50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it!

Toronto Symphony Orchestra

Reflection

The Toronto Symphony Orchestra and the National Arts Centre Orchestra have a very special relationship, and I am delighted once again to be leading the Orchestra in our yearly visit. This concert features Russian repertoire, and includes two of the most popular works of the 20th century. Prokofiev’s beautiful First Violin Concerto is both lyrical and atmospheric, and among the composer’s most memorable music. Karen Gomyo is nothing short of spectacular in this showpiece. Shostakovich's Tenth Symphony is a monumental work, with a sweep and grandeur that shows the composer to be one of the greatest symphonists of the 20th century, and the true heir to Mahler. The concert opens with a new work by Canadian composer Emilie LeBel, a moody and colourful work of subtle hues and shades, by turns radiant and eerie.

Reflection

Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto is one of my favourite works. I remember vividly the first time I heard it: I was about 13, sick at home with a high fever, and my mother had come home with a new CD of Maxim Vengerov playing this concerto. In my delirium, I was completely transported into an otherworldly musical cave of wonders, immediately falling in love with this highly imaginative and moving work, listening to it over and over again. My favourite moment is when the music culminates in a dramatic climax towards the end of the last movement, which then quietly ascends high up into the ethereal, haunting melody from the very beginning of the concerto, before finally dissipating into silence. It always leaves me with goosebumps!


Tonight’s concert continues the annual exchange, since the 2004–2005 season, between the NAC Orchestra and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra. The TSO’s most recent visit was in May 2019, with Sir Andrew Davis and guest soloist Louis Lortie. The TSO will present the NAC Orchestra at Roy Thomson Hall in Toronto on February 6, 2020.


Emilie Lebel

unsheltered (TSO Commission)

Born in 1979

Canadian composer Emilie Cecilia LeBel specializes in concert music composition, the creation of mixed works that employ digital technologies, and intermedia concert works. Described as having a “deft compositional hand, unwilling to hurry ideas,” and “impressively subtle and sensuous,” her work inhabits sonic worlds that are primarily concerned with textural landscapes, resonance, and variances in colour.

LeBel completed her Doctorate in composition at the University of Toronto in 2013, under the guidance of Gary Kulesha and Robin Elliott, and recently returned home to Canada after teaching at the University of Montana for three years. She is based in Edmonton, Alberta, where she is Assistant Professor at MacEwan University; and frequently returns home to Toronto for her position as Affiliate Composer with the TSO.

Her compositions have been performed and recorded across North and South America, Europe and the U.K., by Mark Takeshi McGregor, Women on the Verge, Ultraviolet, Duo Nyans, Vancouver Symphony, Cecilia String Quartet, Quatuor Bozzini, Arditti Quartet, Land’s End Ensemble, Luciane Cardassi, National Youth Orchestra of Canada, Thin Edge New Music Collective, Onyx Trio, 21C Festival, Winnipeg New Music Festival and junctQín keyboard collective, among others. Her artistic practice has been recognized through numerous awards, including the Toronto Arts Foundation Emerging Artist Award (2015), and the Canadian Federation of University Women’s Elizabeth Massey Award (2012). She has also received support through the Ontario Arts Council, Canada Council for the Arts, The Banff Centre, Canadian Music Centre, University of Toronto, University of Montana and the SOCAN Foundation.

____
unsheltered

Composed in 2019
World premiere, TSO commission

Here are the composer’s thoughts about unsheltered:

…In this humming and doubled land, hold worry, only me

and I get older or I grow farther from myself and I always most love the moment before now…

Joanna Doxey, Book of Worry
 

Much of my recent artistic work has been a contemplation of the surrounding landscapes that I inhabit, reflecting on these sites, smells, shapes and sounds that are constantly in flux. Often finding refuge in small moments of calm outside the city, my music tends to embody these fleeting moments, juxtaposing them against the daily experiences of my city-dwelling life.

I began working on this project during spring 2019, when a large portion of Alberta directly to the north of Edmonton was on fire. Counterpoint to this crisis locally, was a constant barrage of news information surrounding both the migrant crisis and the climate crisis. The notion of shelter felt very much in focus while I sat down to compose every day – my surroundings near and far feeling tenuous, slippery, and humming with an uneasy energy, suggesting something inevitable. This work considers the necessity for refuge, with music shaped by lines that grasp upwards interspersed with slippery glissando; leading to moments where everything tumbles downwards; and finally contrasted by moments of lightness and retreat.

— Program note by David Perlman

PROKOFIEV

Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 19

Born in Sontzovka, Russia (now the Ukraine), April 27, 1891
Died in Moscow, Russia, March 5, 1953

Prokofiev began his first violin concerto in early 1915 but completed it only in the summer of 1917, shortly before the revolution that would propel him into two decades of self-imposed exile in the West. The premiere, in Paris, on October 18, 1923, was a failure, for the fashionable Parisians thought the concerto insufficiently “modern.” The music is certainly characteristic of the avant-garde young Prokofiev in some ways (economy of form, expert craftsmanship, bold harmonies, motoric rhythms, irony), but the Parisians had a point: this is at heart a profoundly Romantic piece.

It is simple in form, unabashedly melodic and deeply expressive; the music unfolds naturally and transparently, though it is often brilliant and virtuosic, too. Prokofiev noted five basic tendencies in his early work: classical, modern, motoric, lyrical and “scherzo-ish” (i.e., whimsical, humorous, mocking). All five operate, to varying degrees, in this concerto, though the lyrical receives particular emphasis; indeed, the unconventional three-movement plan (slow – fast – moderate) places the more expansive and lyrical movements in the most dramatically important positions.

Prokofiev described the opening of the first movement as “meditative,” and marked the solo part here sognando – “dreaming.” The violin introduces the main theme over quietly trembling violas, and, as the theme unfolds at a leisurely pace, the orchestral accompaniment becomes increasingly luxuriant. Like many nineteenth-century slow movements, this movement is in a three-part form (ABA), with musical tension building through a contrasting middle section and resolving in a reprise of the opening theme.

The Scherzo is an utter contrast – short, fast, tart and hard-driving, as well as nervous and mischievous in character. The scoring is mercurial, the violin part brittle and percussive. Where the first movement was warmly and sincerely expressive, the Scherzo is savage and sarcastic – a diabolical dance in which relief is infrequent and brief.

In the finale, however, irony is quickly rejected in favour of renewed lyricism. No less melodic than the first movement, the finale is even richer, denser, and more intensely passionate; it unfolds as a seemingly endless outpouring of melody to which the whole orchestra makes a crucial contribution. The closing pages are radiant. Near the end, the opening theme of the first movement unexpectedly returns, and the concerto ends as it began – dreaming.

— Program note by Kevin Bazzana

Shostakovich

Symphony No. 10 in E minor, Op. 93

Born in St. Petersburg, Russia, September 25, 1906
Died in Moscow, Russia, August 9, 1975

In 1948, in a notorious Communist Party decree, Shostakovich was condemned as a “formalist” whose music was not compatible with Soviet values. Only after the death of Stalin in March of 1953 would he risk going public with a new symphony – his Tenth, composed quickly that summer and fall. First performed in Leningrad on December 17, it aroused some heated criticism in official circles (too modernistic, too gloomy), but was a great success with musicians and the public, and ultimately rescued Shostakovich’s reputation and career.

The meaning of the Tenth Symphony is by no means simple, though. Shostakovich’s own public comments on the work, tailored to Soviet tastes, offer little insight, often reading like parodies of Communist banalities: (“In this work, I wanted to convey human feelings and passions.”) In Testimony: The Memoirs of Shostakovich, “related to and edited by” Solomon Volkov, and published in 1979, he is quoted as saying that in the Tenth he intended to depict the tragedy of Stalinism, and that the Scherzo was actually “a musical portrait of Stalin.” But these words cannot be taken at face value either: there was and still is fractious debate about the authenticity of Testimony.

A Russian musicologist, Nelly Kravetz, in an article written in the mid-1990s, argues that that the elusive Allegretto, rather than being political, was inspired by a romantic fixation Shostakovich had developed for a former student, Elmira Nazirova – with the enigmatic, pastoral horn motto that haunts the middle of the movement being a musical monogram of her name, nestled within outer sections in which, for the first time, Shostakovich incorporated his own four-note musical monogram (D – E-flat – C – B-natural) in a work. Those four notes, according to the German musical alphabet, spelled “DSCH,” his abbreviation for his own name, and it is a motif that goes on to haunt much of his later music. So, whatever the overall politics of the work may be, an “inner program” of a romantic nature seems also to be in play.

The symphony as a whole is predominantly tragic. The first movement is a dark and sometimes bitter meditation. A great dramatic arc, it builds to a furious, painfully dissonant climax, in which massive brass sonorities are unleashed to overwhelming effect. But it ends as it began – in gloom. The concise Allegro that follows, by contrast, is mostly fast and furious fortissimo – raw, grim and brutal. Whether it parodies Stalin or not, it offers a sinister portrait of power and violence wielded without constraint. Following the Allegretto, a sombre, portentous Andante introduces the symphony’s upbeat Allegro finale.

Like many of Shostakovich’s finales, this one is problematical. Some hear it as a sincere effort at a plausibly optimistic finale, in accord with Soviet aesthetics. Some hear it as a critique of those Soviet aesthetics – an enforced gaiety that implies an ironic or subversive stance. Others hear the movement as a cynical, bitter capitulation to authority – a betrayal of a tragic work. All, however, would likely agree that the finale is only superficially a “happy ending.” The music is complex and mercurial both structurally and psychologically, eventually re-acquiring the tragic power of the first movement. Its ambivalence suggests that its meaning – the meaning of the whole symphony, in fact – is both personal and political. It is a work, after all, that Shostakovich put his name not only on, but in.

— Program note by Kevin Bazzana

Toronto Symphony Orchestra

TSO 2019–2020 Season Presenting Sponsor: BMO

The appearances of Sir Andrew Davis with the TSO this season are generously supported by Hans and Susan Brenninkmeyer.

We gratefully recognize Mary Beck’s generous patronage of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra in the 2019–20 season.

Sir Andrew Davis 
Interim Artistic Director

Peter Oundjian 
Conductor Emeritus

Steven Reineke 
Principal Pops Conductor

Simon Rivard 
RBC Resident Conductor & TSYO Conductor

Gary Kulesha 
Composer Advisor

Emilie LeBel 
RBC Affiliate Composer


Menu

Orchestre Symphonique de Toronto

Réflexion

L’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto et l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts entretiennent un lien privilégié, et je suis ravi de diriger le TSO une fois de plus pour notre visite annuelle. Ce concert met en relief le répertoire russe, et comporte deux des œuvres les plus populaires du XXe siècle. Le superbe Concerto pour violon no 1 de Prokofiev est à la fois lyrique et éthéré, et compte parmi les œuvres les plus mémorables de ce compositeur. Karen Gomyo n’est rien de moins que spectaculaire dans ce morceau de bravoure. La Symphonie no 10 de Chostakovitch est une œuvre monumentale, d’une élévation et d’une magnitude qui situent d’emblée le compositeur parmi les grands symphonistes du XXe siècle, et l’impose comme un digne héritier de Mahler. Le concert s’ouvre sur une nouvelle pièce de la compositrice canadienne Emilie LeBel, une œuvre changeante et colorée, subtilement chatoyante et nuancée, tour à tour radieuse et insolite.

Réflexion

Le Concerto pour violon no 1 de Prokofiev est l’une de mes œuvres de prédilection. Je me souviens nettement de la première fois où je l’ai entendu : j’avais 13 ans et j’étais restée à la maison en raison d’un accès de fièvre; ma mère était revenue avec un nouveau CD de Maxim Vengerov, sur lequel il interprétait ce concerto. Dans mon état, c’est comme si j’avais été transportée dans un pays des merveilles musical, dans un autre monde, et j’ai tout de suite été séduite par cette œuvre émouvante et fortement imaginative. Dès lors, je me suis mise à l’écouter fréquemment. Le passage que je préfère vient vers la fin du dernier mouvement : la musique atteint un point culminant, puis rejoint tout doucement des hauteurs cosmiques, reprenant une envoûtante mélodie du début du concerto. Elle se dissipe ensuite dans le silence. J’en ai chaque fois des frissons!


Depuis 2004–2005, l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto (TSO) se produit chaque saison à la Salle Southam dans le cadre d’un programme d’échange avec l’Orchestre du CNA. À son dernier passage, en mai 2019, le TSO dirigé par sir Andrew Davis était accompagné du soliste invité Louis Lortie. Le 6 février 2020, ce sera au tour de l’Orchestre du CNA d’offrir un concert au Roy Thomson Hall de Toronto dans le cadre de la saison régulière du TSO.


Emilie Lebel

unsheltered (commande du TSO)

Née en 1979

La compositrice canadienne Emilie Cecilia LeBel se consacre à la composition de musique de concert, ainsi qu’à la création d’œuvres à techniques mixtes tirant parti des technologies numériques, et d’œuvres interdisciplinaires. Saluée pour sa « main sûre, qui ne cède pas à la facilité », et pour ses compositions « remarquablement subtiles et sensuelles », elle explore des univers sonores qui mettent essentiellement de l’avant résonance, textures et nuances de timbres.

LeBel a effectué son doctorat en composition musicale à l’Université de Toronto sous la houlette de Gary Kulesha et Robin Elliott (2013), et est récemment revenue au Canada après avoir enseigné pendant trois ans à l’Université du Montana. Elle vit à Edmonton, où elle œuvre comme professeure adjointe à l’Université MacEwan; elle revient fréquemment au bercail, à Toronto, dans le cadre de ses fonctions de compositrice associée du TSO.

Ses compositions ont été jouées et enregistrées à travers l’Amérique du Nord et du Sud, l’Europe et le Royaume-Uni, notamment par Mark Takeshi McGregor, les ensembles Women on the Verge et Ultraviolet, le Duo Nyans, l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver, le Quatuor à cordes Cecilia, les quatuors Bozzini et Arditti, le Land’s End Ensemble, Luciane Cardassi, l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada, le Thin Edge New Music Collective, le Trio Onyx, le 21C Festival, le Winnipeg New Music Festival et le collectif de claviers junctQín. Émilie LeBel a reçu de nombreuses récompenses, y compris le prix « Artiste émergente » de la Toronto Arts Foundation (2015), et le prix Elizabeth Massey de la Fédération canadienne des femmes diplômées des universités (2012); elle a aussi bénéficié de l’appui des conseils des arts de l’Ontario et du Canada, du Centre des arts de Banff, du Centre de musique canadienne, de l’Université de Toronto, de l’Université du Montana et de la Fondation SOCAN.

____
unsheltered

Composée en 2019
Création mondiale, commande du TSO

Réflexions de la compositrice au sujet d’unsheltered :

Dans cette terre bourdonnante et doublée, crainte étouffée, moi seule

et je vieillis ou je m’éloigne de moi et le moment que je préfère est toujours celui d’avant

Joanna Doxey, Book of Worry
 

Ma démarche artistique a récemment consisté, en bonne partie, à contempler les paysages que j’habite, à méditer sur ces lieux, ces odeurs, ces formes et ces sons en perpétuel mouvement. Trouvant souvent refuge dans de petits moments de calme, à l’extérieur de la ville, ma musique tend à incarner ces instants éphémères en les juxtaposant aux expériences quotidiennes de mon existence citadine.

J’ai commencé à travailler à ce projet au printemps 2019, alors qu’une grande partie de l’Alberta, au nord d’Edmonton, était en flammes. En contrepoint à cette crise locale, les actualités étaient dominées par un constant bombardement d’informations ayant trait à la crise des migrants et au changement climatique. L’idée même d’un abri tombait sous le sens alors que je m’asseyais chaque jour pour composer – immédiat ou éloigné, mon environnement m’apparaissait précaire, incertain, vibrant d’une énergie anxiogène revêtant un caractère inexorable. Cette œuvre se penche sur le besoin de trouver un refuge, avec une musique façonnée par des lignes qui la tirent vers le haut, entrecoupées de glissandos évanescents, menant à des moments où tout s’écroule et remplie de moments contrastés de légèreté et de repli.

— Traduit d’après David Perlman

PROKOFIEV

Concerto pour violon no 1 en ré majeur, op. 19

Sontsovka, Russie (auj. Ukraine), 27 avril 1891
Moscou, Russie, 5 mars 1953

Prokofiev a commencé à écrire son Concerto pour violon no 1 au début de l’année 1915, mais ne l’a achevé qu’à l’été 1917, peu avant la révolution qui allait mener à son exil volontaire en Occident pendant vingt ans. La création à Paris, le 18 octobre 1923, fut un échec, la bonne société parisienne de l’époque ayant jugé l’œuvre insuffisamment « moderne ». Elle est pourtant, à maints égards, caractéristique des œuvres de jeunesse avant-gardistes de Prokofiev (économie de la forme, maîtrise des techniques de composition, harmonies audacieuses, rythmes entraînants, ironie), mais les Parisiens n’avaient pas tort sur un point : il s’agit, pour l’essentiel, d’une œuvre profondément romantique.

De forme simple, ouvertement mélodique et vivement évocateur, le concerto se déploie naturellement, en toute limpidité, bien qu’il se distingue aussi, dans de nombreux passages, par son éclat et sa virtuosité. Prokofiev lui-même voyait, dans ses œuvres de jeunesse, cinq tendances fondamentales : le classicisme, le modernisme, l’énergie motrice, le lyrisme, et le « scherzoïsme » (c.-à-d. la fantaisie, l’humour et la dérision). Toutes les cinq sont ici à l’œuvre, à des degrés divers, bien que le lyrisme domine; en effet, la structure inhabituelle des trois mouvements (lent–rapide–modéré) a pour effet de placer les mouvements les plus amples et lyriques aux positions clés sur le plan dramatique.

Prokofiev qualifie l’ouverture du premier mouvement de « méditative », et donne ici pour la partie solo l’indication sognando – « rêveusement ». Le violon énonce le sujet principal sur fond d’altos frissonnants, et, à mesure que le thème se déploie sans se presser, l’accompagnement de l’orchestre se fait de plus en plus luxuriant. À l’exemple de beaucoup de mouvements lents du XIXe siècle, celui-ci est en trois parties (ABA), avec une montée en tension qui culmine dans la section médiane en contrastes avant de se résoudre dans la reprise du thème initial.

Le scherzo est aux antipodes du premier mouvement : bref, rapide, acidulé, endiablé, d’un caractère nerveux et espiègle. L’arrangement est vif, la partie de violon, tendue et percussive. Alors que le mouvement initial était chaleureusement et sincèrement évocateur, le scherzo est primitif et sarcastique – une danse diabolique où les répits sont rares et fugaces.

L’ironie cède le pas à un lyrisme renouvelé dans le finale. Non moins mélodique que le premier mouvement, le dernier est encore plus riche, dense et intensément passionné que celui-ci; il se déploie comme un déversement mélodique apparemment infini, auquel le tutti orchestral est d’un apport primordial. Les dernières pages sont radieuses. Vers la fin, le sujet d’ouverture du mouvement initial revient de manière inattendue et le concerto s’achève comme il avait commencé, rêveusement.

— Traduit d’après Kevin Bazzana

Chostakovitch

Symphonie no 10 en mi mineur, op. 93

Saint-Pétersbourg, Russie, 25 septembre 1906
Moscou, Russie, 9 août 1975

En 1948, une tristement célèbre résolution du parti communiste condamnait Chostakovitch pour « formalisme », sa musique étant jugée incompatible avec les valeurs soviétiques. Ce n’est qu’après la mort de Staline, en mars 1953, qu’il s’est risqué à rendre publique une nouvelle symphonie – sa dixième, composée rapidement pendant l’été et l’automne de la même année. Créée à Leningrad le 17 décembre, l’œuvre souleva quelques critiques acerbes des instances officielles (trop moderniste, trop sombre), mais récolta un franc succès auprès des musiciens et du public, et permit finalement à Chostakovitch de rétablir sa réputation et de remettre sa carrière sur les rails.

La signification de la Symphonie no 10 n’est toutefois pas des plus simples à décoder. Les commentaires que Chostakovitch a formulés publiquement à son sujet, adaptés au goût soviétique, se lisent souvent comme des parodies des banalités communistes : « dans cette œuvre, j’ai cherché à transmettre des sentiments humains et des passions ». Dans Témoignage : Les mémoires de Dimitri Chostakovitch, « rassemblées et éditées » par Solomon Volkov, et publiées en 1979, on le cite disant avoir voulu dépeindre, dans la Dixième, la tragédie du stalinisme, et décrivant le scherzo comme un portrait musical de Staline. Mais ces propos sont à prendre avec des pincettes, l’authenticité de cet ouvrage suscitant toujours des débats passionnés.

Dans un article rédigé vers le milieu des années 1990, Nelly Kravetz, une musicologue russe, fait valoir que le mystérieux allegretto n’a rien de politique, mais aurait plutôt été inspiré par la passion que son auteur nourrissait pour une ancienne élève, Elmira Nazirova. Le motif énigmatique et pastoral au cor qui hante le milieu du mouvement serait un acronyme musical de cette dernière, niché dans les sections extérieures dans lesquelles, pour la première fois dans l’une de ses œuvres, Chostakovitch intègre aussi son propre acronyme musical de quatre notes (« DSCH », selon l’alphabet musical allemand ou , mi bémol, do et si), motif récurrent dans ses œuvres tardives. Par conséquent, quelle que puisse être la portée politique de l’œuvre par ailleurs, il semble bien qu’un « programme caché » de nature sentimentale entre aussi en jeu.

La symphonie, dans son ensemble, revêt surtout un caractère tragique. Le premier mouvement est une méditation triste, voire amère par moments. Suivant un grand arc dramatique, il cumule dans une musique furieuse, dissonante, où les massifs sons de cuivres ont un effet renversant. Cependant, le mouvement s’achève comme il a commencé – dans la morosité. Le bref allegro qui suit, par contraste, est essentiellement un fortissimo rapide et furieux – brut, lugubre et brutal. Qu’il parodie ou non Staline, il brosse un portrait sinistre du pouvoir et de la violence exercés sans entraves. À la suite de l’allegretto, un sombre et pompeux andante introduit l’entraînant allegro qui conclut la symphonie.

Comme beaucoup des finales de Chostakovitch, celui-ci pose problème. Les uns y entendent un effort sincère pour donner à l’œuvre une conclusion d’un optimisme plausible, en conformité avec l’esthétique soviétique. D’autres y perçoivent plutôt une critique de cette même esthétique soviétique – une gaieté exagérée suggérant plutôt une posture ironique ou subversive. D’aucuns considèrent ce mouvement comme une reddition cynique et amère au pouvoir – une forme de trahison par rapport à une œuvre tragique. Tous conviennent, cependant, que ce finale ne peut être assimilé que très superficiellement à une fin heureuse. La musique est complexe et à vif, tant sur le plan de la forme que d’un point de vue psychologique, réactivant la charge tragique du premier mouvement. Son ambivalence donne à penser que sa signification – comme celle de l’ensemble de la symphonie, en fait – est à la fois personnelle et politique. Après tout, il s’agit d’une œuvre que Chostakovitch ne s’est pas contenté de signer : il y a intégré son propre nom.

— Traduit d’après Kevin Bazzana

Orchestre symphonique de Toronto

Commanditaire présentateur de la saison 2019–2020 du TSO : BMO

Les concerts du TSO dirigés par sir Andrew Davis cette saison bénéficient du généreux soutien de Hans et Susan Brenninkmeyer.

Le TSO remercie Mary Beck de son généreux mécénat tout au long de la saison 2019–2020.

Sir Andrew Davis 
Directeur artistique par intérim

Peter Oundjian 
Chef d’orchestre émérite

Steven Reineke 
Premier chef des concerts Pops

Simon Rivard 
Chef d’orchestre en résidence RBC et chef de l’Orchestre symphonique des jeunes de Toronto

Gary Kulesha 
Compositeur-conseil

Emilie LeBel 
Compositrice affiliée RBC


Menu