Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve

Great Performers Series

Toronto Symphony Orchestra & Gimeno

100th Anniversary Tour, feat. María Dueñas

2023-02-11 20:00 2023-02-11 10:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Toronto Symphony Orchestra & Gimeno

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31876

In-person event

Any time the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (TSO) returns to Southam Hall is cause for celebration, and under the direction of new Music Director Gustavo Gimeno, this concert, in the TSO’s 100th year, is no exception. Acclaimed for his artistic dexterity and for the enormous energy he brings to the podium and draws from the orchestra, conductor Gimeno is rightly one of the most sought-after conductors working today.  The concert opens with Montreal composer Samy Moussa’s...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, February 11, 2023
8 PM EDT
Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve
María Dueñas © Tam Lan Truong
Gustavo Gimeno conducts the TSO © Jag Gundu
Music Classical music Masterworks Violin
  • SAMY MOUSSA Symphony No. 2 (TSO Commission)
  • Lalo Symphonie Espagnole
  • PROKOFIEV (compiled G. Gimeno) Suite from Romeo and Juliet
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

Any time the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (TSO) returns to Southam Hall is cause for celebration, and under the direction of new Music Director Gustavo Gimeno, this concert, in the TSO’s 100th year, is no exception. Acclaimed for his artistic dexterity and for the enormous energy he brings to the podium and draws from the orchestra, conductor Gimeno is rightly one of the most sought-after conductors working today. 

The concert opens with Montreal composer Samy Moussa’s Symphony No. 2, a TSO commission that brandishes themes both “scalar” and “hymnlike” (ludwig-van.com) and creates a wonderfully unorthodox brass section complete with flugelhorns and the mellifluous euphonium. About composing for the TSO, Moussa explains, “Whatever I have I mind, I know [they] can do. And this is liberating for me.” Moussa is TSO’s Spotlight Artist and is himself an acclaimed conductor.  

At barely 20 years old, Spanish violinist María Dueñas is a passionate, musical supertalent whose fearless performances move effortlessly between the tender and electrifying. Dueñas performs Edouard Lalo’s colourful Symphonie Espagnole, a spirited, seductive work that set Paris alight when it was performed in 1875 by the extraordinary Spanish violinist Pablo de Sarasate. 

Among Sergei Prokofiev’s most loved works, his music for the ballet Romeo and Juliet stands out for the way it conveys the joy and longing of forbidden love. Despite the difficult path he faced to its completion and performance in Stalinist Russia, Prokofiev captured and imparted all the ecstasy and grief experienced by the young lovers in this lush and timeless masterpiece. 

video:
Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve
María Dueñas © Tam Lan Truong
Gustavo Gimeno conducts the TSO © Jag Gundu
Menu

Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve

Invité spécial

L'Orchestre symphonique de Toronto & Gimeno

Tournée du 100e anniversaire, avec María Dueñas

2023-02-11 20:00 2023-02-11 10:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : L'Orchestre symphonique de Toronto & Gimeno

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31876

Événement en personne

Chaque retour de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto (TSO) à la Salle Southam est un motif de réjouissance. En cette année qui marque le 100e anniversaire du TSO, ce concert sous la baguette du nouveau directeur musical Gustavo Gimeno ne fait pas exception. Applaudi pour sa dextérité artistique et l’immense énergie qu’il apporte sur scène et qu’il insuffle à son orchestre, le maestro d’origine...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 11 février 2023
20 h HAE
Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve
María Dueñas © Tam Lan Truong
Gustavo Gimeno conducts the TSO © Jag Gundu
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Violon
  • SAMY MOUSSA Symphony No. 2 (TSO Commission)
  • Lalo Symphonie Espagnole
  • PROKOFIEV (Compilation de G. Gimeno) Extraits de Roméo et Juliette
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Chaque retour de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto (TSO) à la Salle Southam est un motif de réjouissance. En cette année qui marque le 100e anniversaire du TSO, ce concert sous la baguette du nouveau directeur musical Gustavo Gimeno ne fait pas exception. Applaudi pour sa dextérité artistique et l’immense énergie qu’il apporte sur scène et qu’il insuffle à son orchestre, le maestro d’origine espagnole est à juste titre l’un des chefs d’orchestre les plus recherchés de nos jours. 

Le concert débute avec la Symphonie no 2 du compositeur montréalais Samy Moussa, une commande du TSO. À propos de cette composition magnifique, Moussa explique : « Ce que j’ai en tête, ce que je crée, je sais [qu'ils] peuvent le faire. Et c'est libérateur pour moi. » Moussa est l'artiste vedette du TSO et est lui-même un chef d'orchestre acclamé. 

Âgée d’à peine 20 ans, la violoniste espagnole María Dueñas est un talent musical extraordinaire et passionné, dont les prestations audacieuses naviguent sans effort entre la tendresse et la foudre. Elle interprète la Symphonie espagnole d’Édouard Lalo, une œuvre fougueuse et séduisante qui a embrasé Paris quand le fabuleux violoniste Pablo de Sarasate l’a interprétée en 1875. 

Parmi les œuvres les plus aimées de Sergueï Prokofiev, la musique qu’il a composée pour le ballet Roméo et Juliette se démarque par les sentiments qu’elle exprime – la joie et les tourments d’un amour interdit. Malgré les difficultés d’écriture et de production rencontrées dans la Russie stalinienne de l’époque, Prokofiev a su saisir et communiquer l’extase et le deuil vécu par les jeunes amants dans ce chef-d’œuvre foisonnant et intemporel. 

video:
Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve
María Dueñas © Tam Lan Truong
Gustavo Gimeno conducts the TSO © Jag Gundu
Menu