Lara Kramer

Windigo

I am profoundly moved and grateful for the opportunity to assemble these three Indigenous contemporary dance artists as part of our Face 2 Face series this year. Lara, Victoria and Jacob each explore deeply moving and personal stories in distinctive and remarkable ways.  

For Windigo, Montreal-based Lara Kramer conducted research at her grandmother’s home in northwestern Ontario’s Lac Seul Reserve. This visceral duet offers a raw and unflinching look at the suffering and destruction that results from violence against Indigenous peoples, as she confronts the deep traumas that permeate these histories. We’re proud to be one of many Canadian co-producers of Windigo.

Victoria Hunt’s Copper Promises – Hinemihi Haka – delves into her Māorian roots and the powerful story of the ceremonial meeting house and female ancestor Hinemihi. This solo is a journey of reconnection with one’s traditions and culture as told through movement, sound score and projections. 

And, Jacob Boehme’s Blood on the Dance Floor is a courageous and inspiring work that speaks about his own experience as a gay Aboriginal living with HIV. Drawing on the practices of his Narangga and Kaurna background, Boehme uses theatre, dance, ceremony and storytelling to weave this touching and powerful tale. 

Thank you for joining us to experience these immersive works, and Life in Motion.


Windigo

Fierce and visceral, Windigo resonates like a scream, the vibrant echo of a long history of human ransacking and destruction, a violation of a land and its culture. Returning to her grandmother’s home in the Lac Seul Reserve in northwestern Ontario, the Canadian choreo-grapher of mixed Oji-Cree and settler heritage Lara Kramer confronts a latent war lurking under the surface. A northern epic with the air of a post-apocalyptic ballad, Windigo exorcises the demons and undercurrents of the violence perpetrated against Indigenous peoples.

Overlapped mattresses slashed, ripped open by a knife, mutilated. A mishmash of resurrected objects, a breath of life in death. A no man’s land of destruction where Peter James and Jassem Hindi form a duo of wandering vagabonds, killing time and boredom, spewing out and sublimating their pain. A contemporary ceremonial, the piece plays with strong symbols, powerful metamorphoses and intense emotion, sowing the seeds of hope in the midst of overwhelming devastation.

About Lara Kramer Danse

Lara Kramer Danse is a Montreal-based dance company. Founded in 2012, Lara Kramer Danse was realized to support the research, creation and production of Lara Kramer’s choreographies. In addition the company builds a platform to support educational and community projects offered by Lara Kramer Danse.

Working with strong visuals and narrative, Kramer’s work pushes the strength and fragility of the human spirit. Her work is political and potent, often examining political issues surrounding Canada and First Nations Peoples.

In 2013, the company laid the groundwork for a community research project by developing relations in Lac Seul and Sioux Lookout, Ontario. In travelling north to her families blood land, Lara Kramer created Camp 19, a research project involving the connection and history of the treaty land, the learning of traditional skills and the long-term goal to continue to nourish these relations and exchanges in the north.

The company has been invited to perform at festivals across Canada and as far as Australia and New Zealand gaining recognition as an important voice from Canada.

- - - - -
Works by Lara Kramer Danse

Eating Bones and Licking Bread, 2018

Windigo, 2018

Phantom Stills & Vibrations, 2018

This Time Will be Different, 2017

Tame, 2015

NGS (Native Girl Syndrome), 2013

Of Good Moral Character, 2011

Fragments, 2009

The Indian Problem, 2008

Phantom Stills & Vibrations
Performance Art Exhibit by Lara Kramer

February 20-23 | Arts Court - ODD Studio B

Windigo: credits

Produced by: Lara Kramer Danse

Choreography, Set, Sound and Costume Design: Lara Kramer

Created with and performed by:  Jassem Hindi, Peter James

Sound Editing: Lara Kramer, Marc Meriläinen

Outside Eyes: Ida Baptiste, Stefan Petersen, Jacob Wren

Lighting Design : Paul Chambers

Technical Director: Jon Cleveland

Coproduced by: Festival TransAmériques, CanDance Creation Fund, National Arts Centre (Ottawa), Centre de Création O Vertigo (Montréal), Dancing on the Edge (Vancouver), Usine C (Montréal)

With the support of: The Cole Foundation

Technical residencies: Usine C, Centre de Création O Vertigo

Presented in association with: MAI, Espace Libre

Premiered at the Festival TransAmériques


Menu

Lara Kramer

Windigo

Je suis très émue et reconnaissante d’avoir la chance d’accueillir trois artistes de danse contemporaine autochtones dans le cadre de cette édition de Face à Face. Lara, Victoria et Jacob proposent une exploration unique et remarquable de récits éminemment personnels et émouvants.

Pour son duo viscéral Windigo, Lara Kramer puise son inspiration chez sa grand-mère, dans la Première Nation de Lac Seul, dans le Nord-Ouest de l’Ontario. La chorégraphe de Montréal met au jour, sans fard ni complaisance, les vestiges dévastateurs d’un passé porteur de violence envers les peuples autochtones. Nous sommes fiers de figurer parmi les nombreux coproducteurs canadiens de Windigo.  

Dans Copper Promises: Hinemihi Haka, Victoria Hunt explore son héritage māori et l’histoire marquante de son ancêtre Hinemihi, dont le nom est aussi celui d’un lieu de cérémonie māori. Son solo se veut un retour aux sources, à la culture et aux traditions, évoqué en mouvements, en sons et en images. 

Et le courageux et inspirant Blood on the Dance Floor de Jacob Boehme relate son expérience comme Aborigène atteint du VIH. S’inspirant de pratiques des nations Narungga et Kaurna, dont il est issu, Jacob raconte cette histoire à la fois puissante et touchante à travers le théâtre, la danse, la cérémonie et le conte. 

Merci d’explorer avec nous ces œuvres immersives, et la vie en mouvement.


Windigo

Féroce et viscéral, Windigo résonne en nous comme un cri, vibrant écho d’une longue histoire de saccage humain, de violation de la terre et de la culture. Revenue au pays de sa grand-mère, dans la réserve de Lac Seul, en Ontario, la chorégraphe canadienne d’origine ojibwée et crie Lara Kramer confronte le Nord à la réalité de la guerre larvée qui s’y joue. Épopée nordique aux airs de balade post-apocalyptique, Windigo exorcise les démons, ressacs d’une violence perpétrée à l’encontre des peuples autochtones.

Matelas éventrés au couteau, déchiquetés, chevauchés. Un capharnaüm d’objets réanimés, un souffle de vie dans la mort. Un no man’s land démantelé, où Peter James et Jassem Hindi forment un duo de vagabonds errants, survivants qui cherchent à tuer l’ennui, qui crachent et subliment leur douleur. Cérémonial contemporain, l’œuvre joue de symboles forts, de puissantes métamorphoses et d’émotions vives, semant l’espoir en plein cœur d’une destruction massive.

À propos de Lara Kramer Danse

Lara Kramer Danse (LKD) est une compagnie montréalaise fondée en 2012 pour soutenir la recherche, la création et la production des œuvres chorégraphiques de Lara Kramer. La compagnie offre également une plate-forme de soutien aux projets éducatifs et communautaires de sa chorégraphe. 

Imprégnées d’images et de récits percutants, les œuvres de Lara Kramer mettent à l’épreuve la force et la fragilité de l’esprit humain. Éloquentes et engagées, ses créations explorent souvent des enjeux politiques entourant le Canada et les Premières Nations. 

En 2013, la compagnie a jeté les bases d’un projet de recherche communautaire en développant des relations au Lac Seul et à Sioux Lookout en Ontario. Voyageant vers le Nord et les terres ancestrales de ses familles, Lara Kramer a créé Camp 19, un projet de recherche sur la connexion ainsi que l’histoire entourant cette terre cédée en vertu d’un traité, l’apprentissage des compétences traditionnelles et l’objectif à long terme de continuer à nourrir ces relations et échanges dans le Nord.

La compagnie a été invitée à se produire dans des festivals à Montréal, Ottawa, Toronto, Regina, Edmonton et Vancouver. LKD est reconnue comme une importante voix autochtone au Canada. 

- - - - -
Œuvres de Lara Kramer Danse

Eating Bones and Licking Bread, 2018

Windigo, 2018

Phantom Stills & Vibrations, 2018

This Time Will be Different, 2017

Tame, 2015

NGS (Native Girl Syndrome), 2013

Of Good Moral Character, 2011

Fragments, 2009

The Indian Problem, 2008

Phantom Stills & Vibrations
Une exposition-performance de Lara Kramer

20-23 février | Cour des arts - Studio B du CDC

Windigo : crédits

Un spectacle de : Lara Kramer Danse

Chorégraphie, scénographie, conception sonore et costumes : Lara Kramer

Collaboration et interprétation : Jassem Hindi, Peter James

Montage sonore : Lara Kramer, Marc Meriläinen

Regard extérieur : Ida Baptiste, Stefan Petersen, Jacob Wren

Lumières : Paul Chambers

Direction technique : Jon Cleveland

Coproduction : Festival TransAmériques, Fonds de création CanDanse, Centre national des Arts (Ottawa), Centre de Création O Vertigo (Montréal), Dancing on the Edge (Vancouver), Usine C (Montréal)

Avec le soutien de : The Cole Foundation

Résidences techniques : Usine C, Centre de Création O Vertigo

Présentation en collaboration avec : MAI, Espace Libre

Création au Festival TransAmériques


Menu