Today at 10 a.m., watch our livestream morning session of The Republic of Inclusion

The Canada Dance Festival in partnership with the National Arts Centre’s Canada Scene celebrates 2017 with a diverse program of new Canadian Dance. Following the successful CDF 2016 and building toward our next full festival in 2018, this year’s edition will showcase powerful movement and beautiful movers – all telling uniquely Canadian stories through dance.

Jeanne Holmes © David Hou © David Hou

Welcome to the 2017 Canada Dance Festival.

From July 2nd to 16th, the CDF, in partnership with Canada Scene, will present a series of contemporary dance works in unique spaces and non-traditional venues. Our 2017 activities once again will take dance off of the stage and into the community, this year as part of the outpouring of arts activities throughout our nation’s capital during this summer’s Canada 150 celebrations.

There are extraordinary and distinctly Canadian talents exploring new ideas and influences in movement: intimate works from influential and established creators; challenging perspectives from emerging voices; and inspiring community dance projects reflecting the world in which they are performed. All infused with the creative spirit of the contemporary artists who call this country home.

We welcome you to meet them all in Ottawa this July. See you there!

Jeanne Holmes

Artistic Director

Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA pendant le Ottawa International Jazz Festival

Le Festival Danse Canada (FDC), en partenariat avec la Scène Canada du Centre national des Arts, célèbre 2017 avec un programme varié de nouvelle danse canadienne. Dans la foulée du succès du FDC 2016, et en prévision de notre prochain festival intégral en 2018, l’édition de cette année mettra à l’honneur des mouvements évocateurs et de superbes danseurs qui racontent des histoires typiquement canadiennes par la danse.

Jeanne Holmes © David Hou © David Hou

Bienvenue au Festival Danse Canada 2017

Du2 au 16 juillet, le FDC, en partenariat avec la Scène Canada, présentera une série de pièces de danse contemporaine dans des lieux uniques et inusités. Cette année encore, nous sortirons la danse de la scène pour la transporter au cœur de la collectivité, dans le cadre du déferlement d’activités artistiques qui embrasera la capitale du pays cet été pour célébrer les 150 ans de la Confédération canadienne.

On verra des talents canadiens remarquables et distinctifs se tourner vers des idées et des influences nouvelles en matière de mouvement : des œuvres intimes de créateurs influents et établis; des voix nouvelles qui déjouent les perspectives; et des projets de danse communautaire inspirants, qui reflètent le milieu dans lequel ils sont interprétés. Tout cela empreint de l’esprit créateur qui anime les artistes de ce pays.

Nous vous invitons à venir les rencontrer à Ottawa en juillet. Au plaisir de vous y accueillir!

Jeanne Holmes

Directrice artistique

Menu