SWAN ⓒ Cooper and Ohara

Ballet Edmonton

Mixed Repertoire

2023-03-11 20:00 2023-03-11 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Ballet Edmonton

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31882

In-person event

Ballet Edmonton presents a mixed repertoire program of four exquisite works by three outstanding choreographic voices. Two works by celebrated choreographer and Artistic Director Wen Wei Wang, Persistence of Memory and Swan, are joined by Valei-me, by emerging creator, Brazilian-born Diego Ramalho, and a stunning new creation by Canadian Dorotea Saykaly.  
  Persistence of Memory by Wen Wei Wang “As the pandemic stretched to the whole world, billions of people were...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, March 11, 2023
8 PM EDT
SWAN ⓒ Cooper and Ohara
Valei-Me credit : ⓒ Nanc Price
Persistence of Memory credit: ⓒ Nanc Price
Dance Contemporary
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 1 hour and 44 minutes · With intermission

NAC Premiere

Ballet Edmonton presents a mixed repertoire program of four exquisite works by three outstanding choreographic voices. Two works by celebrated choreographer and Artistic Director Wen Wei Wang, Persistence of Memory and Swan, are joined by Valei-me, by emerging creator, Brazilian-born Diego Ramalho, and a stunning new creation by Canadian Dorotea Saykaly.  
 

Persistence of Memory by Wen Wei Wang

“As the pandemic stretched to the whole world, billions of people were separated from each other, isolated in their own spaces. Art has kept us connected; it shortened the distance between us and provided comfort, encouragement, and hope.”  - Wen Wei Wang   

Persistence of Memory was created amid the 2020 pandemic when access to family, friends or audiences were not possible. The piece speaks to the need for human contact and love, inspired by the distances and constraints that have become part of all our lives these past few years.   

new work by Dorotea Saykaly

Dorotea Saykaly – new work. Montreal-born Saykaly, received the honour of being the first recipient of the Emily Molnar Emerging Choreographer Award in 2019. This brought her to the creation of Relic for Ballet BC which opened in May 2022. For her NAC debut as a choreographer, Dorotea Saykaly will present a World Premiere on our biggest stage. Although described as cinematic, her work is always inspired by her amazement towards human fragility, beauty and complexity. Marveling at the generosity of dancers and the crucial elements they bring to a choreography, Saykaly creates with her dancer’s heart and intuition. 

Swan by Wen Wei Wang

“Swan, choreographed by Wen Wei Wang, proved itself as a stunning, flawless endeavour that had its audience breathless by the time the curtain closed…” - Lord of Dogwood - Review 

Swan is a remount of the choreographer’s masterful piece, which first debuted with Ballet BC in 2016. Inspired by the iconic characters in Swan Lake, this breathtaking work highlights Wang’s capacity to move dancers in ways that exemplify the poise and grace of the balletic dancer while expanding the vocabulary of movement to tell a familiar story through a new lens.

Valei-me by Diego Ramalho

“I want the audience to be free to bring their own ideas about what I am saying and imagine their own sense of place and belonging“  - Diego Ramalho 

Valei-me contemplates how we are influenced by where we first “belonged.” The work explores how music lives in the nervous system and reflects an unconscious sense of identity connected to place. Brazilian music drives the narrative structure of this work. 

SWAN ⓒ Cooper and Ohara
Valei-Me credit : ⓒ Nanc Price
Persistence of Memory credit: ⓒ Nanc Price

Artists

  • Rehearsal Director Yoko Kanomata
  • Lighting Designer/Technical Director Dorrie Deutschendorf
  • Executive Director Sheri Somerville
  • Ballet Edmonton Artists Ariana Barr
    Chloe Bennett
    Paula Cobo Botello
    Adrian DeLeeuw
    Yoko Kanomata
    Devon MacLean
    Connor McLeary
    Diego Ramalho
    Samuel Ramos
    Matthew Wyllie
Menu

SWAN ⓒ Cooper and Ohara

Ballet Edmonton

Répertoire mixte

2023-03-11 20:00 2023-03-11 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Ballet Edmonton

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31882

Événement en personne

Le Ballet Edmonton présente un programme mixte composé de quatre œuvres exquises interprétées par des voix chorégraphiques exceptionnelles. Pour son premier passage au CNA, le Ballet Edmonton nous propose un magnifique programme mixte contemporain réunissant trois chorégraphes d’exception : Persistence of Memory et Swan du directeur artistique Wen Wei Wang; une saisissante création, Valei-me, du Brésilien Diego Ramalho;...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 11 mars 2023
20 h HAE
SWAN ⓒ Cooper and Ohara
Valei-Me crédit : ⓒ Nanc Price
Persistence of Memory crédit: ⓒ Nanc Price
Danse Contemporaine
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 1 heure et 44 minutes · Avec entracte

Première au CNA

Le Ballet Edmonton présente un programme mixte composé de quatre œuvres exquises interprétées par des voix chorégraphiques exceptionnelles. Pour son premier passage au CNA, le Ballet Edmonton nous propose un magnifique programme mixte contemporain réunissant trois chorégraphes d’exception : Persistence of Memory et Swan du directeur artistique Wen Wei Wang; une saisissante création, Valei-me, du Brésilien Diego Ramalho; et une nouvelle chorégraphie de Dorotea Saykaly.  

Persistence of Memory de Wen Wei Wang

« Alors que la pandémie s’étendait au monde entier, des milliards de personnes étaient séparées les unes des autres, isolées dans leur propre espace. L’art nous a permis de demeurer en contact; il a nous a rapproché et apporté du réconfort, du soutien et de l’espoir. » – Wen Wei Wang   

Persistence of Memory a été créé en 2020, pendant la pandémie, au moment où il était impossible de rencontrer notre famille, nos ami·e·s ou le public. L’œuvre évoque le besoin de contact humain et d’amour, accentué par les éloignements et les contraintes qui font partie de notre vie depuis les dernières années. 

Nouvelle œuvre de Dorotea Saykaly 

Née à Montréal, Dorotea Saykaly a eu l’honneur d’être la première lauréate du prix Emily Molnar de la relève chorégraphique en 2019. Grâce à cette distinction, elle a créé RELIC pour le Ballet BC, dont la première a eu lieu en mai 2022. Pour ses débuts au CNA en tant que chorégraphe, Dorotea Saykaly présentera sa plus récente production en première mondiale sur notre plus grande scène. Bien que décrite comme cinématographique, son œuvre s’inspire de sa fascination pour la fragilité, la beauté et la complexité humaines. Admirative de la générosité des interprètes et des éléments cruciaux qu’ils apportent à la chorégraphie, Saykaly crée en essayant constamment de retrouver son cœur et son intuition de danseuse. 

Swan de Wen Wei Wang

« Swan, chorégraphié par Wen Wei Wang, est une œuvre sublime, impeccable, qui laisse l’auditoire bouche bée lorsque les rideaux se referment. » – Critique, Lord of Dogwood

Swan est une reprise du chef-d’œuvre du chorégraphe, créé pour le Ballet BC en 2016. Inspiré des célèbres personnages du Lac des cygnes, cette œuvre à couper le souffle démontre le génie de Wang, capable de mettre en valeur l’équilibre et la grâce des interprètes, tout en enrichissant le langage du mouvement pour raconter une histoire connue sous un angle nouveau.

Valei-me 

« J’aimerais que le public se sente à l’aise d’exprimer ses réflexions sur mon propos et de faire le lien avec son propre sentiment d’appartenance à un lieu. » – Diego Ramalho   

Valei-me s’intéresse à la façon dont notre première « appartenance » nous influence. L’œuvre explore comment la musique stimule notre système nerveux et suscite un sentiment identitaire inconscient rattaché aux lieux. La musique brésilienne est le fil conducteur de cette production. 

SWAN ⓒ Cooper and Ohara
Valei-Me crédit : ⓒ Nanc Price
Persistence of Memory crédit: ⓒ Nanc Price

Artistes

  • Directeur de répétitions Yoko Kanomata
  • Création de lumières et directrice technique Dorrie Deutschendorf
  • Directrice générale Sheri Somerville
  • Artistes du Ballet Edmonton Ariana Barr
    Chloe Bennett
    Paula Cobo Botello
    Adrian DeLeeuw
    Yoko Kanomata
    Devon MacLean
    Connor McLeary
    Diego Ramalho
    Samuel Ramos
    Matthew Wyllie
Menu