SONOSPHERE © Angela Rawlings

Sonosphere

SPHERE Festival - Installation

2022-09-22 08:00 2022-09-25 20:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Sonosphere

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31901

In-person event

In a performance of synaesthesia, the Lantern features four videos of ecosystem components interacting with musical instruments that evoke an inaudible auditory imagining for the viewer. How does a sandstorm play a trumpet? How might a moth sound a violin’s strings? How can glacial melt percuss timpani mallets? How would a fumarole play a flute? As macro-video art created for NACO’s SPHERE Festival and the Kipnes Lantern, Sonosphere pairs Icelandic ecosystems with symphony...

Read more

Kipnes Lantern,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
September 22 - 25, 2022
This event has passed
SONOSPHERE © Angela Rawlings
Music Exhibitions & installations Visual Arts Festival events
“Sand blows across a stranded trumpet. A winter moth scales a violin. Glacier meltwater percusses a timpani mallet. Sulphur steams through a flute.”
  • In-person event

World Premiere

In a performance of synaesthesia, the Lantern features four videos of ecosystem components interacting with musical instruments that evoke an inaudible auditory imagining for the viewer.

How does a sandstorm play a trumpet? How might a moth sound a violin’s strings? How can glacial melt percuss timpani mallets? How would a fumarole play a flute?

As macro-video art created for NACO’s SPHERE Festival and the Kipnes Lantern, Sonosphere pairs Icelandic ecosystems with symphony orchestra instruments. The grand scale of the Lantern’s video façade juxtaposes with the macro-intimacy of sandstorm, moth, meltwater, geothermal steam, and musicians caressing their instruments.

Each Icelandic ecosystem emphasizes components from one of the four primary planetary systems (lithosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere, atmosphere). Selected from within each of the four orchestra instrument families (brass, strings, percussion, woodwinds), a musical instrument is then played by an ecosystem component. In situ videos are shot in summer 2022 at Icelandic geographic phenomena—black-sand beach, moss-covered lava field, melting glacier, and sulphuric fumarole.

- Discover those videos on the Kipnes Lantern during SPHERE festival -

SONOSPHERE © Angela Rawlings

Artists

Menu

SONOSPHERE © Angela Rawlings

Sonosphère

Festival SPHÈRE - Installation

2022-09-22 08:00 2022-09-25 20:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Sonosphère

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31901

Événement en personne

Dans un moment de synesthésie, la Lanterne rassemble quatre vidéos d’interactions entre des composantes de notre écosystème et des instruments de musique qui évoquent un imaginaire inaudible pour les spectateurs. Comment une tempête de sable jouerait-elle de la trompette? Comment sonnerait un papillon nocturne sur les cordes d’un violon? Comment la fonte des glaces ferait-elle résonner les baguettes d’une timbale? Comment une...

Read more

Lanterne Kipnes ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
22 - 25 septembre 2022
Cet événement est passé
SONOSPHERE © Angela Rawlings
Musique Expositions Arts visuels Festival
«Le sable souffle sur une trompette échouée. Une phalène brumeuse escalade un violon. La neige fondue des glaciers tambourine sur les baguettes d’une timbale. Du soufre s’évapore dans une flûte»

Artistes en vedette

  • Événement en personne

Première mondiale

Dans un moment de synesthésie, la Lanterne rassemble quatre vidéos d’interactions entre des composantes de notre écosystème et des instruments de musique qui évoquent un imaginaire inaudible pour les spectateurs.

Comment une tempête de sable jouerait-elle de la trompette? Comment sonnerait un papillon nocturne sur les cordes d’un violon? Comment la fonte des glaces ferait-elle résonner les baguettes d’une timbale? Comment une fumerolle ferait-elle chanter une flûte?

Macro-vidéo créée pour le festival SPHÈRE de l’Orchestre du CNA et pour la Lanterne Kipnes, Sonosphère marie les écosystèmes islandais et les instruments de l’orchestre symphonique. L’immense façade vidéo de Lanterne juxtapose la macro-intimité d’une tempête de sable, d’un papillon nocturne, de la neige fondue et de la vapeur géothermique avec des musiciens frôlant leurs instruments.

Chaque écosystème islandais met l’accent sur les composantes d’un des quatre systèmes primaires de la planète (lithosphère, biosphère, hydrosphère, atmosphère). Chaque système est associé à un instrument parmi les quatre familles qui composent l’orchestre (les cuivres, les cordes, les percussions et les bois). Les vidéos in situ ont été tournées en été 2022 au milieu de phénomènes géographiques islandais : une plage de sable noir, un champ de lave recouvert de mousse, un glacier en pleine fonte et une fumerolle sulfurique.  

- Découvrez ces vidéos sur la Lanterne Kipnes durant le festival SPHÈRE -

SONOSPHERE © Angela Rawlings

Artistes

Menu