Phantom Stills & Vibrations

By Lara Kramer

February 2019

  1. Feb 20 2019
    Wednesday

    5:00pm

  2. Feb 21 2019
    Thursday

    12:00pm

  3. Feb 22 2019
    Friday

    12:00pm

  4. Feb 23 2019
    Saturday

    10:00am

Close
Arts Court - ODD Studio B 2 Daly Ave Ottawa Canada
Dance Cross-disciplinary Visual Arts

The exhibit Phantom Stills & Vibrations is part of the NAC Dance Face 2 Face series (Feb 21-23) which features three indigenous contemporary creators: Lara KramerJacob Boehme (ILBIJERRI Theatre Company) and Victoria Hunt.  

Exhibit Hours

Wednesday, February 20: 5-9 p.m.
Thursday, February 21: 12-9 p.m.
Friday, February 22: 12-9 p.m.
Saturday, February 23: 10-8 p.m.

30-minute performance by Lara Kramer
Wednesday, February 20: 5:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 23: 3 p.m.

About the exhibit

Places and bodies – broken, betrayed, defiled. Secret, hidden stories gush to the surface in Phantom Stills & Vibrations, an immersive experience that looks to the former Pelican Falls Indian residential school in Sioux Lookout in northwestern Ontario where three generations of her family were forced to attend. A cultural genocide that continues, that leaves traces and open wounds. Inspired by visits to the land of her ancestors, choreographer Lara Kramer has crafted a performance art exhibit in collaboration with Stefan Petersen, a reminder of the repercussions of the traumas passed on from generation to generation.

A photograph of the former residential school (now a high school) and a soundscape of the north underpin a minimalist performance. Kramer portrays the excruciating reality of abused children and questions the possibility of moving forward. How can there be a rebuilding when violence is perpetuated? The exhibit stirs, disturbs, leads to reflection and meditation. A work of essential, powerful remembrance.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

18 Feb

19 Feb

20 Feb

  • 5:00 PM

21 Feb

  • 12:00 PM

22 Feb

  • 12:00 PM

23 Feb

  • 10:00 AM

24 Feb

Artists

  • Conceived and choreographed by Lara Kramer
  • Produced by Lara Kramer Danse
  • Created and performed by Lara Kramer & Stefan Petersen
  • Sound Recording and Mixing Lara Kramer
  • Sound Editing Marc Meriläinen
  • Outside Eye Ida Baptiste
  • Written by Elsa Pépin
  • Coproduction Fonderie Darling & the National Arts Centre
  • With the support of Trent University Ashley Fellowship Diffusion MAI
Menu

Phantom Stills & Vibrations

Une exposition-performance de Lara Kramer

Cet événement est passé
Danse Interdisciplinaire Arts visuels

L'exposition Phantom Stills & Vibrations de Lara Kramer est présentée dans le cadre de la série Face à Face (21 au 23 février) de Danse CNA qui présente cette année trois artistes, tous des créateurs autochtones contemporains. Les artistes sont : Lara Kramer, Jacob Boehme (ILBIJERRI Theatre Company) et Victoria Hunt.  

Horaire 

Le mercredi 20 février : 17 h - 21 h 
Le jeudi 21 février : 12 h - 21 h 
Le vendredi 22 février : 12 h - 21 h 
Le samedi 23 février : 10 h - 20 h

Prestation de 30 minutes par Lara Kramer
Le mercredi 20 février : 17 h 30
Le samedi 23 février : 15 h 

Au sujet de l'exposition

Des lieux, des corps, trahis, profanés. Des histoires cachées, invisibles, remontent à la surface dans Phantom Stills & Vibrations, une expérience immersive rendant hommage aux victimes de l’ancien pensionnat autochtone Pelican Falls, à Sioux Lookout, en Ontario. Un génocide culturel qui se poursuit, laisse des traces, des cicatrices ouvertes. Inspirée par son retour sur la terre de ses ancêtres, la chorégraphe Lara Kramer imagine une exposition-performance, en collaboration avec Stefan Petersen, rappelant les répercussions de traumatismes transmis de génération en génération.

Une photographie de l’ancien pensionnat reconverti en école secondaire, des sons nordiques et, par moments, une performance minimaliste. Kramer témoigne de l’accablante réalité d’une jeunesse abusée et remet en question les possibilités d’avancer. Comment reconstruire alors que le cycle de la violence se perpétue ? L’exposition éveille, bouscule, invite à méditer. Une œuvre de mémoire pénétrante et essentielle.

Artistes

  • Conception et chorégraphie de Lara Kramer
  • Une exposition de Lara Kramer Danse
  • Création et interprétation Lara Kramer & Stefan Petersen
  • Enregistrement sonore et mixage Lara Kramer
  • Montage sonore Marc Meriläinen
  • Regard extérieur Ida Baptiste
  • Rédaction Elsa Pépin
  • Coproduction Fonderie Darling & le Centre national des Arts
  • Avec le soutien de Trent University Ashley Fellowship Diffusion MAI
Menu