Arctic Imagination

Arctic Imagination - Talks Series

SPHERE / Katherine Richardson & Angela Rawlings

2022-09-21 19:00 2022-09-21 20:15 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Arctic Imagination - Talks Series

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31807

In-person event

In English / ​Live translation in French  Co-hosted by the Royal Danish Library and the NAC Orchestra as part of the SPHERE Festival, Arctic Imagination is a not-to-be-missed speaker series pressing discussions on the transformation of the Arctic as the ice disappears — and the implications of climate change for geopolitics and human civilization as we know it.  Speakers: Katherine Richardson  Dr. Katherine Richardson has been in, on, or near to the sea...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Wednesday, September 21, 2022
7 PM EDT
Arctic Imagination
Talks Festival events
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • ≈ 1h15 · No intermission

In English / ​Live translation in French 

Co-hosted by the Royal Danish Library and the NAC Orchestra as part of the SPHERE Festival, Arctic Imagination is a not-to-be-missed speaker series pressing discussions on the transformation of the Arctic as the ice disappears — and the implications of climate change for geopolitics and human civilization as we know it. 

Speakers:

Katherine Richardson 

Dr. Katherine Richardson has been in, on, or near to the sea all her life! A Professor in Biological Oceanography with the University of Copenhagen, Katherine’s scientific career spans meticulous studies of the smallest parts of the sea and carbon cycles in the world’s oceans to studies of biodiversity and interactions between humans, plants, animals, and climate. Her research focuses on the importance of biological processes in the ocean for the uptake of CO2 from the atmosphere, and how ocean biology, including diversity, contributes to ocean function in the Earth System. 

Angela Rawlings 

Dr. Angela Rawlings is a Canadian-Icelandic interdisciplinary artist-researcher who works with languages as dominant exploratory material. Their practice seeks and interrogates relationality between bodies—be they human, more-than-human, other-than, non. Meditating on languages as inescapable lenses of human engagement, Rawlings’ methods over the past twenty years have included sensorial poetries, vocal and contact improvisation, theatre of the rural, and conversations with landscapes. 

Arctic Imagination
Menu

Arctic Imagination

Arctic Imagination - Conférences

SPHÈRE / Katherine Richardson & Angela Rawlings

2022-09-21 19:00 2022-09-21 20:15 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Arctic Imagination - Conférences

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31807

Événement en personne

En anglais / Traduction simultanée en français Arctic Imagination est une série de conférences à ne pas manquer, présentée par la Bibliothèque royale du Danemark et l'Orchestre du CNA dans le cadre du Festival SPHÈRE, visant a raviver plusieurs discussions pressantes concernant la transformation de l’Arctique – qui voit sa glace disparaître – et les conséquences des changements...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mercredi 21 septembre 2022
19 h HAE
Cet événement est passé
Arctic Imagination
Causeries Festival
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • ≈ 1h15 · Sans entracte

En anglais / Traduction simultanée en français

Arctic Imagination est une série de conférences à ne pas manquer, présentée par la Bibliothèque royale du Danemark et l'Orchestre du CNA dans le cadre du Festival SPHÈRE, visant a raviver plusieurs discussions pressantes concernant la transformation de l’Arctique – qui voit sa glace disparaître – et les conséquences des changements climatiques sur la géopolitique mondiale et l’humanité en général. 

Pannélistes:

Katherine Richardson 

Le Dr Katherine Richardson a été dans, sur ou près de la mer toute sa vie! Professeur d'océanographie biologique à l'Université de Copenhague, la carrière scientifique de Katherine s'étend des études méticuleuses des plus petites parties de la mer et des cycles du carbone dans les océans du monde aux études de la biodiversité et des interactions entre les humains, les plantes, les animaux et le climat. Ses recherches portent sur l'importance des processus biologiques dans l'océan pour l'absorption de CO2 de l'atmosphère et sur la façon dont la biologie océanique, dans sa diversité diversité, contribue au fonctionnement de l'océan dans le système terrestre. 

Angela Rawlings 

Artiste interdisciplinaire et scientifique d’origine canado-islandaise, Angela Rawlings se sert des langues comme principal outil d’exploration. Son travail explore les liens unissant les corps – qu’ils soient humains, surhumains, autres qu’humains ou non-humains. Méditant sur les langues vues comme inéluctables prismes de l’interaction humaine, rawlings a utilisé plusieurs méthodes ces vingt dernières années, par exemple la poésie sensorielle, l’improvisation vocale et le contact improvisation, le théâtre de la ruralité, et même les conversations avec le paysage. 

Arctic Imagination
Menu