux alentours de Noël.

Le Messie raconte lʼhistoire de la rédemption de lʼhumanité par Dieu à travers le Christ Sauveur. Charles Jennens, un ami du compositeur, a créé le livret en sélectionnant et en adaptant des versets de lʼAncien et du Nouveau Testament dans la version autorisée de la Bible. Les versets sont regroupés de manière à ce que le drame se déroule en trois parties principales. La première partie présente les prophéties sur la venue du Messie et leur accomplissement dans sa naissance. La deuxième partie suit lʼhistoire de la passion du Christ, sa crucifixion, sa mort et sa résurrection, le rejet du Christ et la victoire finale de Dieu. La troisième partie est une méditation sur ce qui est accompli par la victoire du Christ – la promesse de la vie éternelle et le triomphe sur la mort. Bien que lʼhistoire ait une signification religieuse évidente, Jennens nʼinterprète pas ces écrits dans une perspective dogmatique. En conséquence, la trame narrative du Messie , riche en thèmes et en émotions humaines complexes, peut être appréciée par quiconque, quelle que soit sa croyance ou sa foi.

Le Messie de Haendel a ceci dʼunique, dans le genre de lʼoratorio, que son histoire est présentée non pas par la personnification de personnages, mais plutôt sous une forme narrative, par les voix des quatre solistes et du chœur. Le texte devient ainsi un objet de contemplation, mis en valeur par lʼutilisation habile que fait le compositeur du récitatif, de lʼaria et du chœur, afin dʼinsuffler de la variété et du drame. Il est à noter que les récitatifs se divisent entre ceux qui sont accompagnés par le continuo (cʼest-à-dire le clavier et le violoncelle) et ceux quʼaccompagne lʼorchestre (accompagnato). Alors que les premiers servent à introduire de nouveaux sujets, les seconds font avancer le récit à des moments clés, par exemple, « Et voici que lʼange du Seigneur vint sur eux » (première partie), « Ta réprimande lui a brisé le cœur » (deuxième partie) et « Voici, je vous dévoile un mystère » (troisième partie). Pour les airs (ou arias) subséquents dans lesquels la réflexion est plus approfondie, Haendel a recours à un mélange de formes. À lʼorigine, il avait prévu que quatre arias seraient présentés dans la forme baroque élaborée da capo (ABA), mais seul lʼaria pour alto, « Il a été méprisé », nʼa pas été raccourci avant la création de lʼœuvre. Cet aria a un poids émotionnel profond qui ouvre la voie à lʼarc dramatique de la deuxième partie, lequel culmine finalement dans le glorieux chœur de lʼAlléluia.

En ce qui concerne les chœurs, des textures musicales changeantes, allant dʼénoncés à lʼunisson à des contrepoints superposés, en passant par de majestueux accords, magnifient puissamment ces commentaires. Le chœur « Alléluia » mentionné plus haut en offre un exemple particulièrement éclatant, incorporant des textures monophoniques (« Le Roi des Rois »), homophoniques (lʼouverture « Alléluia ») et polyphoniques (« Et il règnera pour les siècles des siècles »). Remarquez aussi de quelle façon il passe dʼun ton doux et calme sur « Le royaume de ce monde est advenu » à un ton soudainement retentissant sur « Le royaume du Seigneur et de son Christ », sur un motif similaire mais dans un registre plus élevé, comme sʼil rayonnait – une représentation musicale de la transformation décrite dans le texte. Dans le chœur final « Amen », Haendel contraste de façon inventive les textures homophoniques et polyphoniques, ainsi que les timbres vocaux et orchestraux, pour amener lʼoratorio à sa sublime conclusion.

Notes de programme par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de lʼanglais) 

Artistes

  • Chef d’orchestre Patrick Dupré Quigley
  • soprano Mireille Asselin
  • mezzo-soprano  Julie Boulianne
  • tenor Lawrence Wiliford
  • baryton-basse Norman Garrett
  • Guest musicians Cantata Singers of Ottawa
  • chœur Capital Chamber Choir
  • Avec Orchestre du CNA

Orchestre du CNA

Conductor: Patrick Dupré Quigley
Soloists: Mireille Asselin, soprano; Julie Boulianne, mezzo-soprano; Lawrence Wiliford, tenor; Norman Garrett, baritone

  • Premiers violons
    Yosuke Kawasaki (violon solo)
    Jessica Linnebach (violon solo associée)
    Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistante violon solo)
    Jeremy Mastrangelo
    Marjolaine Lambert
    Emily Westell
    Manuela Milani
    Emily Kruspe
  • Seconds violons
    Mintje van Lier (solo)
    Winston Webber (assistant solo)
    Leah Roseman
    Carissa Klopoushak
    Frédéric Moisan
    Zhengdong Liang
    Mark Friedman
    *Martine Dubé
    **Karoly Sziladi
    **Edvard Skerjanc
  • Altos
    Jethro Marks (solo)
    David Goldblatt (assistant solo)
    David Marks (solo associé)
    David Thies-Thompson
    Paul Casey
  • Violoncelles
    Rachel Mercer (solo)
    **Julia MacLaine (assistante solo)
    Leah Wyber
    Timothy McCoy
    *Karen Kang
    **Marc-André Riberdy
  • Contrebasses
    Max Cardilli
    Vincent Gendron
    Marjolaine Fournier
    **Hilda Cowie
  • Hautbois
    Charles Hamann (principal / solo)
    Anna Petersen
  • Bassons
    Darren Hicks (principal / solo)
  • Trompettes
    Karen Donnelly (principal / solo)
    Steven van Gulik
  • Timbales
    *Michael Kemp
  • Clavecin
    * Mélisande McNabney
  • Orgue
    * Thomas Annand
  • Musicothécaire principale
    Nancy Elbeck
  • Musicothécaire adjoint
    Corey Rempel
  • Chef du personnel
    Meiko Lydall
  • Chef adjointe du personnel
    Laurie Shannon

*Additional musicians/Musiciens surnuméraires
**On Leave/En congé

Cantata Singers of Ottawa

Andrew McAnerney, Directeur artistique

  • Soprano
    Kristi Aruja
    Bonnie Day
    Valerie Douglas
    Deirdre Garcia
    Natasha Harwood
    Victoria Holland
    Erica Loughlin
    Cathy Patton
    Debbie Smith
    Anna von Holzendorff
  • Alto
    Barbara Ackison
    Meghan Boersma
    Trish Brooks
    Vickie Classen Iles
    Janet Cover
    Nichole Ekkert-Vine
    Hannah Feagan
    Liz Gray
    Mateya Hughs
    Diana James
    Eileen Johnson
    Grace Mann
    Sheri Meyerhoffer
    Andi Murphy
  • Ténor
    Loyal Beggs
    Gary Boyd
    Neil Crawford
    Richard Fujarczuk
    Dorian Gerdes
    Ross Jewell
    Karl Mann
  • Basse
    Kevin Day
    Andrew Hodgson
    Greg Huyer
    Björn Johansson
    J.P. McElhone
    Sean Robertson
    Daniel Savoie
    Glen Seeds
    Mike Vanier
    John Young

Capital Chamber Choir

Jamie Loback, Directeur artistique

  • Soprano
    Maura Forrest
    Jasmine Lyengar
    Janessa Mann
    Katarina Michalyshyn
    Sophia Nickel
    Nicola Oddy
    Sonja Peters
    Lily Polowin
  • Alto
    Sam Greve
    Alison Hamer
    Olivia Harvey
    Katy Quinn
    Valeria Rincon
    Aidan Shenkman
    Jocelyn Veevers
    Alice Yoch
  • Ténor
    Jamie H. Bell
    Simon Cavanagh
    Cameron Climie
    Dorian Gerdes
    Ian Silk
    Kelly Symons
    Max Von Holtz
  • Basse
    Spencer Cripps
    Christopher Mallory
    Alan Rempel
    Madox Terrell
    Justin Willette
    Nicolas Zuluaga

Alliance international des employés de la scène