Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve

Presented by the Janice & Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence

Gimeno & Toronto Symphony Orchestra with Emily D'Angelo

Great Performers Series

2024-05-05 20:00 2024-05-05 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Gimeno & Toronto Symphony Orchestra with Emily D'Angelo

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33730

In-person event

For one night only, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (TSO) takes the stage of Southam Hall, joined by acclaimed Italian Canadian mezzo-soprano Emily D’Angelo, who will perform music from her 2021 album enargeia, released on Deutsche Grammophon. “One of the world’s special young singers,” “wondrous and powerful” (The New York Times), winner of the 2020 Lincoln Center Emerging Artist award, one of Canada’s “Top 30 under 30”: these are just a few...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Sun, May 5, 2024
8 PM EDT
Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve
mark-pillai
Emily D’Angelo © Mark Pillai
Music Classical music Masterworks Vocal
  • ALISON YUN-FEI JIANG Illumination
  • Hildegard von Bingen, Hildur Guðnadóttir, Missy Mazzoli & Sarah Kirkland Snider/arr. Jarkko Riihimäk enargeia
  • JOHANNES BRAHMS Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
mark-pillai
Emily D’Angelo © Mark Pillai

For one night only, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (TSO) takes the stage of Southam Hall, joined by acclaimed Italian Canadian mezzo-soprano Emily D’Angelo, who will perform music from her 2021 album enargeia, released on Deutsche Grammophon.

“One of the world’s special young singers,” “wondrous and powerful” (The New York Times), winner of the 2020 Lincoln Center Emerging Artist award, one of Canada’s “Top 30 under 30”: these are just a few of the accolades Emily D’Angelo has collected in her short career. In this concert, D’Angelo performs works from her hauntingly beautiful album enargeia. The concept of “enargeia” refers to “a description so vivid it seems to conjure its subject into being.”

Chinese Canadian composer Alison Yun-Fei Jiang is the TSO’s RBC Affiliate Composer and was a Carrefour Composer-in-Residence with the National Arts Centre Orchestra from 2020 to 2022. Tonight, the TSO performs a new work she composed exclusively for them.

Johannes Brahms struggled under the weight of Beethoven’s monumental reputation, grappling with the expectation from many that he was the natural inheritor of Beethoven’s crown. He spent at least 14 years composing his Symphony No. 1, taking it through radical changes and incarnations that included reworking it as his first piano concerto. Listen in the fourth movement for a theme that sounds very much like Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy” (from Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9). To the people who were quick to point out the similarities, Brahms is alleged to have said, “Any a** can see that.”

Artists

  • Conductor Gustavo Gimeno
  • emily-dangelo
    mezzo-soprano Emily D’Angelo
  • tso-logo
    Featuring Toronto Symphony Orchestra

Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve

Présentée par Le Fonds Janice et Earle O'Born pour l’excellence dans les arts de la scène

Gimeno et l‘Orchestre Symphonique de Toronto

Avec Emily D'Angelo

2024-05-05 20:00 2024-05-05 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Gimeno et l‘Orchestre Symphonique de Toronto

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33730

Événement en personne

Pour une soirée unique, l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto (TSO) monte sur scène à la Salle Southam, accompagné de la renommée mezzo-soprano italo-canadienne Emily D’Angelo, qui interprétera des morceaux de son album enargeia, sorti en 2021 sous l’étiquette Deutsche Grammophon. « L’une des jeunes interprètes les plus spéciales en ce monde », « puissante et...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
dimanche 5 mai 2024
20 h HAE
Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve
Emily D’Angelo © Mark Pillai
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Voix
  • ALISON YUN-FEI JIANG Illumination
  • Hildegard von Bingen, Hildur Guðnadóttir, Missy Mazzoli & Sarah Kirkland Snider/arr. Jarkko Riihimäki enargeia
  • JOHANNES BRAHMS Symphonie no 1 en do mineur, op. 68
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Pour une soirée unique, l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto (TSO) monte sur scène à la Salle Southam, accompagné de la renommée mezzo-soprano italo-canadienne Emily D’Angelo, qui interprétera des morceaux de son album enargeia, sorti en 2021 sous l’étiquette Deutsche Grammophon.

« L’une des jeunes interprètes les plus spéciales en ce monde », « puissante et prodigieuse » (The New York Times), lauréate du prix Lincoln Center pour les artistes émergents en 2020, l’une des 30 meilleures artistes de moins de 30 ans au Canada : voilà seulement quelques-unes des distinctions dont Emily D’Angelo a été décorée depuis le début de sa jeune carrière. Dans ce concert, elle interprète des extraits de son magnifique et envoûtant album enargeia, dont le nom renvoie à « une description si saisissante qu’elle semble donner vie à son sujet ».

La compositrice sino-canadienne Alison Yun-Fei Jiang est la compositrice associée de RBC au TSO. De 2020 à 2022, elle était compositrice Carrefour en résidence à l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts. Ce soir, le TSO interprète une nouvelle œuvre qu’elle a composée spécialement pour lui.

Toute sa carrière, Johannes Brahms a croulé sous le poids de la réputation monumentale de Beethoven, dont il était vu comme l’héritier naturel. Brahms a mis au moins 14 ans à composer sa Symphonie no 1, qu’il a fait passer par toutes sortes d’incarnations et de changements radicaux, notamment en la retravaillant au point d’en faire son premier concerto pour piano. Dans le quatrième mouvement, gardez l’oreille attentive à un thème qui ressemble beaucoup à l’« Hymne à la joie » (Symphonie no 9 de Beethoven). Aux personnes qui n’ont pas manqué de le souligner, Brahms aurait répondu que n’importe quel idiot pouvait s’en apercevoir…!

Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve
Emily D’Angelo © Mark Pillai

Artistes

  • Chef d'orchestre Gustavo Gimeno
  • mezzo-soprano Emily D’Angelo
  • Avec Orchestre symphonique de Toronto