Aria Evans © Taylor Long

Matriarchs Uprising

Samantha Sutherland & Aria Evans (Program B)

2023-04-14 20:00 2023-04-14 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Matriarchs Uprising

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31955

In-person event

Curated by Olivia C. Davies, Matriarchs Uprising is a unique festival of exchange and sharing through dance and performances, workshops and conversation. The festival creates a platform for Indigenous women who are nurturing the art of Contemporary Indigenous dance and storytelling, while holding space for past, present and future. Two curated mixed programs will be presented in the Azrieli Studio over two nights. Special package pricing is available for both shows!  Program B -April 14,...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, April 14, 2023
8 PM EDT
Aria Evans © Taylor Long
Samantha Sutherland © Zachary Cardwell
Indigenous arts Dance Contemporary
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 42 minutes · No intermission

Curated by Olivia C. Davies, Matriarchs Uprising is a unique festival of exchange and sharing through dance and performances, workshops and conversation. The festival creates a platform for Indigenous women who are nurturing the art of Contemporary Indigenous dance and storytelling, while holding space for past, present and future. Two curated mixed programs will be presented in the Azrieli Studio over two nights. Special package pricing is available for both shows! 

Program B -April 14, 2023
Samantha Sutherland ȼ̓inaⱡ upxamik 
&

Aria Evans Midline 

On April 14, Program B will present the work of Samantha Sutherland entitled ȼ̓inaⱡ upxamik and Aria Evans’s Midline. To learn more about April 13 Program A, click here.  

In ȼ̓inaⱡ upxamik, Samantha Sutherland delves into the feelings and emotions that arose as she began to question why Indigenous culture is important in her life.  It contrasts feeling fear of embarking on a vulnerable journey and feeling excited for the lessons that come forth.  She looks at her own preconceived notions of what being in touch with culture truly means for her. 

Midline is a choreographic study created and performed by Aria Evans. It seeks to understand the science behind scar tissue and investigates the scars we choose, the scars that are accidents and the scars that save our lives. Through text and movement, Aria tackles these questions that highlight the endurance of the human body. 

Aria Evans © Taylor Long
Samantha Sutherland © Zachary Cardwell

Artists

Menu

Aria Evans © Taylor Long

Matriarchs Uprising

Samantha Sutherland & Aria Evans (Programme B)

2023-04-14 20:00 2023-04-14 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Matriarchs Uprising

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31955

Événement en personne

Programmé par Olivia C. Davies, Matriarchs Uprising (« l’éveil des matriarches ») est un festival d’échange et de partage à travers des spectacles de danse, des ateliers et des discussions. Le festival offre une plateforme aux femmes autochtones qui cultivent l’art de la danse et des contes autochtones contemporains, dans un espace où le passé, le présent et l’avenir se côtoient. Deux...

Read more

Studio Azrieli ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
vendredi 14 avril 2023
20 h HAE
Aria Evans © Taylor Long
Samantha Sutherland © Zachary Cardwell
Arts autochtones Danse Contemporaine
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 42 minutes · Sans entracte

Programmé par Olivia C. Davies, Matriarchs Uprising (« l’éveil des matriarches ») est un festival d’échange et de partage à travers des spectacles de danse, des ateliers et des discussions. Le festival offre une plateforme aux femmes autochtones qui cultivent l’art de la danse et des contes autochtones contemporains, dans un espace où le passé, le présent et l’avenir se côtoient. Deux programmes mixtes seront présentés au Studio Azrieli pendant deux soirs. Un forfait spécial vous permet de voir les deux spectacles à prix réduit. 

Programme B - 14 avril 2023
Samantha Sutherland ȼ̓inaⱡ upxamik 
et
Aria Evans Midline 

 

Le 14 avril, le Programme B proposera ȼ̓inaⱡ upxamik, de Samantha Sutherland, et Midline d’Aria Evans. Pour en savoir plus sur le Programme A, qui aura lieu le 13 avril, cliquez ici.

Dans ȼ̓inaⱡ upxamik, Samantha Sutherland se penche sur les sentiments et les émotions qui l’ont envahie lorsqu’elle a commencé à s’interroger sur l’importance de la culture autochtone dans sa vie. L’œuvre met en contraste la peur de se sentir vulnérable pendant cette quête et l’enthousiasme à l’égard des apprentissages qui pourraient en découler. Elle examine ses propres idées préconçues sur la préservation d’un lien avec sa culture et ce que cela signifie réellement pour elle.  

Midline est une étude chorégraphique créée et interprétée par Aria Evans, qui cherche à percer le mystère du tissu cicatriciel et s’interroge sur les cicatrices que nous choisissons, celles qui sont accidentelles et celles qui nous sauvent la vie. À l’aide de textes et de mouvements, Aria tente de répondre à ces questions qui mettent en relief la résistance du corps humain. 

Aria Evans © Taylor Long
Samantha Sutherland © Zachary Cardwell

Artistes

Menu