NAC Orchestra

Canada Day Concert

with the NAC Orchestra

2022-07-01 15:00 2022-07-01 16:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Canada Day Concert

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31450

In-person event

Hosted by: YAO Conducted by: Alexander Shelley Invited Guests: Jonelle Sills, soprano & Hillary Simms, trombone   Happy Canada Day! Please be our guest at the NAC. Join us July 1 for a free concert celebrating Canada and Canadians through the diverse artistry and unparalleled creativity of Canada’s best and brightest musicians. The National Arts Centre Orchestra shares the stage with a stellar lineup of young homegrown vocalists and musicians performing music by great...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, July 1, 2022
3 PM EDT
This event has passed
NAC Orchestra
Special Events Music Classical music Vocal Canadian Holidays
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 1 hour · No intermission

Hosted by: YAO

Conducted by: Alexander Shelley

Invited Guests: Jonelle Sills, soprano & Hillary Simms, trombone

Happy Canada Day! Please be our guest at the NAC. Join us July 1 for a free concert celebrating Canada and Canadians through the diverse artistry and unparalleled creativity of Canada’s best and brightest musicians.

The National Arts Centre Orchestra shares the stage with a stellar lineup of young homegrown vocalists and musicians performing music by great Canadian composers like Violet Archer, John Estacio, Dinuk Wijeratne, and Oscar Peterson. As we reflect and celebrate this wondrous country we call home, composed of caring communities built by strong, proud, free, diverse, inclusive, and empathetic people, this all Canadian concert will touch the tenderness in your heart one moment and send your mind and dreams soaring to new heights the next.

Hear the remarkable young soprano Jonelle Sills perform excerpts from Métis composer Ian Cusson’s riveting Where there’s a wall, with poetry by Canadian poet Joy Kogawa. And let John Estacio’s Frenergy carry you away as if enveloped in the best action film score you’ve ever heard! The concert will conclude with Hymn to Freedom, by the late, great Oscar Peterson.

More exciting repertoire will be announced from the stage, so don’t miss this rare opportunity to come together once again to share in our love of music with some of Canada’s finest young musicians shining from the stage.

NAC Orchestra
Menu

Orchestre du CNA

Concert de la fête du Canada

avec l'Orchestre du CNA

2022-07-01 15:00 2022-07-01 16:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Concert de la fête du Canada

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31450

Événement en personne

Animateur: YAO Chef d’orchestre : Alexander Shelley Artistes invitées : Jonelle Sills, soprano et Hillary Simms, trombone   Bonne fête du Canada! Nous vous invitons à célébrer le Canada et la population canadienne au CNA le 1er juillet, à l’occasion d’un concert gratuit mettant à l’honneur les multiples talents et la remarquable créativité des plus brillant·e·s musiciens et...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
vendredi 1 juillet 2022
15 h HAE
Cet événement est passé
Orchestre du CNA
Événements spéciaux Musique Musique classique Voix Artistes canadiens Fêtes
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 1 heure · Sans entracte

Animateur: YAO

Chef d’orchestre : Alexander Shelley

Artistes invitées : Jonelle Sills, soprano et Hillary Simms, trombone

Bonne fête du Canada! Nous vous invitons à célébrer le Canada et la population canadienne au CNA le 1er juillet, à l’occasion d’un concert gratuit mettant à l’honneur les multiples talents et la remarquable créativité des plus brillant·e·s musiciens et musiciennes du Canada.

L’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts partagera la scène avec une pléiade de jeunes voix et instrumentistes de chez nous, qui interpréteront des œuvres de célèbres compositrice et compositeurs du Canada, comme Violet Archer, John Estacio, Dinuk Wijeratne et Oscar Peterson. Ce concert entièrement canadien tantôt émouvant, tantôt poétique, tantôt stimulant sur le plan intellectuel se veut une célébration du merveilleux pays qui est le nôtre, composé de communautés bienveillantes, diverses et inclusives où vivent des gens forts, fiers, libres et empathiques.

Venez entendre l’extraordinaire jeune soprano Jonelle Sills interpréter des extraits du captivant Where there’s a wall, du compositeur métis  b, avec des poèmes de l’écrivaine nippo-canadienne Joy Kogawa. Laissez l’énergique Frenergy, de John Estacio, vous emporter comme si vous étiez dans un vrai film d’action! Le concert se clôturera sur l’Hymne à la liberté, du regretté Oscar Peterson

D’autres œuvres d’exception seront annoncées sur scène le jour même! Ne manquez pas cette chance exceptionnelle de vous rassembler pour profiter de la magie de la musique en compagnie des talents musicaux les plus prometteurs au Canada.

Orchestre du CNA
Menu