Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2

A warm welcome to tonight’s concert, which, fittingly for Valentine’s Day, is infused with poeticism and romance. Two intertwined solo violins – none other than our extraordinary Yosuke Kawasaki and Jessica Linnebach – open the program in Jocelyn Morlock’s Cobalt, a fluid, touching rendering of the night sky moving into darkness. From this darkness appears Chopin’s lyrical, delicate and personal Piano Concerto No. 2, written at the tender age of 20, while in the throes of a romantic infatuation, brought to longing expression in the exquisite second movement. I am particularly delighted that you will hear this work in the hands of my friend David Fray, as he makes his first visit to the NAC Orchestra. We conclude with Schumann’s Symphony to his ‘Spring of Love.’ It is a work full of both joy and tenderness, and it is one of my very favourites!


NAC Institute for Orchestral Studies

The NAC Institute for Orchestral Studies (IOS) was established under the guidance of former NAC Orchestra Music Director Pinchas Zukerman, and is in its 12th season. During selected main series weeks of the 2018–2019 season, IOS apprentices rehearse and perform with the NAC Orchestra. The IOS is proudly supported by the RBC Emerging Artist Project with additional support by the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust.

The RBC Foundation is proud to be the Presenting Supporter of the NAC Institute for Orchestral Studies.

Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21
The NAC Orchestra gave their first performance of Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in 1969, with Mario Bernardi conducting and Witold Malcuzynski as soloist. Hans Graf was the conductor for the ensemble’s most recent interpretation of this concerto, given in 2010 with Garrick Ohlsson at the piano.

Symphony No. 1 in B-flat major, Op. 38, “Spring”
Mario Bernardi led the NAC Orchestra in their first interpretation of Schumann’s Spring Symphony in 1977, and Alexander Shelley was conductor when the Orchestra most recently played this work, in 2010.


Jocelyn Morlock

Cobalt

Jocelyn Morlock / www.jocelynmorlock.com
Born St. Boniface (now incorporated into Winnipeg), Manitoba, December 14, 1969
Now living in Vancouver

Jocelyn Morlock received her Bachelor of Music in piano performance at Brandon University, and both a Master’s degree and a Doctorate of Musical Arts from the University of British Columbia. Among her teachers were Pat Carrabré, Stephen Chatman, Keith Hamel and the late Russian-Canadian composer Nicolai Korndorf.

“With its shimmering sheets of harmonics” (Georgia Straight) and an approach that is “deftly idiomatic” (Vancouver Sun), Morlock’s music has received numerous national and international accolades, including Top 10 at the 2002 International Rostrum of Composers, Winner of the 2003 CMC Prairie Region Emerging Composers competition and a nomination for Best Classical Composition at the 2006 Western Canadian Music Awards. She received a JUNO Nomination for Classical Composition of the Year (Exaudi, 2011), and more recently the Mayor’s Arts Award for Music in Vancouver (2016). In 2005, she was chosen to provide the required work for all contestants at the Montreal International Musical Competition. Amore, a tour de force vocal work, went on to receive more than seventy performances and numerous radio broadcasts. In 2008, she served in the same capacity for the Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition. Morlock has been the Vancouver Symphony’s Composer in Residence since 2014, following a term as inaugural Composer in Residence for that city’s innovative concert series Music on Main (2012–2014).

Most of Morlock’s compositions are for small ensembles, many of them for unusual combinations like piano and percussion (Quoi?), cello and vibraphone (Shade), bassoon and harp (Nightsong), and an ensemble consisting of clarinet/bass clarinet, trumpet, violin and double bass (Velcro Lizards). Cobalt is her third work for full orchestra. An NAC Orchestra/CBC co-commission, it received its world premiere in Ottawa in April 2009 as part of the NAC’s BC Scene Festival, with Jonathan Crowe and Karl Stobbe as violin soloists, and Alain Trudel conducting. In May 2016, the NAC Orchestra premiered Morlock’s My Name is Amanda Todd, one of four NAC-commissioned compositions that make up the Orchestra's multi-media project Life Reflected. My Name is Amanda Todd won the JUNO for Classical Composition of the Year in 2018. Also in 2016, the Vancouver Symphony premiered her Earthfall.

Morlock’s first full-length CD, released on the Centrediscs label in 2014, is entitled Cobalt, and includes seven of the composer’s works. This disc was nominated for three Western Canadian Music Awards, for Classical Composition, and Classical Recording, of the Year. The composition Cobalt won Classical Composition of the Year. 

Here is the composer’s description of the seven-minute work: “Cobalt – the colour, the element, and indeed the goblin – has a kaleidoscopic array of associations. The element was originally named after a kobold, a mischievous and possibly evil goblin or sprite found in German folklore, for its troublesome nature. (Cobalt is poisonous, magnetic, and radioactive.) Though it is a necessary element found in both humans and animals, in large amounts it is highly toxic, and the cobalt salts used to create this vivid shade of blue in pottery or glasswork can be fatal if touched or inhaled. The luminous cobalt blue of the night sky, just before it becomes completely dark, is one of the most beautiful colours found in nature, yet it is visible only for a very short time every evening. What sustains life can also destroy it; beauty is transient and fleeting.

“The inspiration behind the piece was the myriad, contrasting emotional possibilities all contained within the associations behind cobalt. Fear, exhilaration, tranquility, beauty, and a melancholic sense of the passing of time are all contained therein. Musically, the piece is something of a collection of variations, but rather than a specific theme, what is varied is the use of (primarily) tonal melodies which focus on the minor second. The minor second is ambiguous (like cobalt) in that it may sound ominous and fearful (think of Jaws!), or anticipatory, or very resolved (as in a cadence.) Fanfare-like motifs also appear with relative frequency, as they too can be both ominous and exhilarating, depending on context.”

Program notes by Robert Markow

Chopin

Piano Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21

Born in Zelazowa Wola, Poland, March 1, 1810
Died in Paris, October 17, 1849

In July 1829, the nineteen-year-old Chopin spent three weeks in Vienna. The publisher Haslinger encouraged him to give a recital, which was so well received that a second was quickly arranged, and proved equally successful. Upon returning to Poland, Chopin realized that if he were going to pursue a career as a concert pianist (a career move he soon abandoned), he would need some major display pieces of his own in his repertoire. To this end he soon set about writing the F-minor concerto, which he premiered in Warsaw on March 17, 1830 to great acclaim. Hence, Chopin’s Piano Concerto in F minor, the so-called No. 2, was actually his first, preceding the E-minor concerto by about a year. The reversal in numbering came about because the orchestral parts of the F-minor concerto were lost before it was published, and by the time they were recopied, the E-minor concerto had been published.

The enduring appeal of a Chopin concerto lies in the piano writing – sweetly lyrical melodies, a quality of intimacy, the expressive nuances of colour and dynamics, the improvisatory character provided by such techniques as rubato, arpeggios and delicate ornamentation of the melodic lines.

The first movement’s two main themes are stated in the opening orchestral exposition – a strongly rhythmic idea with a quasi-military flavour (a rhythm also found in so many Italian operas of the period) and a more lyrical, bel canto subject announced by the woodwind choir, the first of several felicitous uses of woodwind colour in this concerto.

The Larghetto is a nocturne of heavenly beauty and midnight poetry. The central episode of this ternary form (ABA) movement momentarily disturbs the placid waters, but the mood of quiet reverie is restored well before the movement ends.

The finale is a rondo imbued with the spirit and rhythm of the mazurka, a Polish country dance in triple metre with a characteristic accent on the third beat.

Program notes by Robert Markow

Schumann

Symphony No. 1 in B-flat major, Op. 38, “Spring”

Born in Zwickau, June 8, 1810
Died in Endenich, July 29, 1856

After a decade (1829–1839) of writing almost exclusively for the piano and a year (1840) of concentration on the Lied, Schumann turned in 1841 to orchestral music for the first time. (We can discount an early, abortive attempt at a G-minor symphony in 1832.) He sketched the entire symphony in a mere four days, from January 23 to 26, and completed the orchestration a month later. The first performance took place on March 31 with Mendelssohn conducting the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra.

One cannot fail to question the appellation “Spring” for a work composed entirely in the dead of winter. However, the vernal association in Schumann’s mind was not a calendar season but rather a personal, emotional springtime – a season of romantic ardour, high spirits and creative exuberance. He had married Clara Wieck just four and a half months before he began work on the symphony. A further, more tangible source of inspiration is found in a poem he had read by Adolf Böttger. The last line reads: “Im Tale blüht der Frühling auf!” (In the valley spring is blossoming forth!), the words of which correspond to the opening fanfare of the symphony.

On the title page of the original pencil sketches (now one of the musical treasures of the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C.), the emotional content is revealed in the subtitles Schumann gave to each movement: 

1)  Beginning of Spring;
2)  Evening;
3)  Cheerful Companions;
4)  Spring in Full Bloom. 

However, when the work was printed, Schumann deleted the associative headings, presumably because he did not wish his listeners to approach the music with strong programmatic preconceptions.

In a letter to the composer Louis Spohr, Schumann wrote that the symphony had been written “in that springtime mood which seizes upon us, probably into old age, and returns afresh each year. I didn’t want to describe or paint anything, but I certainly believe that the time at which the symphony was born had an effect on its nature.” And later, in a letter to the conductor Wilhelm Taubert, the composer asked, “Could you instill into the playing of your orchestra a sense of the longing for spring?; that was what I felt most when I wrote the work.”

The first movement is introduced by the fanfare mentioned above. Schumann asked that it be played “as though it were from on high, like a call to awakening.” It serves as the principal theme of the movement’s main Allegro section as well, and its energetic, rhythmic pattern remains prominent throughout. The lyrical second theme is heard in the woodwinds.

The Larghetto movement has the quality of a tender cantilena. Violins introduce a long-breathed, gracious theme that might well deserve the description “of heavenly length” (thus returning the compliment Schumann paid Schubert’s Great C-major symphony). When the theme returns near the end of the movement, it is rescored for solo horn and oboe, a particularly felicitous blending of tonal colours that Brahms was to exploit also in more than one passage in his symphonies. The Scherzo includes two Trios which contrast with each other as well as with the adjoining Scherzo. The first of these Trios is of unusual length – 182 measures in relation to the Scherzo, which is only 96 measures, including repeats.

With scarcely a pause after the Scherzo, the finale is heralded by another fanfare whose motif returns in various melodic and rhythmic guises throughout the movement. A sprightly first theme in the violins and a vigorous second theme for woodwinds and strings in the minor mode constitute the movement’s main musical building blocks. A brief but highly imaginative episode is the dreamy, sylvan evocation created by two solo horns followed by a brief flute cadenza that leads into the recapitulation. The symphony ends with joyful abandon and a sense that all is right with the world.

Program notes by Robert Markow


Menu

Le Concerto pour piano no 2 de Chopin

Je vous souhaite la plus cordiale des bienvenues au concert de ce soir. Quoi de plus à-propos pour souligner la Saint-Valentin qu’un programme imprégné de poésie et de romance! Les airs des talentueux violons solos Yosuke Kawasaki et Jessica Linnebach s’entrelacent dans Cobalt de Jocelyn Morlock, représentation touchante d’un ciel obscurci par les ténèbres. De la noirceur émerge le lyrique, délicat et personnel Concerto pour piano no 2 de Chopin, composé au tendre âge de 20 ans alors qu’il était en plein cœur d’une idylle, dont l’expression passionnée caractérise le deuxième mouvement. Je suis particulièrement ravi que vous ayez l’occasion d’écouter cette œuvre interprétée par mon ami David Fray, qui se joint à l’Orchestre du CNA pour la toute première fois. Le romantique « Printemps » de Schumann vient clore la soirée. Cette symphonie, pleine de joie et de tendresse, est l’une de mes œuvres favorites!


Institut de musique orchestrale du CNA

Créé à l'instigation de l'ancien directeur musical de l'Orchestre du CNA, Pinchas Zukerman, l'Institut de musique orchestrale (IMO) en est maintenant à sa 12e saison. Au cours de semaines prédéter­minées des séries principales de la saison 2018–2019, les apprentis répètent et se produisent avec l’Orchestre du CNA. L’Institut est fièrement parrainé par le projet Artistes émergents RBC, et bénéficie d’un soutien additionnel de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA.

La Fondation RBC est le fier souscripteur présentateur de l’Institut de musique orchestrale du CNA.

Concerto pour piano no 2 en fa mineur, opus 21
L’Orchestre du CNA a donné sa première prestation du Concerto pour piano no 2 de Chopin en 1969, avec Mario Bernardi au pupitre et Witold Malcuzynski comme soliste. Hans Graf a dirigé la plus récente interprétation de ce concerto en 2010, avec Garrick Ohlsson au piano.

Symphonie no 1 en si bémol majeur, opus 38, « Le printemps »
Mario Bernardi dirigeait l’Orchestre du CNA pour sa première interprétation de la symphonie « Le printemps » de Schumann en 1977, tandis qu’Alexander Shelley était au pupitre quand l’Orchestre l’a plus récemment jouée, en 2010.


Jocelyn Morlock

Cobalt

Jocelyn Morlock / www.jocelynmorlock.com
Née à Saint-Boniface (désormais intégré à Winnipeg), le 14 décembre 1969
Vit actuellement à Vancouver

Jocelyn Morlock est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en musique (Interprétation – piano) de l’Université Brandon, ainsi que d’une maîtrise et d’un doctorat en arts musicaux de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle a eu pour maîtres Pat Carrabré, Stephen Chatman, Keith Hamel et le regretté compositeur russo-canadien Nicolai Korndorf.

Ses « harmonies chatoyantes » (Georgia Straight) et son approche « adroitement personnelle » (Vancouver Sun) ont valu à Jocelyn Morlock de nombreux prix, au pays comme à l’étranger : classement parmi les 10 finalistes à la Tribune internationale des compositeurs en 2002; prix de l’Emerging Composers Competition du CMC – Région des Prairies en 2003; nomination dans la catégorie Meilleure composition classique aux Western Canadian Music Awards en 2006; nomination aux Prix JUNO pour la Composition classique de l’année (pour Exaudi, 2011); et récemment, le Mayor’s Arts Award dans la catégorie Musique, à Vancouver (2016). En 2005, le Concours musical international de Montréal l’a choisie pour composer la pièce de concours imposée à tous les candidats. C’est ainsi qu’elle a écrit Amore, un tour de force vocal qui, depuis, a été exécuté plus de soixante-dix fois et souvent radiodiffusé. En 2008, elle a joué le même rôle au Concours national de musique Eckhardt-Gramatté. Mme Morlock est par ailleurs la compositrice en résidence de l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver depuis 2014, après avoir été compositrice en résidence de la série de concerts Music on Main (2012–2014), à Vancouver.

La plupart des compositions de Jocelyn Morlock sont destinées à de petits ensembles, plusieurs d’entre elles pour des combinaisons inhabituelles, telles piano et percussions (Quoi?), violoncelle et vibraphone (Shade), ou basson et harpe (Nightsong). Velcro Lizards a été composée pour un ensemble formé d’une clarinette ou d’une clarinette basse, d’une trompette, d’un violon et d’une contrebasse. Troisième œuvre de Morlock pour orchestre complet, Cobalt est une commande conjointe de l’Orchestre du CNA et de la CBC. La première mondiale a eu lieu à Ottawa le 30 avril 2009 dans le cadre du festival Scène C.-B., avec Alain Trudel au pupitre, ainsi que les violons solos Jonathan Crowe et Karl Stobbe. L’Orchestre a aussi créé en mai 2016 My Name is Amanda Todd, l’une des quatre œuvres commandées par le CNA pour le projet multimédia Réflexions sur la vie; cette œuvre a remporté le prix JUNO de la Composition classique de l'année en 2018. Earthfall a été interprété en première par l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver en 2016.

Le premier album de Mme Morlock, intitulé Cobalt, est paru en 2014 sous étiquette Centrediscs et comprend sept compositions. Il a obtenu trois nominations pour les Western Canadian Music Awards, dont celui de l’Album classique de l’année et celui de la Meilleure composition classique (qu’il a remporté).

La compositrice décrit ainsi l’œuvre éponyme d’une durée de sept minutes : « Le mot cobalt désigne à la fois une couleur, un minerai et un lutin et il suscite tout un kaléidoscope d’associations. En raison des dangers qu’il présente, le minerai a été baptisé du nom du Kobold, un lutin malicieux et parfois méchant du folklore germanique. Le cobalt est effectivement un métal magnétique et radioactif, qui peut être toxique en grandes quantités. C’est pourtant un élément qu’on trouve dans le corps humain et dans celui des animaux; en verrerie et en poterie, on peut créer un bleu vif grâce aux sels de cobalt, qui peuvent toutefois être mortels si on les touche à mains nues ou si on les inhale. Le cobalt lumineux du ciel, avant qu’il ne s’assombrisse pour la nuit, est l’une des plus belles couleurs que l’on puisse trouver dans la nature, et pourtant, il n’est visible que pendant quelques minutes chaque soir. Ce qui nourrit la vie peut aussi la détruire. La beauté est toujours éphémère, fugace. » 

« La musique que j’ai composée prend son inspiration dans la myriade de possibilités émotionnelles contrastantes qui sont toutes associées, d’une façon ou d’une autre, au cobalt. La peur, l’exubérance, la tranquillité, la beauté et l’impression mélancolique du temps qui passe sont autant d’aspects présents dans cette composition. Sur le plan musical, il s’agit en quelque sorte d’une série de variations; mais au lieu de faire des variations sur un même thème, j’ai choisi d’essentiellement varier les mélodies tonales centrées sur la seconde mineure. Comme le cobalt, la seconde mineure est ambiguë, étant donné qu’elle peut paraître inquiétante et menaçante (pensez à la musique des Dents de la mer), ou annonciatrice d’un événement, ou très déterminée (comme dans une cadence). Le motif de la fanfare revient aussi relativement fréquemment, puisque celui-ci peut aussi avoir des connotations à la fois angoissantes et excitantes, selon le contexte. »

Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Chopin

Concerto pour piano no 2 en fa mineur, opus 21

Zelazowa Wola, Pologne, le 1er mars 1810
Paris, le 17 octobre 1849

En juillet 1829, le jeune Chopin, alors âgé de 19 ans, passa trois semaines à Vienne. Encouragé par l’éditeur Haslinger, il donna un récital qui fut si bien accueilli qu’il fallut rapidement en organiser un deuxième, lequel connut un égal succès. De retour en Pologne, Chopin réalisa que s’il voulait faire carrière comme pianiste de concert (il changea bientôt d’avis), il lui fallait ajouter à son répertoire quelques importantes pièces de démonstration de sa propre composition. C’est ce qui l’incita à composer le Concerto pour piano en fa mineur, qui remporta un vif succès à sa création à Varsovie, le 17 mars 1830. En fait, le Concerto pour piano en fa mineur de Chopin, auquel on attribue le no 2, est son premier concerto, composé environ un an avant le Concerto en mi mineur. Les numéros des deux concertos ont été inversés, étant donné que le Concerto en mi mineur a été publié le premier, puisque les parties orchestrales du Concerto en fa mineur avaient étaient perdues et qu’il avait fallu les recopier.

Les concertos de Chopin doivent leur attrait à l’écriture pour piano : de douces mélodies lyriques, de caractère intime, avec des nuances expressives de couleurs et de dynamique, ayant un caractère improvisé, en raison de l’utilisation de techniques, telles le rubato, les arpèges et l’ornementation délicate des lignes mélodiques.

Les deux thèmes principaux du premier mouvement sont énoncés dans l’exposition orchestrale. Il s’agit d’une idée fortement rythmique de caractère quasi militaire (rythme que l’on retrouve dans de nombreux opéras italiens de l’époque) et d’un sujet plus lyrique de type bel canto énoncé par le chœur des bois dans une première de plusieurs heureuses utilisations de la couleur des bois dans ce concerto.

Le Larghetto est un nocturne d’une beauté divine et d’une poésie profonde. L’épisode central de ce mouvement de forme ternaire (ABA) perturbe momentanément les eaux calmes, mais l’atmosphère de douce rêverie est rétablie bien avant la fin du mouvement.

Le finale est un rondo imprégné de l’esprit et du rythme de la mazurka, danse paysanne polonaise de rythme ternaire caractérisée par un accent sur le troisième battement.

Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Schumann

Symphonie no 1 en si bémol majeur, opus 38, « Le Printemps »

Zwickau, 8 juin 1810
Endenich, 29 juillet 1856

Après s’être consacré presque exclusivement au piano pendant une décennie (de 1829 à 1839), puis au lied pendant une année (1840), Schumann se tourna résolument vers la musique orchestrale en 1841 (bien qu’il avait déjà fait une tentative avortée avec une symphonie en sol mineur en 1832). En l’espace de quatre jours seulement, du 23 au 26 janvier, il esquissa toute la symphonie et acheva l’orchestration un mois plus tard. Elle fut créée le 31 mars avec Mendelssohn au pupitre de l’Orchestre du Gewandhaus de Leipzig.

On peut se demander pourquoi cette symphonie a comme sous-titre « Le printemps », alors qu’elle fut composée en plein cœur de l’hiver. Cela s’explique probablement par le fait que Schumann ne faisait pas référence à la saison, mais plutôt à une sensation personnelle d’épanouissement – une période d’ardeur romantique, de bonne humeur et d’exubérance créative. Il venait tout juste d’épouser Clara Wieck quatre mois et demi avant de s’atteler à la composition de la symphonie. Une autre source d’inspiration, plus tangible celle-là, lui vint d’un poème d’Adolf Böttger. Le dernier vers de ce poème se lit comme suit : « Im Tale blüht der Frühling auf! » (« Dans la vallée fleurit le printemps! »), dont les mots correspondent à la fanfare d’ouverture de la symphonie.  

Sur la page de titre des esquisses originales au crayon (qui comptent désormais parmi les extraordinaires archives musicales de la Bibliothèque du Congrès de Washington DC), Schumann avait donné à chaque mouvement un sous-titre qui en révèle le contenu émotif : 

1)  Le début du printemps;
2)  La soirée;
3)  Joyeux compagnons;
4)  Le printemps à son apogée. 

Cependant, lorsque l’œuvre fut imprimée, Schumann supprima les sous-titres, sans doute parce qu’il ne voulait pas que les auditeurs abordent sa musique avec des indications programmatiques.  

Dans une lettre au compositeur Louis Spohr, Schumann explique qu’il avait composé la symphonie « dans l’humeur printanière qui se saisit de nous chaque année, probablement jusqu’à un âge avancé ». Il ajoute : « Mon intention n’était pas de décrire ou de dépeindre quoi que ce soit, mais je pense que le moment où j’ai écrit cette symphonie a certainement eu une influence sur le caractère de l’œuvre. » Et plus tard, le compositeur demandait, dans une lettre au chef d’orchestre Wilhelm Taubert : « Pouvez-vous faire en sorte que l’orchestre exprime dans son interprétation le désir de voir arriver le printemps? C’est ce que je ressentais le plus lorsque j’ai composé cette œuvre. » 

Le premier mouvement est introduit par la fanfare dont nous avons parlé plus haut. Schumann demandait qu’elle soit interprétée « comme venant d’en haut, comme un appel au réveil ». C’est également le thème principal de la section Allegro du mouvement et son motif énergique et rythmique y est bien présent. Le deuxième thème de caractère lyrique est énoncé par les bois.

Le mouvement Larghetto a la texture d’une tendre cantilène. Les violons énoncent un thème ample et gracieux, dont on pourrait dire qu’il est d’une « longueur divine », pour reprendre le compliment que Schumann avait adressé à la « Grande » Symphonie en do majeur de Schubert. Lorsque le thème est repris, vers la fin du mouvement, il est réorchestré pour cor et hautbois solos, mélange particulièrement heureux de couleurs tonales que Brahms exploitera lui-même dans un passage analogue, vers la fin du mouvement lent de sa première symphonie. 

Le scherzo comprend deux trios contrastant entre eux ainsi qu’avec le scherzo voisin. Le premier de ces trios est d’une longueur inhabituelle – 182 mesures par rapport au scherzo, qui ne contient que 96 mesures, y compris les répétitions.

Pratiquement sans pause après le scherzo, le finale débute par une autre fanfare, dont le motif est repris sous diverses formes mélodiques et rythmiques tout au long du mouvement. Un premier thème alerte confié aux violons et un vigoureux deuxième thème pour les bois et les cordes dans le mode mineur constituent les principaux éléments musicaux de base du mouvement. Un épisode bref, mais très imaginatif, créé par les deux cors solos, évoque un rêve sylvestre. Il est suivi par une brève cadence à la flûte qui mène à la récapitulation. La symphonie s’achève dans un abandon joyeux et sur une impression optimiste du monde.

Traduit d’après Robert Markow


Menu