Life Reflected in Gothenburg

2019-05-26 18:00 2019-05-26 20:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Life Reflected in Gothenburg

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/20006

Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra finishes its 50th Anniversary European Tour, led by renowned Music Director Alexander Shelley, in Gothenburg, Sweden. --  A stunningly original live performance, Life Reflected is a celebration of youth, promise and courage revealed in the compelling and diverse portraits of four exceptional Canadian women: Alice Munro, Amanda Todd, Roberta Bondar and Rita Joe. Alexander Shelley, Music Director of Canada’s National...

Read more

Göteborgs Konserthus,Gothenburg,Sweden
Sunday, May 26, 2019
6 PM EST

≈ Performance is approximately 80 minutes with no intermission. · No intermission

Repertoire

Zosha Di Castri

Dear Life, based on the short story by Alice Munro (adapted by Merilyn Simonds)

I received the invitation to write Dear Life just days before giving birth to my first child. Although my better judgment told me that composing an orchestral work of this proportion in the early months of motherhood was total insanity, there was something about the project that lured me in. Perhaps it was the story. Munro’s words struck a chord: a portrait of a mother-daughter relationship over a lifetime, an artist coming into her own, realizing her “Otherness” but also the universality of lived experience. I admired Munro’s flow, her flashes of memories half-recalled, perhaps fictional, perhaps autobiographical – ambiguous and at times startlingly straightforward.

And so, I have attempted to tell the story in my way: through music, sound, and experimentation. Martha Henry’s voice guides us through the adapted text as our trusted narrator. The singer, however, is treated differently. Her material is made of fragmented text and invented sounds, a visceral response bridging the divide between the abstractness of the music and the concreteness of the spoken word. Her presence comes in and out of focus both musically and dramaturgically. At the beginning, her voice is fused with the orchestra, but gradually she emerges as a distinct, independent entity.

The orchestra wavers between absolute music (non-representational textures, sometimes static, sometimes spastic), and what I think of as archetypal music – music from our collective unconscious; memory music, rusty warped hymns, the sound of migrating flocks, a melody sung to oneself, the embodiment of nostalgia via the re-orchestrated sound of phonograph static. This is the spectrum from which I work to try to create different musical spaces, from the story within the story (the Netterfield fable), to the doggerel poem sung near the end of the work. Under the pastoral beauty of these reminiscences lurks the thrill of danger, violence, misfortune, and yet forgiveness and acceptance is what we walk away with. There is something so fundamentally human about this story.

Alice Munro once wrote: “A story is not like a road to follow…it’s more like a house. You go inside and stay there for a while, wandering back and forth […]. And you, the visitor, are altered as well by being in this enclosed space, whether it is ample and easy or full of crooked turns, or sparsely or opulently furnished. You can go back again and again, and the house, the story, always contains more than you saw the last time.”1

It is in this way, I hope, that listeners will experience my house of sound. 

— Zosha Di Castri
 

1 Introduction to the Vintage Edition, Selected Stories, 1968–1994 (New York: Vintage Books, 1996).

Jocelyn Morlock

My Name is Amanda Todd

Born St. Boniface (now incorporated into Winnipeg), Manitoba, December 14, 1969
Now living in Vancouver

Jocelyn Morlock received her Bachelor of Music in piano performance at Brandon University, and both a Master’s degree and a Doctorate of Musical Arts from the University of British Columbia. “With its shimmering sheets of harmonics” (Georgia Straight) and an approach that is “deftly idiomatic” (Vancouver Sun), Morlock’s music has received numerous national and international accolades, including Top 10 at the 2002 International Rostrum of Composers, the Mayor’s Arts Award for Music in Vancouver (2016) and the JUNO award for Classical Composition of the Year (My Name is Amanda Todd, 2018).

Most of Morlock’s compositions are for small ensembles, many of them for unusual combinations like piano and percussion (Quoi?), cello and vibraphone (Shade), bassoon and harp (Nightsong), and an ensemble consisting of clarinet/bass clarinet, trumpet, violin and double bass (Velcro Lizards).

Cobalt, a concerto for two violins and orchestra, was her first commission for the National Arts Centre Orchestra, in 2009. Jocelyn Morlock’s first full-length CD, also titled Cobalt, was released on the Centrediscs label in 2014. Morlock has been the Vancouver Symphony’s Composer in Residence since 2014.

– Biographical note by Robert Markow

- - -

My Name is Amanda Todd

When I first approached writing this piece, I was focused on what happened to Amanda, and was feeling how devastating it must be to have people endlessly sharing bad messages and comments about you, especially at such a young age. That negativity seemed overwhelming. When talking to Carol Todd, and to the NAC Orchestra’s Christopher Deacon, I became aware of how transformational and empowering it would be for this young girl, Amanda, to take control and to tell her own story on this very same platform that people were using against her.

When I met Carol, she told me about all the places that she would be speaking, because people finally recognize the need to do something to stop cyberbullying. She told me about the kids who reach out to her and are looking for help, or who reach out to her to tell her that Amanda’s videos and her story have helped them; kids who, because of Amanda and Carol, found hope in their situation. I’m left with a feeling of profound joy in Amanda’s bravery, and Carol’s message.

Musically, the opening of the piece My Name is Amanda Todd draws first on overwhelming sorrow, which grows into a furtive, somewhat frenzied negative energy, like the uncontrolled proliferation of negative comments and images. I then use almost the same musical material (very similar small gestures, pitches and rhythms) and gradually modify it to create increasingly powerful, positive music. 

— Jocelyn Morlock

Nicole Lizée

Bondarsphere

This work is the result of immersing myself in hours of footage from Dr. Roberta Bondar’s collection, at once becoming enthralled, mesmerized and deeply moved. The soundtrack is built from the material extracted from this footage: the pitch inflection in Dr. Bondar’s voice as she describes the view of Canada from space (her filtered voice – the otherworldly sound of ‘speaking from space’), the poetry expressed in her acceptance speech at Canada’s Walk of Fame, the nostalgia of the resonances and timbres of iconic Canadian news anchors, and the exalted celebration of the children gathered in Sault Ste. Marie to welcome her back after her time in space. These are captured and shaped into musical building blocks; stretched, pitchshifted, spliced, and woven together to create themes, basso continuos, chants, canons and chorales with which the live orchestra engages – colouring, enhancing and harmonizing.

Referencing Dr. Bondar’s eight days in space, my intention for each of the eight movements is to harness the sounds and sights – to stop time for a moment, dive into each scene and build an experience. To realize the emotion inherent in Dr. Bondar’s incredible achievements while using my language and aesthetic to sonically and visually express the impact that these accomplishments have had on the world.

— Nicole Lizée

John Estacio

I Lost My Talk, based on the poem by Rita Joe

In fifteen lines of poetry, Rita Joe’s poem I Lost My Talk captures the discombobulating fear of being forced to leave one’s culture. Just as the poem is divided into four stanzas, the composition is divided into four uninterrupted movements. A bucolic flute solo captures the narrator’s life prior to attending Shubenacadie residential school. Strings play a hymn that suddenly transforms into a harsh musical environment; the flute melody is now fractured and lost within a foreign tonal soundscape. Throughout the second movement, as shattered musical themes recover, the percussion and lower brass frequently interrupt, forcing the melody to regroup and move forward into an atmosphere that becomes relentlessly oppressive. With the words “you snatched it away,” an aggressive third movement begins; the solo flute returns, swept up in frantic momentum. A percussion solo ushers the return of the hymn, now fraught and anguished. With the text “two ways I talk,” the hymn is played in two different keys simultaneously. With “I offer my hand,” the noble fourth movement begins; here, an anthem for reconciliation soars as the narrator finds the courage to act as an ambassador, bringing peace and understanding to two different cultures as well as her own life.

— John Estacio

Menu

Réflexions sur la vie à Göteborg

2019-05-26 18:00 2019-05-26 20:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Réflexions sur la vie à Göteborg

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/20006

L’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, sous la direction d’Alexander Shelley, conclut la tournée européenne célébrant son 50e anniversaire à Göteborg, en Suède. -- Spectacle original saisissant, Réflexions sur la vie est un hymne à la jeunesse, à l’espoir et au courage qui brosse le portrait varié et captivant de quatre femmes : Alice Munro, Amanda Todd, Roberta Bondar et Rita Joe. Dans le...

Read more

Göteborgs Konserthus ,Gothenburg,Sweden
dimanche 26 mai 2019
18 h HAE

≈ Durée approximative de 80 minutes sans entracte. · Sans entracte

Répertoire

Zosha Di Castri

Dear Life, mots et paroles adaptés du récit d’Alice Munro (adaptation par Merilyn Simonds)

J’ai été invitée à composer Dear Life quelques jours à peine avant la naissance de mon premier enfant. Au mépris du bon sens qui clamait qu’entreprendre la composition d’une œuvre orchestrale d’une telle envergure pendant mes premiers mois de maternité relevait de la folie, j’ai été subjuguée par ce projet. Était‑ce le récit? Les mots de Munro ont résonné en moi : le portrait d’une relation mère‑fille tout au long d’une vie, une artiste trouvant sa voix, prenant conscience de son « altérité », mais également de l’universalité de l’expérience vécue. J’admirais la fluidité du texte de Munro, ses souvenirs à moitié vagues – fictifs? autobiographiques? – tantôt ambigus, tantôt saisissants de transparence.

Aussi ai‑je tenté de raconter l’histoire à ma façon, par la musique, le son et l’expérimentation. La voix de Martha Henry nous accompagne dans la narration du texte adapté. La soprano, quant à elle, manie des fragments de texte et des sons inventés, réaction viscérale comblant l’écart entre la dimension abstraite de la musique et la dimension concrète de la parole. Sa présence, musicale et dramaturgique, se précise, puis s’évapore. Au départ, sa voix fusionne avec l’orchestre, mais peu à peu, elle émerge en tant qu’entité distincte à part entière.

L’orchestre oscille entre musique absolue (textures résolument abstraites, tantôt statiques, tantôt spasmodiques), et ce que j’appelle musique archétypique, celle qui provient de l’inconscient collectif : des mémoires musicales, des hymnes déformés par le temps, le son de volées d’oiseaux migrateurs, une mélodie fredonnée, le grésillement réorchestré de la friture des phonographes, symbole même de la nostalgie. Voilà d’où je tire mon inspiration pour créer divers espaces musicaux, allant du récit dans le récit (la fable de Netterfield) au poème de mirliton chanté vers la fin de l’œuvre. Derrière la beauté bucolique de ces réminiscences se cache le frisson du danger, de la violence, du malheur, et pourtant, au bout du compte, ce que nous en retirons est le pardon et l’acceptation. Il y a quelque chose de profondément humain dans cette histoire.

Alice Munro a écrit : « Un récit n’est pas comme une route à suivre… c’est plutôt comme une maison. Vous y entrez et y passez quelque temps, errant d’une pièce à l’autre […]. Et vous, le visiteur, êtes aussi transformé par le fait d’être dans cet espace clos, qu’il soit spacieux et accommodant ou rempli de racoins biscornus, qu’il soit meublé avec parcimonie ou opulence. Vous pouvez y revenir encore et encore, et chaque fois la maison, le récit, contient plus que vous n’y avez vu la dernière fois. » 1

J’ai l’espoir que c’est dans cet esprit que les auditeurs feront l’expérience de ma maison sonore.

— Zosha Di Castri
 

1 Traduction libre de l’introduction de l’édition Vintage de Selected Stories, 1968–1994 (New York: Vintage Books, 1996).

Jocelyn Morlock

My Name is Amanda Todd

Née à Saint-Boniface (désormais intégré à Winnipeg), le 14 décembre 1969
Vit actuellement à Vancouver

Jocelyn Morlock est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en musique (Interprétation – piano) de l’Université Brandon, ainsi que d’une maîtrise et d’un doctorat en arts musicaux de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Ses « harmonies chatoyantes » (Georgia Straight) et son approche « adroitement personnelle » (Vancouver Sun) ont valu à Jocelyn Morlock de nombreux prix, au pays comme à l’étranger : classement parmi les 10 finalistes à la Tribune internationale des compositeurs en 2002; le Mayor’s Arts Award dans la catégorie Musique, à Vancouver (2016); et le prix JUNO de la Composition classique de l’année pour My Name is Amanda Todd (2018).

La plupart des compositions de Jocelyn Morlock sont destinées à de petits ensembles, plusieurs d’entre elles pour des combinaisons inhabituelles, telles piano et percussions (Quoi?), violoncelle et vibraphone (Shade), ou basson et harpe (Nightsong). Velcro Lizards a été composée pour un ensemble formé d’une clarinette ou d’une clarinette basse, d’une trompette, d’un violon et d’une contrebasse.

Cobalt, sa première œuvre commandée par l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, a été créée par ce dernier en 2009; ce concerto pour deux violons et orchestre figure sur son premier album complet, aussi intitulé Cobalt, paru sous étiquette Centrediscs en 2014. Morlock est la compositrice en résidence de l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver depuis 2014.

– Traduit d’après Robert Markow

- - -

My Name is Amanda Todd

Lorsque j’ai commencé à écrire cette composition, mon esprit était animé par ce qu’avait vécu Amanda, et je pouvais m’imaginer à quel point il doit être destructeur de voir sans cesse des messages et des commentaires malveillants dirigés contre soi, surtout quand on est jeune. Toute cette atmosphère négative me semblait étouffante. En parlant avec sa mère, Carol Todd, et avec Christopher Deacon, de l’Orchestre du CNA, j’ai réalisé le pouvoir de transformation qui aurait opéré sur la jeune fille si elle avait pu prendre le contrôle de la situation et raconter son histoire en utilisant la même plateforme que ceux qui s’employaient à la dénigrer.

Carol m’a parlé de tous les endroits où elle porte son message, parce que les gens finissent par reconnaître la nécessité d’agir pour mettre fin à la cyberintimidation. Elle m’a parlé des enfants qui cherchent auprès d’elle de l’aide, ou qui lui disent que les vidéos et l’histoire d’Amanda les ont aidés; des jeunes qui affirment avoir trouvé de l’espoir à travers Amanda et Carol. J’éprouve un profond sentiment de joie devant le courage d’Amanda et le message de Carol.

My Name is Amanda Todd s’ouvre sur un chagrin immense qui se transforme en une énergie négative sournoise et plutôt désespérée où l’on voit, impuissant, se multiplier les remarques et images corrosives. Je reprends ensuite pratiquement les mêmes matériaux musicaux (petits gestes, timbres et rythmes très semblables) que je modifie graduellement pour créer une musique de plus en plus puissante et positive.

— Jocelyn Morlock

Nicole Lizée

Bondarsphere

Pour réaliser cette œuvre, j’ai passé des heures à éplucher des enregistrements provenant de la collection de Roberta Bondar, tour à tour charmée, envoûtée et profondément émue par ce que je découvrais. J’ai tiré de tout cela un environnement sonore formé d’éléments hétéroclites : inflexions de la voix de l’astronaute décrivant la vue qu’elle a du Canada depuis l’espace (une voix filtrée – une voix « venue de l’au-delà »; cachet poétique du message qu’elle a livré lors de son intronisation à l’Allée des célébrités canadiennes; souvenir nostalgique de la prestance de célèbres chefs d’antenne dont on reconnaît la voix; et explosion de joie d’enfants réunis à Sault Ste. Marie pour saluer le retour de l’espace de leur héroïne. Toutes ces bribes composent les pierres d’assise musicales de l’œuvre. Elles sont étirées, contorsionnées, collées et tissées ensemble pour créer des thèmes, lignes de basse continue, chants, canons et chœurs, avec le concours de l’orchestre, dans un foisonnement de couleurs et d’harmonies.

Ce que j’ai cherché à faire dans chacun des huit mouvements évoquant les huit jours que la Dre Bondar a passés dans l’espace, c’est harnacher les fils sonores et visuels de son aventure – suspendre le temps, plonger dans chaque scène et créer une expérience en soi. Exprimer, à travers la voix et l’esthétique qui sont les miennes, l’émotion que suscitent les réalisations inouïes de l’astronaute, pour que leur rejaillissement à l’échelle planétaire trouve un écho sonore et visuel.

— Nicole Lizée

John Estacio

I Lost My Talk, d’après le poème de Rita Joe

Dans I Lost My Talk, poème de quinze vers, Rita Joe décrit la crainte bouleversante d’être dépouillée de sa culture. À l’image de ce poème de quatre strophes, la composition musicale est divisée en quatre mouvements sans pause. Un solo de flûte bucolique évoque la vie que menait l’énonciatrice avant d’être envoyée au pensionnat de Shubenacadie. Les cordes jouent un hymne qui prend soudain l’allure d’un environnement musical hostile; la mélodie jouée par la flûte est maintenant brisée et perdue dans un paysage sonore d’une tonalité étrangère. Pendant tout le deuxième mouvement, tandis que les thèmes musicaux se reforment, la percussion et les cuivres dans leur registre grave interrompent fréquemment la mélodie, la forçant à se reconstituer et à continuer dans une atmosphère de plus en plus oppressante. C’est avec les mots « Vous me l’avez arrachée » que débute un troisième mouvement agressif; la flûte solo est de retour, emportée dans un élan frénétique. Un solo de percussion accueille le retour de l’hymne, qui revêt cette fois un caractère tendu et inquiétant. Pour accompagner le vers « Je parle de deux manières », l’hymne est joué simultanément dans deux tonalités différentes. Le quatrième mouvement, une musique au ton noble, s'ouvre sur les mots « Alors, je tends la main »; ici, un hymne de réconciliation s’élève, tandis que la narratrice trouve le courage de se faire la messagère de la paix et de la compréhension entre deux cultures différentes, apportant du même coup l’apaisement dans sa propre vie.

— John Estacio

{/credits_fr} {/exp:channel:entries}

Avez-vous trouvé cette information utile ?

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section

Désolé! Comment pouvons-nous l’améliorer?

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section

Si vous avez besoin d'une réponse, veuillez utiliser notre formulaire de contact.

Merci d’avoir pris le temps de nous donner votre avis.

Menu