Le partage © Illustration Pony

Le partage

Autofiction in 3D

2023-05-18 20:00 2023-05-20 21:15 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Le partage

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31895

In-person event

You could call it a striptease of the soul or, at least, a theatrical exposure. On stage alongside his luminous 3D avatar, actor, author and director Emmanuel Schwartz turns his skin—that of a meteorically successful, highly publicized artist—inside out to reveal the wounds, the cigarette burns and the abysses. A man’s skin riddled with holes and sinking fast.  The young prodigy’s fall is breath-taking, and yet you can see how it could happen: a crowd as vast...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
May 18 - 20, 2023
Le partage © Illustration Pony
© David Ospina
“Staging a striptease of the soul ”

Featured artists

  • Emmanuel Schwartz ©Maude Chauvin
    Written, directed and performed by Emmanuel Schwartz
  • In-person event
  • Français
  • ≈ 1 hour and 15 minutes · No intermission

You could call it a striptease of the soul or, at least, a theatrical exposure. On stage alongside his luminous 3D avatar, actor, author and director Emmanuel Schwartz turns his skin—that of a meteorically successful, highly publicized artist—inside out to reveal the wounds, the cigarette burns and the abysses. A man’s skin riddled with holes and sinking fast. 

The young prodigy’s fall is breath-taking, and yet you can see how it could happen: a crowd as vast as an ocean cheers and applauds, you pluck the stars from the sky, then your heart breaks, drugs, any drugs, to fill the cracks, sickening lies to loved ones, waking up in a plane, a limousine, a gala, an alleyway, you don’t know anymore, isolation, self-hatred, money burning a hole in your pocket. As in an anonymous addiction recovery group, we, the audience, are cast as witnesses and become part of the healing process. Will we grant this beautiful and ill-fated poet our absolution? 

This account of an out-of-control downward spiral is delivered in the form of a hair-raising tale, with an ingenious stage device of video projections for small comfort. The actor, a somnambulist and tightrope walker, inches forward without a net, one step at a time, along the vertiginous wire of autofiction. 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
May 15
May 16
May 17
May 18
  • 8:00pm opening night
May 19
  • 8:00pm Discussion with the cast
May 20
  • 4:00pm matinee
May 21
Le partage © Illustration Pony
© David Ospina

Artists

  • Emmanuel Schwartz ©Maude Chauvin
    Written, directed and performed by Emmanuel Schwartz
  • Assistant director and dramaturg Alice Ronfard
  • Sets Camille Barrantes
  • Lighting Éric Champoux
  • Costumes Marie-Audrey Jacques
  • Video Design Jean-François Malouin
  • Video space and mapping VYV studio, Nicolas Pfeiffer
  • Sound François Thibault and Emmanuel Schwartz
  • Composition Cédric Dind-Lavoie
  • Assistant stage manager and technical director Émile Lafortune
  • Production director Margarita Herrera Dominguez
  • Produced by La Clairière, compagnie de création
  • Co-Produced by La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines and NAC French Theatre
Menu

Le partage © Illustration Pony

Le partage

Autofiction 3D

2023-05-18 20:00 2023-05-20 21:15 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Le partage

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31895

Événement en personne

On pourrait appeler ça un striptease d’âme ou, du moins, une mise à nue théâtralisée. Sur le plateau, avec son avatar lumineux 3D, l’acteur, auteur et metteur en scène Emmanuel Schwartz retourne sa peau d’artiste médiatisé à l’ascension fulgurante pour nous en montrer les blessures, les brûlures de cigarette et les abîmes. Une peau d’homme trouée qui prend l’eau.  La...

Read more

Studio Azrieli ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
18 - 20 mai 2023
Le partage © Illustration Pony
© David Ospina
«Mise en scène d’une mise à nue »

Artistes en vedette

  • {image:fiel:2} ©Maude Chauvin
    Texte, interprétation et mise en scène Emmanuel Schwartz
  • Événement en personne
  • Français
  • ≈ 1 heure et 15 minutes · Sans entracte

On pourrait appeler ça un striptease d’âme ou, du moins, une mise à nue théâtralisée. Sur le plateau, avec son avatar lumineux 3D, l’acteur, auteur et metteur en scène Emmanuel Schwartz retourne sa peau d’artiste médiatisé à l’ascension fulgurante pour nous en montrer les blessures, les brûlures de cigarette et les abîmes. Une peau d’homme trouée qui prend l’eau. 

La chute du jeune prodige est légendaire, et pourtant on s’y voit : une foule aussi vaste qu’un océan nous acclame, on cueille les étoiles à même le ciel, puis notre cœur se fracasse, la drogue, toutes les drogues, pour colmater les fissures, les mensonges nauséabonds aux êtres aimés, se réveiller dans un avion, une limousine, un gala, une ruelle, on ne sait plus, l’isolement, la haine de soi, l’argent qui brûle les doigts. Comme dans les cercles anonymes pour soigner les dépendances, nous, spectateurs, sommes pris à témoin et faisons partie du processus de guérison. Offrirons-nous à ce beau poète maudit notre absolution?  

Ce récit de dérapage zéro contrôlé nous est livré sous forme de conte pour ne plus jamais dormir, avec comme veilleuse un ingénieux dispositif scénique de projections vidéo. L’acteur, somnambule et funambule, y avance sans filet, un pas à la fois, sur la vertigineuse ligne de l’autofiction. 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
mai 15
mai 16
mai 17
mai 18
  • 20 h 00 première
mai 19
  • 20 h 00 Rencontre avec les artistes
mai 20
  • 16 h 00 matinée
mai 21
Le partage © Illustration Pony
© David Ospina

Artistes

  • {image:fiel:2} ©Maude Chauvin
    Texte, interprétation et mise en scène Emmanuel Schwartz
  • Collaboration à la mise en scène et dramaturgie Alice Ronfard
  • Scénographie Camille Barrantes
  • Lumière Éric Champoux
  • Costumes Marie-Audrey Jacques
  • Création vidéo Jean-François Malouin
  • Espace vidéo et mapping VYV studio, Nicolas Pfeiffer
  • Son François Thibault et Emmanuel Schwartz
  • Composition Cédric Dind-Lavoie
  • Assistance, régie et direction technique Émile Lafortune
  • Direction de production Margarita Herrera Dominguez
  • Production La Clairière, compagnie de création
  • Coproduction La Chapelle Scènes Contemporaines et le Théâtre français du CNA
Menu