Lisiecki and Ravel

April 2019

  1. Apr 17 2019


  2. Apr 18 2019


Jan Lisiecki © Holger Hage
  • Ravel Mother Goose Suite
  • Ravel Piano Concerto in G major
  • Ravel Boléro
  • Vivier Lonely Child

Alexander Shelley and the NAC Orchestra offer a French-inspired program featuring contrasting works by jazz-influenced French composer Maurice Ravel and Quebec’s doomed visionary Claude Vivier.

 In his  Mother Goose Suite, Ravel takes the listener gently by the hand, leading us into the world of fairy tales, culminating in a glittering soundgarden of magical childhood memories.

In Vivier’s Lonely Child, acclaimed Canadian soprano Erin Wall inhabits both the innocent world of a child and the often-difficult world of an adult, giving voice to our search for simple and unconditional love.

Calgary-born pianist Jan Lisiecki has become an international sensation, winning a coveted Echo Klassik Award for his 2016 recording of works by Chopin.  He performs Ravel’s dazzling, jazz-influenced Concerto in G, deftly navigating its textures and harmonies, with virtuosic technique that will leave you breathless.

Ravel’s unforgettable one-movement Boléro ranks among the most listened to classical pieces of all time, with it simple, beguiling opening phrase, repeating and building into an erotic crescendo. Since its 1928 premiere by the Paris Opera’s Ballet, Boléro has become a part of our artistic psyche, embraced by movie-makers, rap artists, skaters, and video game designers alike.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

15 Apr

16 Apr

17 Apr

  • 8:00 PM

18 Apr

  • 8:00 PM

19 Apr

20 Apr

21 Apr


Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission.

Jan Lisiecki © Holger Hage
Jan Lisiecki © Holger Hage
Erin Wall © Kristin Hoebermann

Jan Lisiecki © Holger Hage
  • Ravel Ma mère l’Oye – Suite
  • Vivier Lonely Child
  • Ravel Concerto pour piano en sol majeur
  • Ravel Boléro

Alexander Shelley et l’Orchestre du CNA proposent un programme d’inspiration française avec des œuvres variées de Maurice Ravel, un compositeur influencé par le jazz, et du Québécois Claude Vivier, visionnaire au destin tragique.

Dans sa Suite Ma mère l’Oye, Ravel nous prend tout doucement par la main pour nous entraîner dans l’univers des contes de fées, jusqu’à l’étincelant jardin sonore des souvenirs magiques de l’enfance. Dans Lonely Child de Vivier, la célèbre soprano canadienne Erin Wall incarne à la fois l’innocence de l’enfance et les tourments de l’âge adulte, exprimant notre quête d’un amour pur et inconditionnel.

Natif de Calgary, le pianiste Jan Lisiecki fait sensation sur la scène internationale. Il a remporté un prestigieux prix Echo Klassik pour son enregistrement de 2016 consacré à Chopin. Dans le pétillant et jazzy Concerto en sol de Ravel, il survole adroitement les textures et les harmonies subtiles de l’œuvre, avec une technique virtuose qui vous laissera bouche bée.

L’inoubliable Boléro en un mouvement de Ravel est l’une des pièces de musique classique les plus célèbres de tout le répertoire, avec sa simple et séduisante phrase d’ouverture répétée inlassablement en un crescendo érotique. Depuis sa création en 1928 à l’Opéra Garnier de Paris, le Boléro s’est imprégné dans notre imaginaire artistique, adopté aussi bien par les cinéastes que par les rappeurs, les planchistes et les concepteurs de jeux vidéo.

Jan Lisiecki © Holger Hage
Jan Lisiecki © Holger Hage
Erin Wall © Kristin Hoebermann

Menu