Traffic disruptions - Canada Day weekend
Handel’s Messiah

Handel's Messiah

NACO Live

2022-12-14 19:00 2022-12-15 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Handel's Messiah

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30542

In-person event

Among the great choral works of Western music, George Frideric Handel’s Messiah is arguably the best and most cherished, exuding joy and humanity from start to finish and celebrating our relationship to the divine.   Handel composed Messiah in just 24 days to safeguard his livelihood at a time when expensive operas were becoming less popular and more difficult to produce. Without a dramatic narrative to guide him, Handel instead relied on scripture to create his musical...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
December 14 - 15, 2022
7:00 pm
Handel’s Messiah
Music Classical music Masterworks Violin Cello Vocal Piano Opera
  • Handel Messiah
  • In-person event

Among the great choral works of Western music, George Frideric Handel’s Messiah is arguably the best and most cherished, exuding joy and humanity from start to finish and celebrating our relationship to the divine.  

Handel composed Messiah in just 24 days to safeguard his livelihood at a time when expensive operas were becoming less popular and more difficult to produce. Without a dramatic narrative to guide him, Handel instead relied on scripture to create his musical masterpiece. Handel was a great philanthropist who chose to support charitable causes for Messiah’s first three performances in Dublin, and each was a runaway success.  

Under the baton of conductor Patrick Dupré Quigley, the NAC Orchestra is thrilled to perform this holiday masterpiece. Since the opening of the NAC in 1969, Cantata Singers of Ottawa have performed every year with the NAC Orchestra. This holiday season, experience the irresistible joy and mystery of Messiah and feel the wonder and hope few other sacred works can express. 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Dec 12
Dec 13
Dec 14
  • 7:00pm
Dec 15
  • 7:00pm
Dec 16
Dec 17
Dec 18
Handel’s Messiah
Menu

Le Messie de Handel

Le messie de Haendel

L'OCNA en direct

2022-12-14 19:00 2022-12-15 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Le messie de Haendel

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30542

Événement en personne

Parmi les grandes œuvres chorales de la musique occidentale, le Messie de Georg Friedrich Haendel est certainement la plus aimée et acclamée de toutes. Profondément humaine et respirant la joie du début à la fin, elle célèbre notre lien avec le divin.  Haendel a composé son Messie en 24 jours à peine, pour assurer sa survie à une époque où les opéras, très coûteux, perdaient de...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
14 - 15 décembre 2022
19 h 00
Le Messie de Handel
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Violon Violoncelle Voix Piano Opéra
  • Haendel Le Messie
  • Événement en personne

Parmi les grandes œuvres chorales de la musique occidentale, le Messie de Georg Friedrich Haendel est certainement la plus aimée et acclamée de toutes. Profondément humaine et respirant la joie du début à la fin, elle célèbre notre lien avec le divin. 

Haendel a composé son Messie en 24 jours à peine, pour assurer sa survie à une époque où les opéras, très coûteux, perdaient de leur popularité et devenaient plus difficiles à produire. Sans trame dramatique pour le guider, le compositeur s’est plutôt fié aux Écritures pour créer son chef-d’œuvre. Grand philanthrope, Haendel choisit de mettre les trois premières représentations du Messie, à Dublin, au service de causes caritatives, et chacun des concerts fut un vif succès. 

L’Orchestre du CNA est fier de présenter ce classique du temps des Fêtes sous la direction du chef d’orchestre Patrick Dupré Quigley. Depuis l’inauguration du CNA en 1969, les Cantata Singers of Ottawa se sont produits chaque année avec l’Orchestre du CNA. Cette année pendant les Fêtes, laissez-vous envoûter par la joie et le mystère irrésistibles du Messie, une œuvre qui inspire l’espoir et l’émerveillement comme la musique sacrée sait rarement le faire. 

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
déc 12
déc 13
déc 14
  • 19 h 00
déc 15
  • 19 h 00
déc 16
déc 17
déc 18
Le Messie de Handel
Menu