June 30, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Canada’s NAC Orchestra in Shanghai

2013-10-19 19:30 2013-10-19 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Canada’s NAC Orchestra in Shanghai

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/6908

A major send-off concert awaits Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra on this final leg of an amazing tour of China and Hong Kong! This final stellar concert on its first China Tour in its 44-year history means the Orchestra is ready to express its fullest, most composed and thoughtful reflection of the tour.

It will be a concert of great powerful sound and intimate moments of carefully-wrought detail – all performed by more than 80 musicians from...

Read more

Shanghai Concert Hall,Shanghai,China
Saturday, October 19, 2013
7:30 PM EDT
Shanghai Concert Hall Shanghai China
This event has passed
Music

A major send-off concert awaits Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra on this final leg of an amazing tour of China and Hong Kong! This final stellar concert on its first China Tour in its 44-year history means the Orchestra is ready to express its fullest, most composed and thoughtful reflection of the tour.

It will be a concert of great powerful sound and intimate moments of carefully-wrought detail – all performed by more than 80 musicians from Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra, internationally-renowned soloists, and Music Director and solo violin virtuoso Pinchas Zukerman.

This Shanghai concert will be the pinnacle of a successful musical exchange between some of the most highly-regarded artists on the planet. The musicians of the National Arts Centre Orchestra will tour schools and concert halls in Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Chongqing, Fuling, Tianjin, Beijing, and now, Shanghai, throughout October. With the support of Honorary Patron Richard Li and Presenting Partner Aimia , the NAC Orchestra will perform 8 major concerts between October 4 and 21, with more than 80 education and outreach activities and five international broadband videoconference events linking young musicians in Canada and China.

For Shanghai audiences, there is one last detail to watch for: experience a new Canadian sound in John Estacio’s composition for the National Arts Centre Orchestra, titled Brio: Toccata and Fantasy for Orchestra . And, because John Estacio will be present in the hall at the concert; see how the composer is always working! A rehearsal by an orchestra with the composer is an exciting part of an evolving creative endeavour, and pencils are always standing by at the ready; a pause, a marking of emphasis, could be just the addition that the composer hears and adds that day. Come and hear Canada’s national Orchestra in China – live musical performance at its best and brightest.

Pinchas Zukerman © Photo: Cheryl Mazak
John Estacio © Photo: Wade Kelly
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 mai 2021.

Orchestre du CNA du Canada à Shanghai

19 h 30 HAE
Salle de concert de Shanghai
Cet événement est passé
Musique

Un concert d’adieu mémorable attend l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada à cette ultime étape d’une extraordinaire Tournée en Chine amorcée à Hong Kong! Pour ce dernier concert de sa toute première tournée en Chine en 44 ans d’existence, l’Orchestre donnera assurément le meilleur de lui-même, dans toute la plénitude de sa pensée et de son équilibre.

Ce concert offrira de puissantes sonorités et des moments intimes finement ouvragés, aux mains expertes de plus de 80 musiciens dont les membres de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada, des solistes de renommée internationale, et le directeur musical de l’Orchestre et violoniste virtuose Pinchas Zukerman.

Ce concert à Shanghai marquera le point culminant d’un fructueux échange musical entre quelques-uns des plus éminents artistes de la planète. Les musiciens de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts auront consacré tout le mois d’octobre à tourner dans des écoles et des salles de concert de Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Chongqing, Fuling, Tianjin, Beijing et, finalement, Shanghai. Avec l’appui du parrain d’honneur Richard Li et du partenaire présentateur Aimia, l’Orchestre du CNA donne huit grands concerts entre le 4 et le 21 octobre, en plus d’offrir au-delà de 80 activités éducatives et de rayonnement et cinq vidéoconférences sur large bande reliant de jeunes musiciens du Canada et de la Chine.

Pour le public de Shanghai, il y aura un détail supplémentaire à observer : la découverte d’un nouveau son canadien à travers la composition de John Estacio pour l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, intitulée Brio : Toccata et fantaisie pour orchestre. Et puisque le compositeur sera présent dans la salle au moment du concert, il sera intéressant d’observer son travail! Une répétition d’orchestre en présence d’un compositeur offre toujours une incursion passionnante dans une démarche créatrice en pleine évolution. M. Estacio garde toujours ses partitions et crayons à portée de la main; à tout moment, il est susceptible d’ajouter une pause ici, une accentuation là. Venez entendre l’Orchestre national du Canada en Chine – la musique en direct à son meilleur brillera de tous ses feux.

Pinchas Zukerman © Photo: Cheryl Mazak
John Estacio © Photo : Wade Kelly
Menu