September 21, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Amanda Forsyth © Cheryl Mazak

Amanda Forsyth Cello

2018-11-14 20:00 2018-11-15 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Amanda Forsyth Cello

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/18718

“I envisage myself as a prism in which music and the musicians are like the ray of white light that goes through one end of me, and I refract,” muses Elim Chan, the young conductor making her NAC main series debut in these concerts.  A past fellow in the NAC Orchestra’s Conductor’s Program, the Hong Kong-born musician has made her mark on the classical music circuit with her thoughtful and dynamic performances, imbued with energy and imagination. JUNO Award winner...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
November 14 - 15, 2018
This event has passed
Amanda Forsyth © Cheryl Mazak
Music Classical music Masterworks
  • Mendelssohn The Hebrides Overture, Op. 26, “Fingal’s Cave”
  • Marjan Mozetich Cello Concerto
  • Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4, “Italian”

World Premiere

NAC Commission

“I envisage myself as a prism in which music and the musicians are like the ray of white light that goes through one end of me, and I refract,” muses Elim Chan, the young conductor making her NAC main series debut in these concerts.  A past fellow in the NAC Orchestra’s Conductor’s Program, the Hong Kong-born musician has made her mark on the classical music circuit with her thoughtful and dynamic performances, imbued with energy and imagination.

JUNO Award winner Amanda Forsyth, the long-tenured former principal cello of the NAC Orchestra, has enthralled critics and audiences the world over with her remarkable technique, intense tone and exceptional musicality. Exuding a palpable charisma, she commands the gaze of audiences, captivating them beyond the aural realm.

Forsyth will premiere a new work written for her by leading Canadian composer Marjan Mozetich.  A self-professed lover of all types of popular music, Mozetich composes in a unique style of post-modern romantic blended with traditional, popular and modern sounds.  “There’s a certain satisfaction and a pleasure in writing something that connects to people”, said Mozetich.

Experience the creation of a new work, brought to life by the marriage of musical minds.


Commissioned by Charles Richard (Dick) Harington for 
Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra
Alexander Shelley, Music Director 
 

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission

Amanda Forsyth © Cheryl Mazak
Elim Chan © Willeke Machiels
Menu

Amanda Forsyth © Cheryl Mazak
  • Mendelssohn Ouverture Les Hébrides, opus 26, « La grotte de Fingal »
  • Marjan Mozetich Concerto pour violoncelle
  • Mendelssohn Symphonie no 4, « Italienne »

Première mondiale

Commande du CNA

« Je me vois comme un prisme : la musique et les musiciens me traversent tel un rayon de lumière blanche que je réfracte au bout de moi », illustre Elim Chan, la jeune chef d’orchestre qui fait ses débuts dans la série principale de l’orchestre du CNA à la faveur de ces concerts. Ancienne du Programme de direction d’Orchestre du CNA, la musicienne née à Hong Kong se distingue sur le circuit de la musique classique par ses prestations pénétrantes et dynamiques, empreintes d’énergie et d’imagination.

Musicienne primée aux JUNO, Amanda Forsyth, qui occupa longtemps le poste de violoncelle solo de l’Orchestre du CNA, enthousiasme la critique et les auditoires du monde entier par sa technique remarquable, son timbre chaud et son sens musical exceptionnel. Forte d’un charisme palpable, elle captive le public bien au-delà de la sphère auditive.

Madame Forsyth créera une nouvelle pièce écrite pour elle par Marjan Mozetich, compositeur canadien de premier plan. Autodidacte épris de tous les types de musique populaire, celui-ci écrit dans un style unique alliant le romantisme postmoderne à des sonorités traditionnelles, populaires et contemporaines. « J’éprouve une satisfaction et un plaisir certains à écrire quelque chose qui rejoint les gens », affirme le compositeur.

Vivez la création d’une œuvre nouvelle, née de l’alliance d’esprits musicaux hors du commun.

Apprenez-en plus dans les notes de programme ›

Durée

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte.

Amanda Forsyth © Cheryl Mazak
Elim Chan © Willeke Machiels

Menu