ROME © Illustration Pony

ROME

Shakespeare marathon

2023-05-04 18:00 2023-05-06 23:59 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: ROME

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31894

In-person event

Binge-watching an entire TV series, eyes glued to your screen, is so 2020–21. It’s time for a unifying saga, an epic experience … it’s time for ROME! Welcome to a Shakespeare marathon: the four Roman plays plus a stage adaptation of a narrative poem, assembled in a single production under the sharp eye of the great director Brigitte Haentjens, with a cast of some 20 performer–athletes and three musicians whose hearts vibrate in tune with the...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
May 4 - 6, 2023
ROME © Illustration Pony
Photo : Marjorie Guindon, Design : Marie Tourigny
“Rise and fall of an empire ”
  • In-person event
  • Français
  • ≈ 6 hours · With intermission

Binge-watching an entire TV series, eyes glued to your screen, is so 2020–21. It’s time for a unifying saga, an epic experience … it’s time for ROME! Welcome to a Shakespeare marathon: the four Roman plays plus a stage adaptation of a narrative poem, assembled in a single production under the sharp eye of the great director Brigitte Haentjens, with a cast of some 20 performer–athletes and three musicians whose hearts vibrate in tune with the eloquent dialogue translated by the inimitable Jean Marc Dalpé. 

ROME is a spectacular six-hour journey behind the scenes of an empire that rose and fell, as if following the trajectory of a prophetic black sun that, 400 years later, resonates eerily with our times. The cycle opens with The Rape of Lucrece, the female body portrayed as a territory to be invaded; a chaotic democracy struggles to emerge in the face of Coriolanus’ contemptuous and exaggerated righteousness; Julius Caesar exposes the implacable mechanics of tyranny; the explosive cocktail of love and politics is captured in Antony and Cleopatra; and the adventure concludes with the legendary bloodbath of Titus Andronicus

We will depart from ROME basking in the glory of having attended a performance–event that will leave its mark on the soul and the body, even as it chips away at the very foundations of our so-called “civilized” societies. 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
May 1
May 2
May 3
May 4
  • 6:00pm opening night
May 5
  • 6:00pm
May 6
  • 1:30pm matinee
May 7
ROME © Illustration Pony
Photo : Marjorie Guindon, Design : Marie Tourigny
  • With Sabrina Bégin Tejeda, Jean-Denis Beaudoin, Marc Béland, Alex Bergeron, Éliane Bergeron, Céline Bonnier, Vincent Carré, Samuël Côté, Guido Del Fabbro, Leïla Donabelle Kaze, Sylvie Drapeau, Irdens Exantus, Bernard Falaise, Reda Guerinik, Lauren Hartley, Bozidar Krčevinac, Frédéric Lavallée, Roméo Lucas, Jean-Moïse Martin, Iannicko N’Doua, Gaétan Nadeau, Leni Parker, Alice Pascual, Véronique Perron, Viktor Proulx, Sébastien Ricard, Joakim Robillard, Madeleine Sarr, Mattis Savard-Verhoeven and Valérie Tellos
  • Assistant director Félix Dagenais
  • Dramaturg Mélanie Dumont
  • Sets Anick La Bissonnière
  • Props Julie Measroch
  • Costumes Julie Charland
  • Lighting Julie Basse
  • Music and sound designer Bernard Falaise
  • Hair Stéphane Scotto Di Cesare
  • Costume assistant Yso
  • Movement coach Harold Rhéaume
  • Sound installation Frédéric Auger
  • Technical director Jérémi Guilbault-Asselin
  • Production director Cynthia Bouchard-Gosselin
  • Production assistant Félix-Antoine Gauthier
  • General codirector and administrative director Émilie Martel
  • Produced by Sibyllines
  • Coproduced by NAC French Theatre
  • Developed with support from the NAC’s National Creation Fund
Menu

ROME © Illustration Pony

ROME

Marathon Shakespeare

2023-05-04 18:00 2023-05-06 23:59 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : ROME

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31894

Événement en personne

Enfiler toute une télésérie, yeux exorbités sur son écran, c’est vraiment trop 2020-21. L’heure est à l’épopée rassembleuse, à l’épique expérience, l’heure est à ROME! Osons le marathon Shakespeare : les quatre pièces romaines et une adaptation scénique d’un poème, une à une dans un tout, sous le regard acéré de la grande metteure...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
4 - 6 mai 2023
ROME © Illustration Pony
Photo : Marjorie Guindon, Design : Marie Tourigny
«Vie et mort d’un empire »
  • Événement en personne
  • Français
  • ≈ 6 heures · Avec entracte

Enfiler toute une télésérie, yeux exorbités sur son écran, c’est vraiment trop 2020-21. L’heure est à l’épopée rassembleuse, à l’épique expérience, l’heure est à ROME! Osons le marathon Shakespeare : les quatre pièces romaines et une adaptation scénique d’un poème, une à une dans un tout, sous le regard acéré de la grande metteure en scène Brigitte Haentjens, avec sur le plateau une vingtaine d’interprètes-athlètes et trois musiciens dont le cœur vibre au diapason d’une parole jubilatoire traduite par l’incontournable Jean Marc Dalpé.  

ROME, c’est six heures de traversée spectaculaire dans les coulisses d’un empire qu’on verra naître puis mourir, comme suivre la trajectoire d’un soleil noir prophétique qui, 400 ans plus tard, fait frissonner par ses résonances avec notre actualité. Le cycle s’ouvre sur Le viol de Lucrèce, le corps de la femme comme territoire d’envahissement ; une chaotique démocratie tente d’émerger à la face méprisante et à la droiture exacerbée de Coriolan ; Jules César expose l’implacable mécanique des tyrannies ; l’explosif cocktail amour/politique s’incarne avec Antoine et Cléopâtre ; et l’aventure se clôt dans le fameux bain de sang de Titus Andronicus

Nous repartirons de ROME auréolés de la gloire d’avoir assisté à un spectacle-événement qui marquera l’âme et le corps, tout en égratignant au passage les fondations mêmes de nos sociétés dites « civilisées ». 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
avr 1
mai 2
mai 3
mai 4
  • 18 h 00 première
mai 5
  • 18 h 00
mai 6
  • 13 h 30 matinée
mai 7
ROME © Illustration Pony
Photo : Marjorie Guindon, Design : Marie Tourigny
  • Avec Sabrina Bégin Tejeda, Jean-Denis Beaudoin, Marc Béland, Alex Bergeron, Éliane Bergeron, Céline Bonnier, Vincent Carré, Samuël Côté, Guido Del Fabbro, Leïla Donabelle Kaze, Sylvie Drapeau, Irdens Exantus, Bernard Falaise, Reda Guerinik, Lauren Hartley, Bozidar Krčevinac, Frédéric Lavallée, Roméo Lucas, Jean-Moïse Martin, Iannicko N’Doua, Gaétan Nadeau, Leni Parker, Alice Pascual, Véronique Perron, Viktor Proulx, Sébastien Ricard, Joakim Robillard, Madeleine Sarr, Mattis Savard-Verhoeven et Valérie Tellos
  • Assistance à la mise en scène Félix Dagenais
  • Dramaturgie Mélanie Dumont
  • Scénographie Anick La Bissonnière
  • Accessoires Julie Measroch
  • Costumes Julie Charland
  • Lumières Julie Basse
  • Conception sonore et musicale Bernard Falaise
  • Coiffure Stéphane Scotto Di Cesare
  • Assistance aux costumes Yso
  • Collaboration au mouvement Harold Rhéaume
  • Mise en espace sonore Frédéric Auger
  • Direction technique Jérémi Guilbault-Asselin
  • Direction de production Cynthia Bouchard-Gosselin
  • Adjoint de production Félix-Antoine Gauthier
  • Codirection générale et direction administrative Émilie Martel
  • Production Sibyllines
  • Coproduction Théâtre français du CNA
  • Développé avec le soutien du Fonds national de création du CNA
Menu