Jeanette Kotowich © Sharai Mustatia

Matriarchs Uprising

Sophie Dow & Jeanette Kotowich (Program A)

2023-04-13 20:00 2023-04-13 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Matriarchs Uprising

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31885

In-person event

Curated by Olivia C. Davies, Matriarchs Uprising is a unique festival of exchange and sharing through dance and performances, workshops and conversation. The festival creates a platform for Indigenous women who are nurturing the art of Contemporary Indigenous dance and storytelling, while holding space for past, present and future. Two curated mixed programs will be presented in the Azrieli Studio over two nights. Special package pricing is available for both shows!  Matriarchs...

Read more

Azrieli Studio,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, April 13, 2023
8 PM EDT
Jeanette Kotowich © Sharai Mustatia
Sophie Dow © Kiera Shaw
Indigenous arts Dance Contemporary
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 45 minutes · No intermission

Curated by Olivia C. Davies, Matriarchs Uprising is a unique festival of exchange and sharing through dance and performances, workshops and conversation. The festival creates a platform for Indigenous women who are nurturing the art of Contemporary Indigenous dance and storytelling, while holding space for past, present and future.

Two curated mixed programs will be presented in the Azrieli Studio over two nights. Special package pricing is available for both shows! 

Matriarchs Uprising
Program A -April 13, 2023
Sophie Dow,
created in collaboration with Kiera Shaw A Hidden Autobiography 
&
Jeanette Kotowich  Kisiskâciwan

On April 13, Program A offers two beautiful solos: Sophie Dow in “A hidden autobiography” and Jeannette Kotowich in “Kisiskâciwan”. To learn more about April 14 Program B, click here.

In A Hidden Autobiography by Winnipeg-born and Métis-Assiniboine and settler roots, Sophie Dow, in collaboration with Kiera Shaw, takes a look at how imagination can amplify presence, sensation and expand physical capacity. With silent strength, a momentous athleticism emerges, suspended in and defying gravity.  

“And in these states, an invocation is received: my edges are soft, my centre is hollow, pulse of the heart. Here I am Here. I am one with Creation.”  - Sophie Dow 

Kisiskâciwan is a creative return to the fast-flowing landscape of Saskatchewan, the robust and undulating land of Jeanette Kotowich’s ancestors. Conceived and performed by Kotowich, who is of Nêhiyaw, Métis and mixed settler ancestry, this new solo is a journey to oneself, and references protocol, ritual and our relationship to the natural and Spirit worlds. 

“Through memories of my childhood summer, embraced by the Kah-tep-was valley (Nêhiyaw for river that calls), the vast prairie and gently rolling landscape has echoed its lasting impression and whispered a language of inspiration. This is a sacred place that calls generations of peoples for gathering, hunting and spiritual replenishment.” – Jeanette Kotowich 

Jeanette Kotowich © Sharai Mustatia
Sophie Dow © Kiera Shaw

Artists

Menu

Jeanette Kotowich © Sharai Mustatia

Matriarchs Uprising

Sophie Dow et Jeanette Kotowich (Programme A)

2023-04-13 20:00 2023-04-13 21:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Matriarchs Uprising

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31885

Événement en personne

Programmé par Olivia C. Davies, Matriarchs Uprising (« l’éveil des matriarches ») est un festival d’échange et de partage à travers des spectacles de danse, des ateliers et des discussions. Le festival offre une plateforme aux femmes autochtones qui cultivent l’art de la danse et des contes autochtones contemporains, dans un espace où le passé, le présent et l’avenir se côtoient. Deux...

Read more

Studio Azrieli ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 13 avril 2023
20 h HAE
Jeanette Kotowich © Sharai Mustatia
Sophie Dow © Kiera Shaw
Arts autochtones Danse Contemporaine
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 45 minutes · Sans entracte

Programmé par Olivia C. Davies, Matriarchs Uprising (« l’éveil des matriarches ») est un festival d’échange et de partage à travers des spectacles de danse, des ateliers et des discussions. Le festival offre une plateforme aux femmes autochtones qui cultivent l’art de la danse et des contes autochtones contemporains, dans un espace où le passé, le présent et l’avenir se côtoient.

Deux programmes mixtes seront présentés au Studio Azrieli pendant deux soirs. Un forfait spécial vous permet de voir les deux spectacles à prix réduit. 

Matriarchs Uprising 
Programme A - 13 avril 2023
Sophie Dow 
en collaboration avec Kiera Shaw A Hidden Autobiography
et
Jeanette Kotowich Kisiskâciwan

 

Le 13 avril, le Programme A propose deux magnifiques spectacles solos : Sophie Dow dans A hidden autobiography et Jeannette Kotowich, dans Kisiskâciwan. Pour en savoir plus sur le Programme B, qui aura lieu le 14 avril, cliquez ici.

Dans A Hidden Autobiography, Sophie Dow, artiste de descendance métisse-assiniboine et coloniale née à Winnipeg, examine la façon dont l’imagination peut renforcer la présence, les sensations et les capacités physiques. Grâce à une force tranquille, une robustesse prodigieuse émerge, suspendue dans les airs, défiant la gravité. Cette pièce a été créée en collaboration avec Kirera Shaw. 

« Et dans cet état, une invocation est reçue : les contours de mon corps sont détendus, son centre est creux, battements de cœur. Ici, je suis ici. Je ne fais qu’un avec la Création. » – Sophie Dow 

Kisiskâciwan est l’histoire d’un retour créatif vers les paysages fluides de la Saskatchewan, les terres robustes et vallonnées des ancêtres de Jeanette Kotowich. Conçu et interprété par Kotowich, de descendance nêhiyaw, métisse et coloniale, ce nouveau spectacle solo est un cheminement vers soi qui aborde les protocoles, les rituels, et notre relation à la nature et au monde des esprits. 

« Les souvenirs des étés de mon enfance, au cœur de la vallée Kah-tep-was (« la rivière qui appelle », en nêhiyaw), des vastes prairies et des paysages légèrement vallonnés, ont laissé en moi une empreinte indélébile et un souffle d’inspiration. C’est un lieu sacré qui, depuis des générations, est propice è la cueillette, à la chasse et au ressourcement. – Jeanette Kotowich  

Jeanette Kotowich © Sharai Mustatia
Sophie Dow © Kiera Shaw

Artistes

Menu