We are open, with charging stations, free WiFi and complementary coffee.
This event has passed
  • Beethoven Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67

The NAC Orchestra brings to life Beethoven’s electrifying and tempestuous Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5. Groundbreaking when it debuted in 1808, the world’s most famous symphony gives virtually every instrument in the orchestra a solo, each individual voice on a collective journey culminating in powerful triumph.

One would be hard-pressed to find anyone who does not immediately recognize the signature opening “ta-ta-ta-tum”. It remains a leitmotif, throughout popular culture, film and television, somehow capturing the essence of human emotion -- it transcends time and cultural evolution. Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5. is arresting in its measured softness and exhilarating in its strength. It captivates the listener from the very first note and is, without reservation, a masterpiece.

 “Radiant beams shoot through this region's deep night, and we become aware of gigantic shadows which, rocking back and forth, close in on us and destroy everything within us except the pain of endless longing—a longing in which every pleasure that rose up in jubilant tones sinks and succumbs, and only through this pain, which, while consuming but not destroying love, hope, and joy, tries to burst our breasts with full-voiced harmonies of all the passions, we live on and are captivated beholders of the spirits.”-Famed eighteenth-century music critic E.T.E. Hoffmann on Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5.

Music. Food. Wine. Friends. 
A Perfect Way to Enjoy it All.

Unwind at the end of your week with our wildly popular Casual Fridays!

5:30 PM    Pre-concert 5 à 7 with music in the Southam Hall Lobby featuring the Clayton Connell Trio. This event is OPEN TO ALL whether or not you attend the concert. Enjoy cocktails and tapas, available for purchase. All tapas are prepared by the NAC culinary team drawing inspiration from individual Casual Fridays concerts for an original and authentic flair. You can purchase tapas tickets onsite the night of the concert at a price of $8 per tapa. Tapas Tickets can also be purchased in advance through your my NAC Account or at the box office (4 tapas tickets for $30). Tickets are valid for any Casual Fridays performance during the 2018/19 season.

7 PM    90-minute NAC Orchestra concert without intermission. Each invited, guest concert host connects with the artists on stage to discover more about them and the music. Side screens give the audience a chance to get up close and personal with the evenings performers.

8:30 PM    Post-concert party with DJ Trevor Walker in the Main Foyer, OPEN TO ALL whether or not you attended the concert. Mix and mingle with fellow music lovers and NAC Orchestra musicians!

Learn more ›

Duration

Performance is approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes with no intermission.


Menu

Cet événement est passé
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre
  • Beethoven Symphonie no 5 en do mineur, opus 67

L’Orchestre du CNA fait revivre l’électrisante et tumultueuse Symphonie no 5 de Beethoven. Révolutionnaire à sa création en 1808, la plus célèbre symphonie du monde confie un solo à pratiquement chaque instrument de l’orchestre, unissant chaque voix individuelle dans un envol collectif qui se conclut en apothéose.

Bien rares sont ceux qui ne peuvent reconnaître immédiatement  le motif d’ouverture « sol-sol-sol-mi (bémol) ». C’est un leitmotiv qui parcourt toute la culture populaire, le cinéma et la télévision, captant en quelque sorte l’essence même de l’émotion humaine – il transcende les époques et l’évolution culturelle. La Symphonie no 5 de Beethoven est prenante par sa tendresse contenue, et exaltante par sa puissance. Elle captive l’auditeur dès la toute première note et constitue incontestablement un chef-d’œuvre.

« D’ardents rayons percent la nuit profonde de cet empire et nous percevons des ombres de géants, qui s’élèvent et s’abaissent, nous enveloppant de plus en plus et annihilant tout en nous, et pas seulement la douleur de l’infini désir dans lequel sombre et disparaît tout plaisir sitôt surgi en notes d’allégresse; et c’est seulement dans cette douleur qui se consume d’amour, d’espoir, de joie, mais ne détruit pas, veut faire éclater notre poitrine dans un accord unanime de toutes les passions, que nous continuons à vivre et sommes des visionnaires ravis. » – E.T.A. Hoffmann, célèbre écrivain et critique musical du XVIIIe siècle, sur la Symphonie no 5 de Beethoven.

Musique. Bouchées. Vin. Amis. 
Tout est là pour une soirée réussie.

Finissez la semaine sur une belle note avec notre sensationnelle série de trois concerts!

17 h 30   Le Prélude culinaire et musical dans le Foyer de la Salle Southam met en vedette le trio Clayton Connell et est OUVERT À TOUS, aucun billet de concert requis. Des cocktails et des tapas seront en vente. Le menu original et authentique, préparé par l’équipe culinaire du CNA, est inspiré des œuvres au programme. Vous pouvez vous procurer des billets tapas sur place le soir du concert à 8 $ l’unité. Les billets peuvent aussi être achetés à l’avance par l’intermédiaire de votre compte CNA ou à la Billetterie (4 tapas pour 30 $), et sont valables pour toutes les représentations des Vendredis décontractés de la saison 2018‑2019.

19 h    Concert de l’Orchestre du CNA, 90 minutes sans entracte. Chaque animateur invité reçoit les artistes sur scène afin d’en apprendre plus sur eux et sur la musique. Des écrans latéraux permettent au public d’assister à une rencontre intime avec les interprètes de la soirée.   

20 h 30    Réception d’après-concert avec le DY Trevor Walker dans le Foyer principal - OUVERT À TOUS, aucun billet de concert requis. Restez bavarder avec d’autres mélomanes et avec les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA!

Apprenez-en plus dans les notes de programme ›

Durée

Durée approximative de 1 heure et 30 minutes sans entracte.

Menu