Sinha Danse

OttaW(olly)Wood

National Gallery of Canada 380 Sussex Drive, Ottawa
National Gallery of Canada 380 Sussex Drive, Ottawa
[x] Close

Sinha Danse

Photo: Kevin Calixte

Sinha Danse

Photo: Kevin Calixte

Sinha Danse

Photo: Kevin Calixte

Sinha Danse

Photo: Kevin Calixte

Duration

Performance is approximately 25 minutes with no intermission.

Inspired by the popularity of the flash mob trend, Montreal’s Sinha Danse presents a large-scale community project that mixes contemporary dance with the energy and magic of Bollywood – and takes it to the streets!

For this festive and contagious large-scale presentation, amateur volunteers from the Ottawa-Gatineau region come together with Sinha Danse professionals under the artistic direction of Roger Sinha, with the contribution of Bollywood choreographer Deepali Lindblom. OttaW(olly)Wood reaches its pinnacle in a fabulous outdoor dance event that is an intergenerational and intercultural creation.

Roger Sinha formed Sinha Danse in 1991 and began developing a distinct choreographic language that unites martial arts, contemporary dance, and Bharata Natyam, a dance originating in Southern India. In 2016, he won the Cultural Diversity Prize in Dance, presented by the Conseil des arts de Montréal.

Presented by the Canada Dance Festival in partnership with the NAC’s Canada Scene.

Menu

Sinha Danse

OttaW(olly)Wood

Musée des beaux-arts du Canada 380, promenade Sussex Ottawa
Cet événement est passé
Sinha Danse © Photo: Kevin Calixte

Inspirée de la popularité des mobilisations éclairs (flash mob), la troupe montréalaise Sinha Danse prend les rues d’assaut avec un projet communautaire à grande échelle qui mêle la danse contemporaine à l’énergie et à la magie de Bollywood.

Dans le cadre de cette prestation festive et contagieuse, les amateurs volontaires de la région d’Ottawa-Gatineau se joindront aux professionnels de Sinha Danse, sous la direction artistique de Roger Sinha, avec la contribution du chorégraphe de Bollywood Deepali Lindblom. OttaW(olly)Wood culminera avec un événement de danse extérieur, une création intergénérationnelle et interculturelle.

Roger Sinha a formé Sinha Danse en 1991 et a commencé à développer un langage chorégraphique distinct qui marie les arts martiaux, la danse contemporaine et le Bharata Natyam, une danse originaire de l’Asie du Sud-Est. En 2016, il a remporté le Prix de la diversité culturelle en danse du Conseil des arts de Montréal.

Présenté par le Festival Danse Canada en partenariat avec la Scène Canada du CNA.

Durée

Durée approximative de 25 minutes sans entracte.

video: Montré(olly)Wood
Montré(olly)Wood
Sinha Danse © Photo: Kevin Calixte
Sinha Danse © Photo: Kevin Calixte
Sinha Danse © Photo: Kevin Calixte
Sinha Danse © Photo: Kevin Calixte
Menu