Grimaud Plays Schumann

with the NAC Orchestra

2021-10-07 20:00 2021-10-07 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Grimaud Plays Schumann

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29165

In-person event

Opening with the musical equivalent of a soft caress, Robert Schumann’s romantic Symphony No. 4, is by turns tender, dramatic, and joyful. Tinged with tension and ambiguity, this lovely symphony questions and reveals, reflecting humanity in every bar. Then, celebrated French pianist Hélène Grimaud makes her long-awaited return to Southam Hall to perform Schumann’s Piano Concerto. Truly a renaissance woman, Hélène understands the mind of Schumann like few...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, October 7, 2021
8 PM EDT

≈ 90 minutes · No intermission

Last updated: October 7, 2021

This concert pairs Robert Schumann’s Piano Concerto and Symphony No. 4, both of which had their compositional origins in the year 1841, though he eventually revised them—in 1845 and 1851, respectively—to the final versions you’ll hear performed tonight. This bears mentioning, because these works shed light on some of Schumann’s aesthetic preoccupations in writing for the orchestral medium. Like many composers in the generation after Beethoven, Schumann was concerned with the future directions of the symphony and the concerto genres, and how he could make his own creative contribution. For these two works, it seems the idea of “fantasy” was at the core. Notably, Schumann himself referred to his Fourth Symphony as a “symphonic fantasy”, and his Piano Concerto originated as a Phantasie for piano and orchestra. 

Repertoire

R. Schumann

Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120

I. Ziemlich langsam – Lebhaft (Quite slow – Lively)
II. Romanze: Ziemlich langsam (Quite slow)
III. Scherzo: Lebhaft (Lively)
IV. Langsam – Lebhaft (Slow – Lively)

With this symphony, Schumann was interested in creating a large-scale work in which all the movements are unified by common thematic and harmonic threads and motives, as well as are linked together with no breaks in between. The composer’s model may well have been Franz Schubert’s Wanderer Fantasy for solo piano, the four movements of which are played continuously, and are bound by all their themes coming from a single motive. (This would further clarify his reference to the D minor symphony as a “symphonic fantasy”.)

In the Fourth Symphony, the thematic “motto” on which the entire work’s musical material is based is the flowing melody presented at the beginning of the slow introduction. The ensuing main movement unfolds rather freely (again, in keeping with musical notions of “fantasy”), and is dominated by an energetic, restless theme of shifting character. Later, two other important ideas appear—one, a triumphant march-like motive that reaches two pauses, the other, a gracious lyrical theme. Before the movement’s close, all three themes return, in more closely integrated fashion.

Following a brief pause, the Romanze opens with oboe and solo cello singing a folk-like melody, after which the flowing “motto” from the symphony’s introduction makes a return. In the movement’s central section, the motto assumes a more uninhibited quality in the major mode, played by the strings with solo violin sinuously elaborating overtop.

The Scherzo introduces a vigorous new theme—it has an up-then-down shape that is the reverse of the motto’s. It returns between two Trios, which feature the winding solo violin melody from the middle of the Romanze, now played by the first violins. At the end of second Trio, the melody becomes fragmented, and its initial energy dissipates. Here, the music transitions from mystery to grandeur, with trombones and then all brass slowly intoning the march-like motive from the middle of the first movement, alongside an ascending figure in the violins from the end of the opening introduction. These ideas become the main themes of the Finale, now robust and triumphant. A culmination of all that has come before, the movement evolves into a joyous dance, gathering increasing energy, to bring the symphony to a thrilling finish.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

R. Schumann

Concerto in A minor for Piano and Orchestra, Op. 54

I. Allegro affettuoso
II. Intermezzo: Andante grazioso –
III. Allegro vivace

In May 1841, around the time he was also sketching his D minor symphony, Robert Schumann drafted a Phantasie in A minor for piano and orchestra. On August 13, his wife, the virtuoso pianist and composer Clara Schumann (née Wieck) gave two trial performances of this one-movement concert piece at the Leipzig Gewandhaus. She was keen about the work, commenting that “the piano is interwoven with the orchestra in the most subtle way—one cannot imagine the one without the other.” This would have encouraged Robert, who thought the future direction of the concerto laid, in part, in creating a new equal and more integrated relationship between soloist and orchestra.

Lack of interest from publishers and concert organizers led Robert to put the Phantasie aside. However, he picked it up again in the summer of 1845, when he reworked it into a concerto, adding a Rondo finale and an Intermezzo to come before, while the Phantasie, revised, became the first movement. In December, Clara, as the soloist, gave the first performance of the Concerto in Dresden, then in Leipzig a month later, to positive reviews. Since the late 19th century, it continues to be one of the most frequently performed and admired concertos.

The Concerto begins as a dramatic intrusion by orchestra and piano; the oboe then sings the tender first theme, to which the piano immediately responds. Soloist and orchestra continue in dialogue—subtly at first, more impassioned as the movement progresses, to finally, exuberance. The “fantasy” element is clearly borne by the piano part, with its rippling arpeggios and constantly evolving melodies.

The brief Intermezzo has a gracious elegance. There’s a gentle theme on tiptoe but the middle section is the movement’s emotional heart, with a luscious cello melody of yearning leaps, around which the piano weaves embellishments. The tiptoe theme returns but seems to lose its way. As if a summons, the opening theme from the first movement, in a brighter version, is recalled by clarinets and bassoons; the piano responds with delicately falling chords. Suddenly, the tempo rushes forward into the finale’s exuberant rondo theme (in fact a variant of the opening melody). Lively episodes ensue, including a playful use of metres and orchestral counterpoint. In the final minutes, the piano part becomes its most fantastical and virtuosic, driving the Concerto to an exhilarating conclusion.

Program notes by Dr. Hannah Chan-Hartley

NAC Orchestra

FIRST VIOLINS
Yosuke Kawasaki (concertmaster)
Jessica Linnebach (associate concertmaster)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistant concertmaster)
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Leah Roseman
Erica Miller*
Annie Guénette* 

SECOND VIOLINS
Mintje van Lier (principal)
Winston Webber (assistant principal)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
Frédéric Moisan
Edvard Skerjanc
Karoly Sziladi
Andréa Armijo-Fortin*
Renée London*
Heather Schnarr*

VIOLAS
Jethro Marks (principal)
David Marks (associate principal)
David Goldblatt (assistant principal)
Paul Casey
Ren Martin-Doike
David Thies-Thompson
Sonya Probst*

CELLOS
Soo Gyeong Lee*
Rachel Mercer (principal / solo)
John Corban*

DOUBLE BASSES
Hilda Cowie (acting assistant principal)
Marjolaine Fournier
Vincent Gendron
Joel Quarrington*
Paul March*

FLUTES
Joanna G'froerer (principal)
Stephanie Morin

OBOES
Charles Hamann (principal)
Anna Petersen

CLARINETS
Kimball Sykes (principal)
Sean Rice

BASSOONS
Christopher Millard (principal)
Vincent Parizeau

HORNS
Lawrence Vine (principal) (Symphony)
Julie Fauteux (associate principal) (Concerto)
Elizabeth Simpson
Louis-Pierre Bergeron
Micajah Sturgess*
Olivier Brisson* (Symphony)

TRUMPETS
Karen Donnelly (principal)
Steven van Gulik

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (principal)
Colin Traquair
Douglas Burden

TIMPANI
Feza Zweifel (principal)

PRINCIPAL LIBRARIAN
Nancy Elbeck

ASSISTANT LIBRARIAN
Corey Rempel

PERSONNEL MANAGER
Meiko Lydall

*Additional musicians

Menu

Grimaud joue Schumann

avec l'Orchestre du CNA

2021-10-07 20:00 2021-10-07 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Grimaud joue Schumann

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29165

Événement en personne

S’ouvrant par l’équivalent musical d’une douce caresse, la romantique Symphonie no 4 de Robert Schumann est tour à tour tendre, dramatique et joyeuse. Teintée de tension et d’ambiguïté, cette charmante symphonie interroge et révèle, chaque mesure empreinte d’humanité. Par la suite, la pianiste française acclamée Hélène Grimaud fera son retour tant attendu à la Salle...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 7 octobre 2021
20 h HAE

≈ 90 minutes · Sans entracte

Dernière mise à jour: 7 octobre 2021

Le concert de ce soir réunit le Concerto pour piano et la Symphonie no 4 de Robert Schumann, deux pièces composées en 1841, mais ultimement révisées en 1845 et en 1851, respectivement. Ce sont les versions finales que vous entendez ce soir. Il convient de le mentionner, car ces œuvres mettent en lumière certaines des préoccupations esthétiques du compositeur entourant le médium orchestral. Comme de nombreux compositeurs de la génération qui suit Beethoven, Schumann s’intéresse aux directions que prendront le concerto et la symphonie ainsi qu’à la manière dont il pourrait y apporter sa propre contribution créative. De plus, il semble que l’idée de « fantaisie » soit au cœur des deux œuvres. En effet, Schumann lui-même a qualifié sa Quatrième symphonie de « fantaisie symphonique », et son Concerto pour piano est né d’une Phantasie pour piano et orchestre.

Répertoire

R. Schumann

Symphonie no 4 en ré mineur, op. 120

I. Ziemlich langsam – Lebhaft (assez lent – enjoué)
II. Romanze: Ziemlich langsam (assez lent)
III. Scherzo : Lebhaft (enjoué)
IV. Langsam – Lebhaft (lent – enjoué)

Avec cette symphonie, Schumann voulait créer une œuvre d’envergure où tous les mouvements seraient unis par une thématique commune, de même que par une trame et des motifs harmoniques, et joués sans interruption. Le compositeur s’est probablement inspiré de la Fantaisie en do majeur (« Fantaisie du voyageur ») pour piano solo de Franz Schubert, dont les quatre mouvements sont joués de manière continue et liés par des thèmes émanant d’un seul motif. (Cela clarifierait d’autant plus le nom de « fantaisie symphonique » attribué par le compositeur à la symphonie en ré mineur.)

Dans la Quatrième Symphonie, le « leitmotiv » thématique sur lequel est basé le tissu musical de l’œuvre entière est la mélodie fluide présentée au début de la lente introduction. Le mouvement principal qui suit se déploie assez librement (respectant, encore une fois, les notions musicales de la « fantaisie »), et est dominé par un thème énergique et fébrile de nature changeante. Par la suite, deux autres idées importantes font leur apparition : la première, un motif évoquant une marche qui marque deux pauses, et la seconde, un gracieux thème lyrique. Avant la fin du mouvement, les trois thèmes effectuent un retour, de manière plus étroitement liée.

Après une courte pause, la Romanze s’ouvre avec le hautbois et le violoncelle solo qui entonnent une mélodie vaguement folklorique, après quoi le « leitmotiv » fluide de l’introduction fait son retour. Dans la section centrale du mouvement, le leitmotiv adopte une attitude plus désinhibée en mode majeur, joué par les cordes auxquelles se superpose le violon solo qui improvise de manière sinueuse.

Le Scherzo introduit un nouveau thème vigoureux, qui présente une forme ascendante puis descendante, à l’opposé de celle du leitmotiv. Ce thème revient entre les deux trios, qui mettent en vedette la mélodie sinueuse du violon solo, maintenant interprétée par les premiers violons. À la fin du deuxième trio, la mélodie devient fragmentée, son énergie initiale se dissipe. Ici, la musique passe du mystérieux au grandiose : des trombones, puis l’entièreté des cuivres entonnent lentement le motif de marche du milieu du premier mouvement, aux côtés d’une figure ascendante issue de la fin de l’ouverture, jouée par les violons. Ces idées constituent les thèmes principaux de la finale, qui est désormais vigoureuse et triomphante. Aboutissement de tout ce qui précède, le mouvement se transforme en une joyeuse danse, qui emmagasine l’énergie croissante pour amener la symphonie vers sa finale exaltante.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

R. Schumann

Concerto pour piano et orchestre en la mineur, op. 54

I. Allegro affettuoso
II. Intermezzo : Andante grazioso
III. Allegro vivace

En mai 1841, durant la période où il fait aussi l’ébauche de sa symphonie en ré mineur, Robert Schumann esquisse une Phantasie en la mineur pour piano et orchestre. Le 13 août, sa femme, la compositrice et pianiste virtuose Clara Schumann (née Wieck) offre deux présentations préliminaires de ce concerto pour piano comportant un seul mouvement au Gewandhaus de Leipzig. Enthousiasmée par l’œuvre, elle déclare que « le piano s’imbrique avec l’orchestre de la manière la plus subtile qui soit – on ne peut imaginer l’un sans l’autre. » Cela encourage Robert, qui croit que l’avenir du concerto réside dans la création d’une relation plus égalitaire et intégrée entre le soliste et l’orchestre.

Le manque d’intérêt de la part des éditeurs et des organisateurs de concerts fait en sorte que Robert Schumann met sa Phantasie de côté. Il la reprend à l’été 1845 et en fait un concerto, en y ajoutant une finale rondo et un intermezzo, tandis que la Phantasie, révisée, devient le premier mouvement. En décembre, Clara, qui occupe la position de soliste, présente le concerto pour la première fois à Dresde, puis à Leipzig un mois plus tard, et reçoit des critiques élogieuses. Depuis la fin du XIXe siècle, cette pièce est l’un des concertos les plus joués et les plus acclamés.

Le Concerto s’ouvre sur une irruption spectaculaire de l’orchestre et du piano; le hautbois entonne ensuite le premier thème délicat, auquel le piano répond aussitôt. Le soliste et l’orchestre poursuivent l’échange – subtilement au début, puis de manière de plus en plus passionnée à mesure que le mouvement avance, pour se terminer dans l’exubérance. L’élément de « fantaisie » est incontestablement porté par le piano, avec ses arpèges ondulants et ses mélodies toujours changeantes.

Le bref intermezzo possède une élégance gracieuse. Le thème délicat est interprété « sur la pointe des pieds », mais la section du milieu constitue le cœur émotionnel du mouvement, avec sa voluptueuse mélodie de violoncelle qui évoque des soubresauts ardents, autour desquels le piano brode des fioritures. Le thème sur la pointe des pieds effectue un retour, mais il semble perdre son chemin. Comme une invocation, le thème d’ouverture du premier mouvement, dans une version plus joyeuse, est évoqué de nouveau par les clarinettes et les bassons; le piano leur répond avec des accords qui retombent délicatement. Soudain, le tempo accélère pour se diriger vers le rondo exubérant de la finale (qui est en fait une variation de la mélodie d’ouverture). Des épisodes enjoués s’ensuivent, démontrant notamment une utilisation ludique des pulsations et du contrepoint orchestral. Dans les dernières minutes, le piano atteint son plus haut niveau de fantaisie et de virtuosité, amenant le concerto vers son dénouement grisant.

Notes de programme rédigées par Hannah Chan-Hartley, Ph. D.

Orchestre du CNA

PREMIERS VIOLONS
Yosuke Kawasaki (violon solo)
Jessica Linnebach (violon solo associée)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistante violon solo)
Marjolaine Lambert
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Manuela Milani
Leah Roseman
Erica Miller*
Annie Guénette*

SECONDS VIOLONS
Mintje van Lier (solo)
Winston Webber (assistant solo)
Mark Friedman
Carissa Klopoushak
Frédéric Moisan
Edvard Skerjanc
Karoly Sziladi
Andréa Armijo-Fortin*
Renée London*
​Heather Schnarr*

ALTOS
Jethro Marks (solo)
David Marks (solo associé)
David Goldblatt (assistant solo)
Paul Casey
Ren Martin-Doike
David Thies-Thompson
Sonya Probst*

VIOLONCELLES
Soo Gyeong Lee*
Rachel Mercer (principal / solo)
John Corban*

CONTREBASSES
Hilda Cowie (assistante solo par intérim)
Marjolaine Fournier
Vincent Gendron
Joel Quarrington*
​Paul March*

FLÛTES
Joanna G'froerer (solo)
Stephanie Morin

HAUTBOIS
Charles Hamann (solo)
Anna Petersen

CLARINETTES
Kimball Sykes (solo)
Sean Rice

BASSONS
Christopher Millard (solo)
Vincent Parizeau

CORS
Lawrence Vine (solo) (Symphonie)
Julie Fauteux (solo associée) (Concerto)
Elizabeth Simpson
Louis-Pierre Bergeron
Micajah Sturgess*
​Olivier Brisson* (Symphonie)

TROMPETTES
Karen Donnelly (solo)
Steven van Gulik

TROMBONES
Donald Renshaw (solo)
Colin Traquair
Douglas Burden

TIMBALES
Feza Zweifel (solo)

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE PRINCIPALE
Nancy Elbeck

MUSICOTHÉCAIRE ADJOINT
Corey Rempel

CHEF DU PERSONNEL
Meiko Lydall

*Musiciens surnuméraires

Menu