Sir Andrew Davis
Sir Andrew Davis
Music Classical music Masterworks Violin
  • Émilie Lebel new work (TSO Commission)
  • PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No. 1
  • Shostakovich Symphony No. 10
  • Conductor Sir Andrew Davis
  • Violin Karen Gomyo

Sir Andrew Davis, beloved former music director of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and one of the world’s most acclaimed conductors, returns to lead the TSO through this evening of innovative and style-bending music that will transport, surprise, and delight you at every turn.

Discover the work of Emilie LeBel, the TSO’s newest Affiliate Composer, and experience the sonic landscapes and dreamlike music that have placed her compositions in high demand with orchestras and audiences around the world. Canadian violinist Karen Gomyo, well-known to NAC audiences for her confident, joyful concerts, performs Russian composer Sergei Prokofiev’s magnificent Violin Concerto No. 1, written in 1917, the year Tsar Nicholas II of Russia was compelled to abdicate the throne.

In our concert’s second half, the TSO presents Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 10. An iconic composer who continuously created art throughout the twentieth century’s most turbulent times, Shostakovich was twice denounced by the government of Josef Stalin and lived for decades in almost constant fear of arrest – or worse. Nevertheless, his Symphony No. 10, written under the shadow of the early days of the Cold War, conveys the vision and innermost feelings of an artist who could not be silent.

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission

video: J.S. Bach: Gavotte en rondeau | Karen Gomyo
J.S. Bach: Gavotte en rondeau | Karen Gomyo
Sir Andrew Davis
Karen Gomyo
Sir Andrew Davis
Karen Gomyo

Artists

  • Conductor Sir Andrew Davis
  • Violin Karen Gomyo
Menu

Sir Andrew Davis
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Violon
  • Émilie Lebel nouvelle pièce (commande du TSO)
  • PROKOFIEV Concerto pour violon no 1
  • Chostakovitch Symphonie no 10
  • Chef d’orchestre Sir Andrew Davis
  • Violon Karen Gomyo

Sir Andrew Davis, l’ancien directeur musical de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto (TSO) et l’un des plus éminents chefs d’orchestre de notre temps, revient diriger l’ensemble dans un programme novateur et éclectique qui transportera, étonnera et charmera l’auditoire.

Les paysages sonores et oniriques d’Émilie LeBel, nouvelle compositrice associée au TSO, sont très recherchés tant des orchestres que des auditoires du monde entier. La violoniste canadienne Karen Gomyo, bien connue du public du CNA pour ses prestations énergiques et enjouées, interprète le magnifique Concerto pour violon no 1 du compositeur russe Sergueï Prokofiev, écrit en 1917, année où l’on force le tsar Nicolas II de Russie à abdiquer.

En deuxième partie, le TSO présente la Symphonie no 10 de Dmitri Chostakovitch. Compositeur légendaire qui a créé son œuvre à travers les temps les plus troublés du XXe siècle, Chostakovitch a subi deux fois la disgrâce du régime de Joseph Staline et vécu pendant des décennies dans la peur quasi constante d’être arrêté – ou pire. Néanmoins, sa Symphonie no 10, écrite aux premières heures sombres de la Guerre froide, porte la vision et les sentiments les plus intimes d’un artiste que nul n’a pu réduire au silence.

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte

video: J.S. Bach: Gavotte en rondeau | Karen Gomyo
J.S. Bach: Gavotte en rondeau | Karen Gomyo
Sir Andrew Davis
Karen Gomyo
Sir Andrew Davis
Karen Gomyo

Artistes

  • Chef d’orchestre Sir Andrew Davis
  • Violon Karen Gomyo
Menu