Chris Lee

NACO Live: Marsalis & Mahler

with the NAC Orchestra

2022-06-16 20:00 2022-06-17 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: NACO Live: Marsalis & Mahler

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30033

In-person event

NACO Spring Offer: Bring a friend to a NACO concert in the 2021-2022 season and receive 50% off both of your tickets – that’s two seats for the price of one! Offer valid for a limited time and only for select NACO performances. Discount available on regular priced tickets only and cannot be combined with other offers.   Conductor: Alexander Shelley Guest artist: Chris Lee, tuba  Lovers of both classical music and jazz will find much to celebrate when the NAC...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
June 16 - 17, 2022
This event has passed
Chris Lee
Music Classical music
  • MARSALIS, Wynton Tuba Concerto
  • Mahler Symphony No. 1
  • In-person event

NACO Spring Offer: Bring a friend to a NACO concert in the 2021-2022 season and receive 50% off both of your tickets – that’s two seats for the price of one! Offer valid for a limited time and only for select NACO performances. Discount available on regular priced tickets only and cannot be combined with other offers.

Conductor: Alexander Shelley

Guest artist: Chris Lee, tuba 

Lovers of both classical music and jazz will find much to celebrate when the NAC Orchestra and NACO’s principal tubist Chris Lee perform the Canadian premiere of Wynton Marsalis’s Tuba Concerto, a marvellous hybrid of musical genres, and an NAC co-commission. Though he might be better known for his work in jazz, Wynton is no stranger to classical music, having composed a violin concerto, numerous symphonies, and a Pulitzer Prize-winning oratorio. In fact, at the age of 22, Wynton became the only person ever to win a GRAMMY in both classical and jazz music in the same year. 

Gustav Mahler worked his Symphony No. 1 through several iterations over the years,using all the musical means at his disposal to create what he called “a symphonic poem in two sections.”The result is a beautiful world rich with inspiration,and a symphony that is now a staple of the classical music canon.

As part of NACO's inaugural Mentorship Program, the Orchestra is bringing in 50 of the world's rising stars—outstanding players who embody the next generation of orchestral artists—to perform Mahler's epic work. With over 100 musicians on stage, these incredible performers will bowl you over with sheer energy!

Chris Lee
Menu

Chris Lee

OCNA en direct: Marsalis & Mahler

avec l'orchestre du CNA

2022-06-16 20:00 2022-06-17 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : OCNA en direct: Marsalis & Mahler

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30033

Événement en personne

Offre printanière de l'OCNA: Invitez un ami à un concert de la saison 2021-2022 de l’OCNA et recevez une réduction de 50 % sur vos deux billets – c'est deux places pour le prix d’une! Offre valable pour une durée limitée et uniquement pour certains spectacles de la saison de l’OCNA. La réduction est valable uniquement sur les billets à prix courant et ne peut être combinée avec d'autres...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
16 - 17 juin 2022
Cet événement est passé
Chris Lee
Musique Musique classique
  • MARSALIS, Wynton Tuba Concerto
  • Mahler Symphonie no 1
  • Événement en personne

Offre printanière de l'OCNA: Invitez un ami à un concert de la saison 2021-2022 de l’OCNA et recevez une réduction de 50 % sur vos deux billets – c'est deux places pour le prix d’une! Offre valable pour une durée limitée et uniquement pour certains spectacles de la saison de l’OCNA. La réduction est valable uniquement sur les billets à prix courant et ne peut être combinée avec d'autres offres.

Chef d’orchestre : Alexander Shelley

Artiste invité : Chris Lee, tuba

Les amateurs de musique classique et de jazz auront de quoi se réjouir lorsque l’Orchestre du CNA et son tubiste principal Chris Lee interpréteront la première canadienne du Concerto pour tuba de Wynton Marsalis, un merveilleux mélange de genres musicaux commandé par le CNA. Bien qu’il soit souvent mieux connu pour ses œuvres de jazz,Marsalis maîtrise aussi la musique classique; il a notamment composé un concerto pour violon, de nombreuses symphonies et un oratorio qui lui a valu un prix Pulitzer. D’ailleurs, à 22 ans, il est devenu la seule personne à avoir remporté lors d’une même année un prix GRAMMY en jazz et un autre en musique classique.

Gustav Mahler a composé plusieurs versions de sa Symphonie no 1 au fil des ans, utilisant toutes les ressources musicales à sa portée pour créer ce qu’il appelait « un poème symphonique en deux sections ». En résulte un univers magnifiquement inspirant ainsi qu’une symphonie qui fait maintenant partie des incontournables de la musique classique.

Dans le cadre du Programme de mentorat de l'OCNA, l'Orchestre fait appel à 50 étoiles montantes internationales incarnant la prochaine génération de musiciens.ennes d'orchestre, pour interpréter l'oeuvre épique de Mahler. Avec plus de 100 musiciens sur scène, ces incroyables interprétes vous couperont le souffle par leur incroyable énergie !

Chris Lee
Menu