Miloš Performs Howard Shore

Reflection

I fondly remember a post-concert conversation over a glass of wine with my friend, tonight’s soloist Miloš Karadaglić, as we mused on the idea of commissioning the extraordinary Howard Shore to write a guitar concerto for us and the NAC Orchestra. Having not the slightest idea whether the suggestion would inspire this great composer, we simply reached out and asked. Nothing ventured, nothing gained…

And here we are! What a thrill to be giving the world premiere performances of this new concerto in Ottawa this week. A winner of three Academy Awards, three Golden Globes and four GRAMMY® Awards, Howard is a true Canadian legend and I am honoured and proud that we can be the first to share in his latest creation.

Reflection

Howard Shore is a gentleman and a true master. I have for many years been fascinated by his insanely imaginative soundtracks and classical compositions. I still find it hard to believe that he wrote a piece for me... I am indeed the luckiest “plucker” in the world! 

The work is magical, just like the enchanted forest Howard wanted to paint with his unique musical brushstrokes. The first time I heard the piece, I was moved by the honest simplicity of its harmonies, idiomatic writing and incredibly programmatic nature that makes you instantly dream up so many colours and sceneries in your head. I have been struck by how masterfully, through the texture of the sound he creates, amongst so many shades of musical colour, he discretely interweaves a net of various echoes from my own homeland. Montenegro and its dark forests have been an inspiration to Howard and myself from the beginning. I have been counting the days until this wonderful dream we share becomes reality. 


This is the first time the NAC Orchestra has performed Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel’s Overture in C major.

- - - - -

This is the world premiere of Canadian composer Howard Shore’s The Forest, a concerto commissioned by Alexander Shelley and the NAC Orchestra, written for classical guitarist Miloš Karadaglić.

- - - - -

In 1982, Günther Herbig was on the podium for the NAC Orchestra’s first performance of Brahms’s Symphony No. 1. Their most recent performance took place in 2015 under the direction of Pinchas Zukerman.


Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel

Overture in C major

Born in Hamburg, November 14, 1805
Died in Berlin, May 17, 1847

Like her younger brother Felix, Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel was a highly accomplished pianist and a fine composer as well. If her skill as a composer was not quite on the level of Felix’s, Fanny was still one of the foremost female composers of the nineteenth century; but being a woman, her talents and abilities were not acknowledged on the same scale as her male counterparts. Even her own brother discouraged her from publishing her compositions on the grounds that this was not a suitable occupation for a nice young lady. 

At the age of seventeen she fell in love with a painter named Wilhelm Hensel, but much like Robert Schumann and Clara Wieck, parental disapproval kept them apart and made marriage difficult. Only six years after they fell in love did they marry, and that was when Hensel became curator of a huge art collection. The marriage was a happy one, but Fanny died young, succumbing to a massive stroke at the age of 41. Felix was so distraught that his own death followed six months later, due certainly in part to grief over the death of his beloved sister.

Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel’s output was considerable, consisting mostly of songs, piano pieces and chamber music. The overture on tonight’s program is her sole purely orchestral composition (there also exist some choral and vocal works with orchestra). It was written probably sometime between 1830 and 1832, and published only in 1994 by Furore-Edition in Kassel, Germany. 

The ten-minute Overture conforms closely to most other works of its kind by Schubert, Weber, Schumann, or Felix Mendelssohn. It opens with a slow introduction (“not so much starting as awakening,” as one commentator put it). This leads into the Allegro di molto main section, laid out in standard sonata form with two principal themes (the first energetic, the second flowing and songlike, both presented by violins), a development section, recapitulation, and majestic coda.

— Program notes by Robert Markow

Howard Shore

The Forest: Concerto for Guitar and Orchestra*

Born in Toronto, October 18, 1946
Now living in New York City

Howard Shore writes his music from his place in the forest where he lives surrounded by nature. His music is influenced by this environment. Here, The Forest refers to the importance of developing and maintaining a relationship with the natural world. “I live in a place where I am encompassed by things that grow and bloom and fade. It is everchanging. It is always striving for equilibrium and harmony. I find this interconnectedness and interdependency inspiring,” Shore said. “These are ideas I carry with me and are often the source from which I express my musical ideas. Enjoy the beauty of the solo guitar, the orchestra and the virtuosity of Miloš and Maestro Shelley’s artistry.”

Shore’s latest concert work, commissioned by the NAC Orchestra’s Music Director Alexander Shelley and receiving its world premiere this week, is a concerto for guitarist Miloš Karadaglić. “At turns elegiac, wistful, tuneful and virtuosic, it is a fabulous work in the tradition of Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez,” comments Shelley.

The 21-minute work is in three movements, which may be separated by pauses at the maestro’s discretion. Asked if his concerto bears stylistic similarity to his famous film scores, Shore replied, “No, but I’ve incorporated a few surprises, including at one point an allusion to Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez, so beloved by many.”

Like Wolfgang Korngold, Bernard Herrmann and Miklós Rózsa in an earlier age, Shore has composed concert music as well as music for film. The gorgeous and subtle effects Shore draws from his percussion section may bring to mind the late Japanese composer Tōru Takemitsu, whose career successfully combined the worlds of concert and film music.

The film The Song of Names, directed by François Girard and featuring Shore’s score and the violin virtuoso Ray Chen, will premiere in the fall.

* NAC commission, world premiere May 1, 2019

— Program notes by Howard Shore

Brahms

Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Born in Hamburg, May 7, 1833
Died in Vienna, April 3, 1897

For Johannes Brahms, the symphony was the very apogee of orchestral music. So great was the shadow cast over the nineteenth century by the mantle of Beethoven’s symphonies that Brahms spent nearly 20 years on his first work in this genre. No other major symphonist had waited so long before offering his first symphony. By the age of 43, when Brahms finally brought forth his C-minor Symphony, Beethoven had written all but one of his nine; Schumann had written all four of his; Mendelssohn, Schubert and Mozart were already in their graves; and Haydn was up to No. 60 or so. But on the other hand, aside from Berlioz, Schumann, Sibelius and Mahler, it is difficult to think of another composer whose first symphony is equal in stature to Brahms’s. After the first Viennese performance of Brahms’s symphony, the critic Eduard Hanslick wrote that “seldom, if ever, has the entire musical world awaited a composer’s first symphony with such tense anticipation.” 

Brahms’s cautious, humble, highly self-critical approach to composition is well-known, but twenty years to bring forth a single symphony? His first attempt to write such a work took place in 1853 at the age of 20; this material became diverted into the Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor. At about the same time, he made sketches for another symphonic movement which eventually, in 1862, were turned into the first movement Allegro of the symphony. More years passed. Spurred perhaps by the success of his Haydn Variations in 1874, Brahms wrote the remaining movements, and added the slow introduction to the opening Allegro.

Right up to performance time, Brahms continued to revise. The inner movements, for example, were shortened to offset the length and weight of the outer ones. For the world premiere on November 4, 1876, Brahms deliberately chose a modest setting – “a little town that has a good friend, a good conductor and a good orchestra.” The “little town” was Karlsruhe; the “good friend” and “good conductor” was Otto Dessoff, conductor of the Vienna Philharmonic from 1860–1875. The premiere and subsequent performances led by Brahms met with moderate success, but the symphony had a long hard struggle, right into the twentieth century, to gain public acceptance. It was considered too dense, turgid, dissonant, ungrateful to the ears, generally too formidable, lacking in melody and too generously endowed with counterpoint. Nevertheless, the symphony had its champions too, including the conductor Hans von Bülow, who dubbed it “The Tenth” (the obvious reference was to Beethoven), and who possibly coined the expression “The Three Bs of Music” (Bach, Beethoven and Brahms).

The difficult time this work had on its road to success might be seen as a reflection of its musical outline – from opening struggle to concluding triumph. The first mighty bars of the slow introduction (the only Brahms symphony to open thus) herald a work of enormous scope, power and impact. Over a steady, thundering tread in the timpani and basses, two simultaneous lines work their way forward: one upwards (violins and cellos) and one downwards (woodwinds, horns, violas) – in a gesture that seems almost to be tearing apart the musical fabric. Despite its fifteen-minute length, the entire movement is tightly-knit; all thematic, and even transitional material of the Allegro is found in the slow introduction, almost as if this passage had provided the movement’s molecular building blocks.

The “demonic passion, wild energy, harsh defiance, and hard, cold, stony grandeur” Walter Niemann finds in the first movement gives way to a more relaxed, resigned, though still noble second movement. Here we find some of Brahms’s most exquisite solo writing, which includes a serenely lyrical theme for the oboe, followed a bit later by a plaintive narrative for the same instrument, and, towards the end of the movement, the same lyrical theme for oboe, horn and violin together in three different registers.

The third movement is a gracious Allegretto rather than a robust scherzo like Beethoven would have written. The mood is intimate, the emotions relaxed, the orchestral colours painted in pastels – all welcome qualities in anticipation of the tremendous emotional struggle about to be unleashed in the finale.

In the fourth movement, as in the first, we again find an elaborate slow introduction presaging all thematic material to follow. If the first movement was grand, the last is grander still – the crown of the whole symphony. The wildly shifting moods (shades of the introduction to the finale of Beethoven’s Ninth) are dispelled by a glowing horn solo in C major, followed by a chorale theme in the trombones (hitherto unused in the symphony!). The noble, march-like theme of the Allegro has often been compared to that of Beethoven’s “Ode to Joy” tune. The epic drama that follows culminates in a return of the trombone chorale now blared forth by the full orchestra. The symphony concludes in grandiose majesty. Glorious C major has triumphed over tragic C minor.

— Program notes by Robert Markow


Menu

Tous les spectacles et événements sont annulés jusqu’au lundi 27 avril 2020

Miloš joue Howard Shore

Réflexion

Je me souviens avec plaisir d’une discussion avec mon ami Miloš Karadaglić, notre soliste de ce soir : un jour, après un concert, un verre de vin à la main, nous avons contemplé l’idée de commander à l’extraordinaire Howard Shore un concerto pour guitare pour Miloš et l’Orchestre du CNA. Ne sachant pas le moins du monde si cette proposition inspirerait le grand compositeur, nous l’avons simplement contacté et lui avons fait part de notre projet, sans attentes particulières…

Et nous voilà ici ce soir! Quel bonheur de pouvoir exécuter ce concerto en première mondiale à Ottawa cette semaine! Howard Shore est une véritable légende canadienne de la musique, lauréat de trois prix Oscars, de trois Golden Globes et de quatre prix GRAMMY®. Je suis vraiment honoré et fier de partager avec vous sa plus récente création.

Réflexion

Howard Shore est un gentleman et un maître à part entière. Je suis fasciné depuis de nombreuses années par l’inventivité renversante de ses musiques de films et de ses compositions classiques. J’ai encore du mal à croire qu’il a écrit cette pièce pour moi… je suis sûrement le « pinceur de cordes » le plus chanceux du monde! 

L’œuvre est magique, tout comme la forêt enchantée qu’Howard a voulu peindre avec son incomparable palette musicale. La première fois que j’ai entendu cette composition, j’ai été ému par la simplicité sans fard de ses harmonies, l’écriture idiomatique et la nature programmatique saisissante de la musique, évoquant irrésistiblement couleurs et scènes qui viennent instantanément à l’esprit. J’ai été frappé par sa manière magistrale d’intégrer discrètement à la texture du son qu’il produit, parmi tant de nuances musicales, une trame faisant écho à divers aspects de mon pays natal. Le Monténégro et ses sombres forêts ont été une source d’inspiration pour Howard et pour moi dès le départ. Je comptais les jours jusqu’à ce que ce merveilleux rêve que nous partagions devienne réalité.


C’est la première fois que l’Orchestre du CNA interprète l’Ouverture en do majeur de Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel.

- - - - -

Commandé par Alexander Shelley et l’Orchestre du CNA et écrit à l’intention du guitariste classique Miloš Karadaglić, le concerto du compositeur canadien Howard Shore The Forest est présenté en première mondiale.

- - - - -

Günther Herbig était au pupitre pour la première interprétation de la Symphonie no 1 de Brahms par l’Orchestre du CNA en 1982. Sa dernière prestation a eu lieu en 2015 sous la direction de Pinchas Zukerman.


Ouverture en do majeur

Hambourg, 14 novembre 1805
Berlin, 17 mai 1847

Comme son frère cadet Félix, Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel était à la fois une pianiste accomplie et une brillante compositrice. Bien que ses dons pour la composition ne puissent rivaliser avec ceux de son illustre frère, elle n’en demeure pas moins l’une des plus importantes compositrices du XIXe siècle; mais parce qu’elle était une femme, ses talents et ses habiletés n’ont pas reçu la reconnaissance à laquelle avaient droit ses homologues masculins. Félix lui-même la dissuadait de publier ses compositions, sous prétexte que la composition n’était pas une occupation convenable pour une jeune femme de bonne famille. 

À dix-sept ans, Fanny s’éprend d’un peintre du nom de Wilhelm Hensel, mais la désapprobation des parents les sépare et fait obstacle à leur mariage, comme dans le cas de Robert Schumann et Clara Wieck. Ce n’est que six ans plus tard que le couple convole enfin en justes noces, alors même que Hensel est nommé conservateur d’une vaste collection d’œuvres d’art. Leur union est heureuse, mais Fanny s’éteint prématurément, succombant à une attaque d’apoplexie (on dirait aujourd’hui un AVC) à 41 ans. Félix en est si profondément affecté qu’il la suit dans la tombe six mois plus tard, emporté, au moins en partie, par le chagrin que lui avait causé la mort de sa sœur bien-aimée.

La production de Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel est considérable et se concentre essentiellement sur les lieder, les pièces pour piano et la musique de chambre. L’ouverture au programme du concert de ce soir est son unique composition purement orchestrale (on lui doit aussi quelques œuvres chorales et vocales avec orchestre). Vraisemblablement écrite entre 1830 et 1832, elle n’a été publiée qu’en 1994 par la maison d’édition Furore à Kassel, en Allemagne. 

Cette ouverture de dix minutes est construite sur le même modèle que la plupart des œuvres du genre composées par Schubert, Weber, Schumann ou Félix Mendelssohn; elle débute par une introduction lente (« moins un point de départ qu’un éveil », comme l’a souligné un commentateur); celle-ci mène à la section principale, Allegro di molto, qui épouse la forme sonate conventionnelle avec deux thèmes principaux (le premier, énergique, le second, gracieux et mélodieux, tous deux exposés par les violons), une section de développement, une reprise et une majestueuse coda.

— Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Howard Shore

The Forest, concerto pour guitare et orchestre*

Toronto, 10 octobre 1946
Vit maintenant à New York

Howard Shore écrit ses œuvres chez lui, en pleine nature, près de la forêt. Sa musique porte la marque de cet environnement. Ici, The Forest évoque l’importance d’établir et d’entretenir une relation avec la nature. « Je vis dans un endroit où je suis constamment entouré de tout ce qui croît, fleurit et se fane », explique le compositeur. « Tout se transforme en permanence. Tout tend vers l’équilibre et l’harmonie. Je trouve inspirantes cette interconnexion et cette interdépendance. Je porte ces idées en moi, et elles sont souvent à l’origine de ce que j’exprime dans ma musique. Je vous invite à savourer la beauté de la guitare solo et de l’orchestre, la virtuosité de Miloš et l’art consommé du maestro Shelley. »

La plus récente œuvre de concert de M. Shore, commandée par le directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA, Alexander Shelley, et dont la création mondiale a lieu cette semaine, est un concerto écrit à l’intention du guitariste Miloš Karadaglić. « Tour à tour élégiaque, mélancolique, mélodieuse et virtuose, c’est une œuvre magnifique, dans la veine du Concierto de Aranjuez de Rodrigo », note Alexander Shelley.

Cette composition de 21 minutes s’articule en trois mouvements qui peuvent être enchaînés avec ou sans pauses, à la discrétion du chef d’orchestre. Quand on lui demande si son concerto offre quelques similitudes de style avec ses plus célèbres musiques de film, Howard Shore répond : « Non, mais j’y ai glissé quelques surprises, comme une allusion au Concierto de Aranjuez de Rodrigo, chéri par tant de mélomanes. »

À l’exemple des Wolfgang Korngold, Bernard Herrmann et Miklós Rózsa de jadis, Howard Shore compose aussi bien des œuvres de concert que de la musique de film. Les effets délectables et subtils qu’il obtient des percussions peuvent évoquer le regretté compositeur japonais Tōru Takemitsu, qui a également navigué avec succès, tout au long de sa carrière, entre les salles de concert et le grand écran.

Le film The Song of Names, réalisé par François Girard avec la musique de M. Shore et la participation du violoniste virtuose Ray Chen, prendra l’affiche cet automne.

* Commande du CNA, création mondiale le 1er mai 2019

— Traduit d’après Howard Shore

Brahms

Symphonie no 1 en do mineur, op. 68

Hambourg, 7 mai 1833
Vienne, 3 avril 1897

Pour Johannes Brahms, la symphonie représentait le summum de la musique orchestrale. L’ombre projetée sur tout le XIXe siècle par les symphonies de Beethoven était si imposante que Brahms mit 20 ans à composer sa première œuvre du genre. Aucun autre compositeur de premier plan n’a attendu si longtemps avant de livrer sa première symphonie. À l’âge de 43 ans, Brahms produisit enfin sa symphonie en do mineur. Au même âge, Beethoven avait écrit huit des neuf symphonies qu’il allait léguer à la postérité; Schumann avait achevé ses quatre symphonies; Mendelssohn, Schubert et Mozart étaient déjà dans leur tombe; et Haydn en était à une soixantaine d’œuvres symphoniques, à peu de choses près. En revanche, on peut difficilement imaginer un autre compositeur dont la première symphonie égale en perfection celle de Brahms – à part, peut-être, Schumann, Mahler et Sibelius, mais il est permis d’en douter. À la suite de la première exécution viennoise de l’œuvre, le critique musical Eduard Hanslick écrivit : « Rarement, sinon jamais, le monde musical n’aura attendu la première symphonie d’un compositeur avec autant d’impatience. »

La méthode de composition de Brahms, prudente, humble et fortement critique d’elle-même, est bien connue, mais faut-il 20 ans pour mettre au monde une seule symphonie? C’est en 1853, à 20 ans, que le compositeur tenta pour la première fois d’écrire une œuvre du genre; le résultat prit bientôt place dans le Concerto pour piano no 1 en ré mineur. À peu près au même moment, Brahms réalisa des esquisses pour un autre mouvement symphonique qui devinrent, ultimement en 1862, le premier mouvement de la symphonie, marqué Allegro. Les années passèrent. Encouragé, peut-être, par le succès de ses Variations sur un thème de Haydn en 1874, le compositeur écrivit les autres mouvements de la symphonie et ajouta la lente introduction à l’allegro d’ouverture.   

Il continua à réviser l’œuvre jusqu’au moment même de sa création. Les mouvements intérieurs, par exemple, furent écourtés pour contrebalancer la longueur et l’ampleur des mouvements extérieurs. Pour la première mondiale, le 4 novembre 1876, Brahms opta délibérément pour un cadre modeste : « une petite ville pourvue d’un bon ami, d’un bon chef d’orchestre et d’un bon orchestre ». La « petite ville » était Karlsruhe; le « bon ami et chef d’orchestre » était Otto Dessoff, qui avait dirigé l’Orchestre philharmonique de Vienne de 1860 à 1875. Cette création, de même que les exécutions subséquentes dirigées par Brahms lui-même, obtinrent un succès modéré, mais la symphonie traversa ensuite un long purgatoire, jusqu’au cœur du XXe siècle, avant d’être appréciée à sa juste valeur par le public. Elle était considérée trop dense, indigeste, dissonante, ingrate pour les oreilles, généralement trop ampoulée, dépourvue de mélodie et truffée à l’excès de contrepoints. Mais l’œuvre a aussi eu ses défenseurs, tel le chef d’orchestre Hans von Bülow, qui la surnomma « la Dixième » (référence manifeste à Beethoven) et qui inventa, croit-on, l’expression « les trois B de la musique » (Bach, Beethoven et Brahms). 

Le chemin long et ardu qu’a dû suivre cette œuvre pour atteindre au succès fait écho, d’une certaine manière, à sa construction même, depuis son ouverture tumultueuse jusqu’à sa conclusion triomphale. La majesté des premières mesures de l’introduction lente (c’est la seule symphonie de Brahms qui commence de cette façon) annonce une œuvre d’une ampleur, d’une puissance et d’une portée considérables. Deux lignes simultanées (l’une, ascendante, pour violons et violoncelles et l’autre, descendante, pour bois, cors et altos) se dessinent au-dessus d’un grondement de timbales et de contrebasses en un élan qui semble presque déchirer le tissu musical. Bien que son exécution dure près de 15 minutes, ce mouvement est extrêmement concentré; tout le matériau thématique de l’allegro – y compris celui des transitions – émane de celui de l’introduction lente, comme si ce passage avait fourni au mouvement tout entier ses blocs de construction organiques.

« La passion démoniaque, la violente énergie, le farouche défi et l’austère grandeur » que décèle Walter Niemann dans le premier mouvement cèdent le pas, dans celui qui le suit, à une atmosphère de calme résignation qui n’en reste pas moins empreinte de noblesse. On trouve ici quelques-uns des plus exquis passages solos de Brahms, y compris une mélodie douce et lyrique confiée au hautbois qui, un peu plus loin, élabore une sorte de complainte, et, vers la fin du mouvement, un thème exécuté à la fois par le hautbois, le cor et le violon dans trois registres différents.

Le troisième mouvement est un allegretto gracieux et sentimental, en lieu et place du robuste scherzo que Beethoven n’eût pas manqué d’écrire à cet endroit. D’un caractère intime et apaisé, il déploie des couleurs orchestrales douces et claires – une pause fort bienvenue avant la tempête d’émotions qui va déferler dans le finale. 

Le quatrième mouvement, comme le premier, s’ouvre sur une lente introduction qui porte en germe tout le matériau thématique à venir. Plus ample encore que le premier, ce mouvement constitue assurément le point culminant de toute la symphonie. La juxtaposition abrupte d’atmosphères contrastées (faisant écho à l’introduction du finale de la Symphonie no 9 de Beethoven) se dissipe pour faire place à un thème solennel en do majeur au cor solo, suivi d’un choral confié aux trombones (lesquels étaient restés muets depuis le début de la symphonie). Le thème noble de l’allegro, apparenté à une marche, a souvent été comparé à celui de « l’Ode à la joie ». Le retour du choral des trombones, maintenant entonné par l’orchestre entier, marque le point culminant du drame épique qui suit. La Symphonie no 1 s’achève avec une majestueuse grandeur, alors que la tonalité radieuse de do majeur triomphe de la tonalité tragique de do mineur.

— Traduit d’après Robert Markow


Menu