Alexandra Damiani |

Alexandra Damiani

Appointed Artistic Director of BJM – Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal in the spring of 2021, Alexandra Damiani has been a major player in the dance community for over two decades. During her 10 years with New York's Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet (2005-2015), first as Ballet Mistress and then as Artistic Director, Damiani had the opportunity to work with and present a wide selection of contemporary dance choreographic languages by such internationally renowned choreographers as Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Crystal Pite and Hofesh Schecter. Damiani also presented the company in major cities and international festivals, including at the Lyon Biennale in France and Sadler's Wells in London.

Originally from France, Damiani is a multidisciplinary artist who has been lending her expertise to the world of film, television and advertising for many years. Her credits include playing the ballet mistress in Darren Aronofsky’s cult film Black Swan and working alongside Tanisha Scott on Cardi B’s performance for the 2019 BET Awards. Damiani is also passionate about training the young dancers of tomorrow and has excellent connections with highly regarded institutions like Jacob’s Pillow and The Juilliard School.

Damiani trained in classical dance at the Geneva Dance Center, and later in the French capital with teachers from the Paris Opera Ballet. After winning the Bayonne competition in France, she received a scholarship to the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater in the US. She began her career as a dancer-performer in New York where she danced as a soloist with Donald Byrd/The Group and with the company Complexions, directed by Dwight Rhoden and Desmond Richardson. Her career continued in Montreal with the Rubberband dance company and later with the Ballets Jazz de Montreal under the direction of Louis Robitaille (2002-2005).

Menu

Alexandra Damiani |

Alexandra Damiani

Nommée directrice artistique des BJM-Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal au printemps 2021, Alexandra Damiani est une actrice majeure au sein du milieu de la danse depuis plus de deux décennies. Durant ses 10 années avec la compagnie New Yorkaise Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet (2005-2015), en tant que maîtresse de ballet et ensuite directrice artistique, elle a eu l’opportunité de travailler et de présenter une vaste sélection de langages chorégraphiques en danse contemporaine, par des chorégraphes de renommée internationale tels que Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Crystal Pite et Hofesh Schecter, pour ne nommer que ceux-là. Madame Damiani a également pu présenter la compagnie dans d’importantes villes et festivals internationaux, notamment à la Biennale de Lyon (France) et au Sadler’s Wells (London).

Alexandra Damiani apporte depuis des années son expertise au milieu du cinéma, de la télévision et de la publicité. Artiste pluridisciplinaire, elle a notamment joué le rôle de maîtresse de ballet dans le film culte Black Swan de Darren Aronofsky et elle a également travaillé avec Tanisha Scott sur la performance de Cardi B pour les BET Awards 2019. Elle est aussi passionnée par la formation des jeunes danseurs de demain et entretient d’excellents liens avec des institutions de grandes renommées comme Jacob’s Pillow et The Juilliard School.

Originaire de la France, Alexandra Damiani a suivi une formation en danse classique au Geneva Dance Center, puis dans la capitale française avec des professeurs du Ballet de l’Opéra de Paris. Lauréate du concours de Bayonne en France, elle obtient une bourse d’études à l’école de l’Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater aux États-Unis. Elle commence sa carrière de danseuse-interprète à New York où elle danse en tant que soliste avec Donald Byrd/The Group ainsi qu’avec la compagnie Complexions, dirigée par Dwight Rhoden et Desmond Richardson. Sa carrière se poursuit à Montréal avec la compagnie RUBBERBANDance, puis avec les Ballets Jazz de Montréal, sous la direction de Louis Robitaille (2002-2005).

Menu