October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Measha Brueggergosman

New Brunswick Youth Orchestra with Measha Brueggergosman

2017-07-07 19:30 2017-07-07 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: New Brunswick Youth Orchestra with Measha Brueggergosman

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/16320

Program includes:
O Canada
TCHAIKOVSKY Marche Slave
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 5
TRADITIONAL Partons, la mer est belle, arr. Aaron Davis
HOWARD SHORE Sea to Sea It started with a dream and an email that was three weeks in the writing, requesting a special gift to mark the 150th anniversary of Canada’s confederation. An unexpected phone call followed, and the result was a new commission from Oscar-winning composer Howard Shore (Lord of the Rings, Mrs....

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, July 7, 2017
7:30 PM EDT
This event has passed
Measha Brueggergosman
Music Classical music Canadian

Program includes:
O Canada
TCHAIKOVSKY Marche Slave
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 5
TRADITIONAL Partons, la mer est belle, arr. Aaron Davis
HOWARD SHORE Sea to Sea

It started with a dream and an email that was three weeks in the writing, requesting a special gift to mark the 150th anniversary of Canada’s confederation. An unexpected phone call followed, and the result was a new commission from Oscar-winning composer Howard Shore (Lord of the Rings, Mrs. Doubtfire, Silence of the Lambs) created specifically for this performance.

Under the direction of Venezuelan-born conductor Antonio Delgado, the New Brunswick Youth Orchestra (NBYO) will premier Shore’s new commission for soloist, chorus, and orchestra in an evening that will also include renowned New Brunswick soprano and long-time NBYO collaborator Measha Brueggergosman.

Inspired by the internationally recognized El Sistema in Venezuela, the NBYO is the first Sistema-branded program in Canada. Believing music is a powerful agent for social change, the mission of Sistema NB is to promote the collective practice of music in order to inspire children and youth to achieve their full potential, acquiring values that favour their growth and have a positive impact on their lives and society.

Presented in association with Music & Beyond

Measha Brueggergosman
Tony Delgado
  • Conductor Antonio Delgado
  • Soprano soloist Measha Brueggergosman
Menu

Orchestre des jeunes du Nouveau-Brunswick avec Measha Brueggergosman

Measha Brueggergosman

Tony Delgado

Programme :
Ô Canada
TCHAIKOVSKY Marche Slave
BEETHOVEN Symphonie No. 5
TRADITIONAL Partons, la mer est belle, arr. Aaron Davis
HOWARD SHORE Sea to Sea

Tout a commencé par un rêve, et par un courriel qui s’est écrit en 3 semaines, demandant un cadeau spécial pour souligner le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne. Un appel inattendu a suivi, et le résultat fut une nouvelle commande du compositeur oscarisé Howard Shore (Le Seigneur des anneaux, Mme Doubtfire, Le Silence des agneaux) créée tout spécialement pour ce concert.

Sous la direction du chef d’orchestre d’origine vénézuélienne Antonio Delgado, l’Orchestre des jeunes du Nouveau-Brunswick (OJNB) offrira en première mondiale la nouvelle commande de Shore pour soliste, chœur et orchestre lors d’une soirée qui mettra aussi en vedette la soprano néobrunswickoise de renom et collaboratrice de longue date de l’OJNB, Measha Brueggergosman.

Inspiré par l’approche vénézuélienne internationalement reconnue El Sistema, l’OJNB offre le premier programme Sistema au Canada. Ayant pour prémisse que la musique est un puissant agent de changement social, la mission de Sistema N.B. est de promouvoir la pratique collective de la musique afin d’inspirer les enfants et les jeunes à développer leur plein potentiel, à acquérir des valeurs qui favorisent leur épanouissement et à avoir un impact positif sur leurs vies et la société.

Présenté en association avec Musique et Autres Mondes

crédits

  • Chef d'orchestre Antonio Delgado
  • Soprano soliste Measha Brueggergosman

Liens artiste

Menu