Miloš Performs Howard Shore

May 2019

  1. May 1 2019


  2. May 2 2019


Milos Karadaglic
“Howard Shore, composer of some of the most recognisable and beloved melodies of our times, has written a stunning new guitar concerto for us. At turns elegiac, wistful, tuneful and virtuosic, it is a fabulous work in the tradition of Rodrigo’s ‘Aranjuez’ and one that I am proud and delighted to be premiering here in Ottawa!” Alexander Shelley
  • Brahms Symphony No. 1
  • Howard Shore The Forest: Concerto for Guitar and Orchestra

This unforgettable evening features the debut of Miloš Karadaglić performing the world premiere of Canadian composer Howard Shore’s Guitar Concerto – commissioned by Alexander Shelley and the NAC Orchestra especially for the superstar Montenegrin guitarist.

Shore is revered worldwide for his film work, including his score for the epic Lord of the Rings trilogy and his many collaborations  with acclaimed Canadian director David Cronenberg.  Miloš has, in just a few short years, made a global name for himself as a leading classical guitarist of his generation.  

Johannes Brahms worked for two decades on his first symphony, always concerned about following in the shadow of Beethoven, although he needn’t have worried. While his Symphony No. 1 is an avowed homage to Beethoven, it is also uniquely Brahms – at once tempestuous, serene, and triumphant.

Let yourself be swept away by this adventurous evening of classical music with Alexander Shelley and the NAC Orchestra.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

29 Apr

30 Apr

1 May

  • 8:00 PM

2 May

  • 8:00 PM

3 May

4 May

5 May


Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission.

Milos Karadaglic
Milos Karadaglic © Mélanie Gomez
Howard Shore

Cet événement est passé
Milos Karadaglic © Mélanie Gomez
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre
« Howard Shore, auteur de quelques-unes des mélodies les plus connues et aimées de notre temps, a écrit pour nous un superbe concerto. C’est une œuvre fabuleuse, tour à tour élégiaque, mélancolique, mélodieuse et virtuose, dans la veine du Concierto de Aranjuez de Rodrigo, que je suis fier et ravi de créer ici, à Ottawa! » Alexander Shelley
  • Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel Ouverture en do majeur
  • Howard Shore The Forest, concerto pour guitare et orchestre*
  • Brahms Symphonie no 1 en do mineur, op. 68

NE MANQUEZ PAS LA CAUSERIE D’AVANT-SPECTACLE AVEC HOWARD SHORE, ANIMÉE PAR PAUL WELLS.

Pour ses débuts au CNA, Miloš Karadaglić interprète en création mondiale le Concerto pour guitare du compositeur canadien Howard Shore – une commande d’Alexander Shelley et de l’Orchestre du CNA expressément destinée au célèbre guitariste monténégrin.

Howard Shore est partout admiré pour ses musiques de film, dont celles de la trilogie du Seigneur des anneaux et celles issues de ses multiples collaborations avec le célèbre réalisateur canadien David Cronenberg. Miloš Karadaglić s’est taillé, en quelques années à peine, une place au rang des tout premiers guitaristes classiques de sa génération. 

Obnubilé par l’ombre gigantesque de Beethoven, Johannes Brahms a mis près de vingt ans à écrire sa Première symphonie. Il s’inquiétait à tort : bien que sa Symphonie no 1 constitue un hommage explicite à Beethoven, elle n’en est pas moins authentiquement brahmsienne – à la fois tourmentée, sereine et triomphante.

Laissez-vous transporter par cet audacieux programme de musique classique en compagnie d’Alexander Shelley et de l’Orchestre du CNA.

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte

video:
video:
Milos Karadaglic © Mélanie Gomez
Milos Karagdaglic
Howard Shore
Menu