Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2

February 2019

  1. Feb 13 2019
    Wednesday

    8:00pm

  2. Feb 14 2019
    Thursday

    8:00pm

Close
David Fray
“This is Chopin-playing of considerable seriousness and beauty.”-Gramophone magazine on David Fray’s 2017 Chopin album
  • Schumann Symphony No. 1, “Spring”
  • Jocelyn Morlock Cobalt
  • Chopin Piano Concerto No. 2

David Fray makes his highly-anticipated debut on the NAC stage. The pianist is making waves for his ability to contrast explosive, muscular moments on the keyboard with sweet and fading sentimentality.  Chopin’s Concerto No. 2 serves as the perfect introduction to Fray’s polished finesse and panache: Chopin composed it as a piece intended to showcase his talents wherever he went as a traveling virtuoso. Fray has a particular affinity for the composer, having released an album of his piano music in 2017. Not only does the pianist have this intimate connection to the music, but he has previously worked with Music Director, Alexander Shelley. Delight in a performance rich in harmony from the close ties between the music and musicians.

The evening begins with Yosuke Kawasaki and Jessica Linnebach, our NAC Orchestra concertmaster and associate concertmaster, playing a piece by the exciting Canadian composer Jocelyn Morlock. A previous NAC commission, Cobalt, for two violins and orchestra, is inspired by the night sky just before it becomes dark. Kawasaki has been playing the violin since the age of six and Linnebach since the age of three, and when they met on the NAC stage, it was a match made in heaven: the pair wed in 2012. Join the couple as they celebrate Valentine’s Day with you!

With Schumann’s “Spring” Symphony, you’ll be swept away by a breath of fresh air. To borrow from Shakespeare who could elicit, in but a few words, the universal longing for Spring and the hopeful romance of the season: 

“In the spring time, the only pretty ring time,
When birds do sing, hey ding a ding, ding;
Sweet lovers love the spring”

Robert Schumann’s 1st Symphony was inspired by a poem about Spring and love. Newlywed at the time and in a state of exuberant joy, Schumann created for the musicians the sensation of living within the emergence of spring when playing his symphony. The first trumpet call is a like a summons to awaken and the notes dance through the movements like a time lapse of nature coming back to life.

Be a part of history: the Schumann Symphony is part of an NAC Orchestra recording project, and both concerts will be recorded live for commercial release.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

11 Feb

12 Feb

13 Feb

  • 8:00 PM

14 Feb

  • 8:00 PM

15 Feb

16 Feb

17 Feb

Duration

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission.

David Fray
Alexander Shelley
Menu

David Fray
Musique
« C’est du Chopin abordé avec un sérieux et un sens du beau tout à fait admirables. » -Magazine Gramophone, sur l’album Chopin de David Fray paru en 2017
  • Schumann Symphonie no 1, « Le Printemps »
  • Jocelyn Morlock Cobalt
  • Chopin Concerto pour piano no 2

David Fray fait enfin ses débuts sur la scène du CNA. Le pianiste fait tourner bien des têtes par son habileté à mettre en parallèle les passages explosifs et musclés avec une sentimentalité empreinte de douceur et de tendresse. Le Concerto no 2 de Chopin est un parfait écrin pour faire ressortir le poli, la finesse et le panache de Fray : Chopin l’avait lui-même écrit pour mettre ses dons de virtuose en valeur quand il partait en tournée. Fray a des atomes crochus avec ce compositeur, auquel il a consacré un album en 2017. En plus d’entretenir ce lien intime avec la musique au programme, le pianiste a déjà travaillé avec le directeur musical Alexander Shelley. Une prestation richement harmonieuse grâce aux liens étroits qui unissent la musique à ses interprètes.

La soirée s’amorce avec Yosuke Kawasaki et Jessica Linnebach, respectivement violon solo et violon solo associée de notre Orchestre du CNA, dans une pièce de la brillante compositrice canadienne Jocelyn Morlock. Fruit d’une commande initiale du CNA, Cobalt pour deux violons et orchestre s’inspire du ciel à l’heure du crépuscule, juste avant la nuit. Kawasaki joue du violon depuis l’âge de six ans et Linnebach depuis l’âge de trois ans, et leur rencontre sur la scène du CNA a fait des étincelles : ils se sont mariés en 2012. Joignez-vous à ce couple talentueux pour célébrer la Saint-Valentin!

On reçoit la Symphonie « Le Printemps » de Schumann comme une bouffée d’air frais. Pour reprendre les mots de Shakespeare, qui pouvait évoquer comme personne, en peu de mots, l’attente universelle du printemps et les folles espérances qui s’y rattachent :

« Dans le printemps, le joli temps fertile,
Où les oiseaux chantent, eh! ding, ding, ding,
Tendres amants aiment le printemps. »

La Première symphonie de Robert Schumann lui a été inspirée par un poème sur le printemps et l’amour. Alors nouveau marié et euphorique, Schumann a su produire pour les musiciens la sensation de vivre l’éclosion du printemps en jouant cette symphonie. Le premier appel de trompette sonne comme un réveil, et les notes dansent à travers les mouvements comme la nature en suspens qui reprend vie.

Contribuez à écrire l’histoire : la Symphonie de Schumann s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un projet d’enregistrement de l’Orchestre du CNA, et les deux concerts seront enregistrés pour fins de diffusion commerciale. 

David Fray
Alexander Shelley
Menu