Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
© Ballets Jazz Montréal

Ballets Jazz Montréal

Essence

2022-08-11 19:30 2022-08-12 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Ballets Jazz Montréal

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30865

In-person event

In a program that pays homage to the company’s 50-years of dance and at the same time acts as a springboard for new artistic vision; Ballets Jazz Montréal has curated a triple bill program that strikes a balance between the company’s DNA and the evolution of its mission. The three works that make up ESSENCE include: We Can’t Forget What’s His Name, a new creation by Ausia Jones that explores concepts of time, community, togetherness and isolation. Followed by Ten...

Read more

Babs Asper Theatre,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
August 11 - 12, 2022
7:30 pm
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
Dance Contemporary
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

In a program that pays homage to the company’s 50-years of dance and at the same time acts as a springboard for new artistic vision; Ballets Jazz Montréal has curated a triple bill program that strikes a balance between the company’s DNA and the evolution of its mission.

The three works that make up ESSENCE include: We Can’t Forget What’s His Name, a new creation by Ausia Jones that explores concepts of time, community, togetherness and isolation. Followed by Ten Duets on a Theme of Rescue by Crystal Pite, whose work is characterized by inventive theatricality, and whose piece invites us to decide for ourselves: who rescues whom, and, from what? Ending with Les Chambres des Jacques — a physical, wild, and beautifully human piece by Aszure Barton that stems from her deep connection and trust in a shared creative process. 

Throughout their 50-year history, Ballets Jazz Montréal hasn’t been afraid to explore new ideas and ways of moving. Recognized for their high calibre of dancers that showcase their distinct personalities, the company brings life and stories to the stage with fearless vulnerability and humanity. 


Ballets Jazz Montréal would like to thank the Marjorie and Gerald Bronfman Foundation for the support given to the creation of the show. 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Aug 8
Aug 9
Aug 10
Aug 11
  • 7:30pm
Aug 12
  • 7:30pm
Aug 13
Aug 14
video: 50 ans, à corps déployés! - 50e Anniversaire des Ballets Jazz Montréal
50 ans, à corps déployés! - 50e Anniversaire des Ballets Jazz Montréal
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
Menu

Perturbations à la circulation - Fête du Canada
© Ballets Jazz Montréal

Ballets Jazz Montréal

Essence

2022-08-11 19:30 2022-08-12 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Ballets Jazz Montréal

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30865

Événement en personne

Dans le cadre de sa saison du 50e anniversaire, Ballets Jazz Montréal a concocté un programme triple servant de tremplin à une nouvelle vision artistique — un équilibre entre son ADN et l’évolution de sa mission.  ESSENCE se compose de trois œuvres. We Can’t Forget What’s His Name est une nouvelle création d’Ausia Jones qui explore les concepts du temps, de communauté, d’unité et...

Read more

Théâtre Babs Asper ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
11 - 12 août 2022
19 h 30
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
Danse Contemporaine
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Dans le cadre de sa saison du 50e anniversaire, Ballets Jazz Montréal a concocté un programme triple servant de tremplin à une nouvelle vision artistique — un équilibre entre son ADN et l’évolution de sa mission. 

ESSENCE se compose de trois œuvres. We Can’t Forget What’s His Name est une nouvelle création d’Ausia Jones qui explore les concepts du temps, de communauté, d’unité et d’isolement. Ten Duets on a Theme of Rescue, de Crystal Pite, artiste dont le travail se caractérise par une théâtralité inventive, invite le public à décider lui-même qui sauve qui, et de quoi. Enfin, Les Chambres des Jacques est une œuvre à la fois profondément physique, sauvage et magnifiquement humaine dans laquelle Aszure Barton s’intéresse aux liens profonds et s’en remet à un processus de création commun. 

Depuis 50 ans, Ballets Jazz Montréal explore hardiment de nouvelles idées et de nouveaux mouvements. Reconnue pour ses interprètes de haut niveau à la personnalité distincte, la compagnie fait jaillir la vie et les récits sur scène avec une courageuse vulnérabilité et une grande humanité. 

Cet événement sera interprété en LSQ.


Ballets Jazz Montréal remercie la Fondation Marjorie et Gerald Bronfman pour le soutien à la création. 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
aoû 8
aoû 9
aoû 10
aoû 11
  • 19 h 30
aoû 12
  • 19 h 30
aoû 13
aoû 14
video: 50 ans, à corps déployés! - 50e Anniversaire des Ballets Jazz Montréal
50 ans, à corps déployés! - 50e Anniversaire des Ballets Jazz Montréal
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
© Ballets Jazz Montréal
Menu