© Curtis Perry

Canada Day Concert 2023

with the NAC Orchestra and special guests

2023-07-01 14:30 2023-07-01 16:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Canada Day Concert 2023

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/34505

In-person event

Happy Canada Day! On July 1, join us for a free concert downtown in the nation’s capital. Alexander Shelley will lead the NAC Orchestra featuring JUNO Award-winning artist iskwē, mezzo soprano Alex Hetherington, and the bilingual slam poet and songwriter YAO. Did we mention this concert is absolutely FREE? No need for tickets or registrations. The Canada Day Concert is a yearly tradition that always brings together music lovers of all ages and creates unforgettable memories. The NAC...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, July 1, 2023
2:30 PM EDT
This event has passed
© Curtis Perry
Special Events Music Canadian Holidays Summer events
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • ≈ 75 minutes · No intermission

Happy Canada Day! On July 1, join us for a free concert downtown in the nation’s capital. Alexander Shelley will lead the NAC Orchestra featuring JUNO Award-winning artist iskwē, mezzo soprano Alex Hetherington, and the bilingual slam poet and songwriter YAO.

Did we mention this concert is absolutely FREE? No need for tickets or registrations. The Canada Day Concert is a yearly tradition that always brings together music lovers of all ages and creates unforgettable memories.

The NAC Orchestra  will also be performing music by great Canadian composers like Iman Habibi, Rita Ueda, and Ana Sokolović. The concert will conclude with Hymn to Freedom, by the late, great Oscar Peterson, and more exciting repertoire will be announced from the stage. Don’t miss this rare opportunity to come together once again to share in our love of music with some of Canada’s finest young musicians shining from the Southam Hall stage.

Getting Here

Public Transit: There will be free service on OC Transpo buses, O-Train Line 1, and Para Transpo all day on Canada Day.

Traffic & Parking: While some roads will be closed downtown, the NAC building and parking garage will remain accessible. Please visit the City of Ottawa website for the latest updates.

Artists

  • dscf9130-curtis-perry-2-cropped
    Conductor Alexander Shelley
  • bio-orchestra
    Featuring NAC Orchestra
  • Featuring Alex Hetherington
  • iskwe
    Featuring iskwē | ᐃᐢᑫᐧᐤ
  • Featuring YAO
  • Ewashko Singers Choir
    Choir Ewashko Singers
  • ccc
    Choir Capital Chamber Choir

Concert de la fête du Canada 2023

avec l'Orchestre du CNA et des invités spéciaux

2023-07-01 14:30 2023-07-01 16:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Concert de la fête du Canada 2023

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/34505

Événement en personne

Bonne fête du Canada! Le 1er juillet, venez assister à un concert gratuit dans le centre-ville de la capitale nationale. Alexander Shelley dirigera l’Orchestre du CNA avec l’auteure-compositrice-interprète primée aux prix JUNO iskwē, la mezzo-soprano Alex Hetherington, et le slameur, poète et auteur-compositeur bilingue YAO. Et la bonne nouvelle, c’est que le concert est complètement gratuit! Nul besoin de billet ni de...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
sam 1 juillet 2023
14 h 30 HAE
Cet événement est passé
© Curtis Perry
Événements spéciaux Musique Canadien Fêtes été
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • ≈ 75 minutes · Sans entracte

Bonne fête du Canada! Le 1er juillet, venez assister à un concert gratuit dans le centre-ville de la capitale nationale. Alexander Shelley dirigera l’Orchestre du CNA avec l’auteure-compositrice-interprète primée aux prix JUNO iskwē, la mezzo-soprano Alex Hetherington, et le slameur, poète et auteur-compositeur bilingue YAO.

Et la bonne nouvelle, c’est que le concert est complètement gratuit! Nul besoin de billet ni de réservation. Le concert de la fête du Canada est une tradition annuelle qui saura ravir les mélomanes de tous âges.

L’Orchestre du CNA partagera la scène avec une pléiade de jeunes voix et instrumentistes de chez nous, qui interpréteront des œuvres de célèbres compositrice et compositeurs du Canada, comme Iman Habibi, Rita Ueda, et Ana Sokolović. Le concert se clôturera sur l’Hymne à la liberté, du regretté Oscar Peterson. D’autres œuvres d’exception seront annoncées sur scène le jour même! Ne manquez pas cette chance exceptionnelle de vous rassembler pour profiter de la magie de la musique en compagnie des talents musicaux les plus prometteurs au Canada.

Comment se rendre

Transport en commun: Les autobus, la ligne 1 du O-Train et Para Transpo d’OC Transpo seront gratuits pendant toute la journée.

Circulation et stationnement: Bien qu’on prévoie des perturbations à la circulation au centre-ville d’Ottawa, l’édifice et le stationnement du CNA demeureront accessibles. Veuillez visiter le site de la Ville d’Ottawa pour des mises à jour.

Artistes

  • Chef d'orchestre Alexander Shelley
  • Avec Orchestre du CNA
  • Avec Alex Hetherington
  • Avec iskwē | ᐃᐢᑫᐧᐤ
  • Avec YAO
  • Choeur Ewashko
    Choeur Ewashko Singers
  • Choeur Capital Chamber Choir