April 8, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Amanda Forsyth © Cheryl Mazak
This event has passed
Amanda Forsyth © Cheryl Mazak
Music Classical music Masterworks
  • Mendelssohn The Hebrides Overture, Op. 26, “Fingal’s Cave”
  • Marjan Mozetich Cello Concerto
  • Mendelssohn Symphony No. 4, “Italian”

World Premiere

NAC Commission

“I envisage myself as a prism in which music and the musicians are like the ray of white light that goes through one end of me, and I refract,” muses Elim Chan, the young conductor making her NAC main series debut in these concerts.  A past fellow in the NAC Orchestra’s Conductor’s Program, the Hong Kong-born musician has made her mark on the classical music circuit with her thoughtful and dynamic performances, imbued with energy and imagination.

JUNO Award winner Amanda Forsyth, the long-tenured former principal cello of the NAC Orchestra, has enthralled critics and audiences the world over with her remarkable technique, intense tone and exceptional musicality. Exuding a palpable charisma, she commands the gaze of audiences, captivating them beyond the aural realm.

Forsyth will premiere a new work written for her by leading Canadian composer Marjan Mozetich.  A self-professed lover of all types of popular music, Mozetich composes in a unique style of post-modern romantic blended with traditional, popular and modern sounds.  “There’s a certain satisfaction and a pleasure in writing something that connects to people”, said Mozetich.

Experience the creation of a new work, brought to life by the marriage of musical minds.

Commissioned by Charles Richard (Dick) Harington for 
Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra
Alexander Shelley, Music Director 

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission

Amanda Forsyth © Cheryl Mazak
Elim Chan © Willeke Machiels