Compagnie Marie Chouinard

Hieronymus Bosch: The Garden of Earthly Delights

[x] Close

Compagnie Marie Chouinard

Photo: Nicolas Ruel
Dancers : Morgane Le Tiec, Sacha Ouellette-Deguire, Carol Prieur, Leon Kupferschmid, Sébastien Cossette-Masse, Megan Walbaum

Compagnie Marie Chouinard

Photo: Nicolas Ruel
Dancer : Valeria Galluccio

Since 1978, world-renowned choreographer and performer Marie Chouinard's startling and evocative works have reflected her belief that dance is a sacred art and the human body is the vehicle for that art. With each new piece (and she has created more than 50), Marie crafts a completely new and compelling universe for us to inhabit. Hieronymus Bosch: The Garden of Earthly Delights is her latest creation.

Featuring a talented ensemble, the work delves into the mysterious imagery of Hieronymus Bosch’s most famous and ambitious surviving painting, exploring temptation and the dangers of perfect liberty and bringing to life the fantastical imagery and fertile landscapes depicted in the triptych’s three panels – from paradise to the garden of earthly delights and beyond.

A true national treasure, Marie Chouinard is Founder and Artistic Director of Compagnie Marie Chouinard, Founder and President of the Prix de la Danse de Montréal, Director of Dance at the Venice Biennale, Associate Dance Artist of Canada’s National Arts Centre, and winner of the 2016 Governor General’s Performing Arts Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement.

Presented by the NAC’s Canada Scene and the Canada Dance Festival.

"Chouinard successfully pulls off the feat of actually bringing the Bosch triptych to life."

Dina Ruttle, Tanzchrift, Vienna
Partner
Canada Dance Festival
Menu

Compagnie Marie Chouinard

Jérôme Bosch: Le jardin des délices

Théâtre du CNA

Théâtre du CNA

[x] Fermer

Compagnie Marie Chouinard

Photo : Nicolas Ruel Interprètes : Morgane Le Tiec, Sacha Ouellette-Deguire, Carol Prieur, Leon Kupferschmid, Sébastien Cossette-Masse, Megan Walbaum

Compagnie Marie Chouinard

Photo : Nicolas Ruel Interprète : Valeria Galluccio

Première au CNA

Coprésentation du CNA

Depuis 1978, l’œuvre saisissante et évocatrice de la chorégraphe et danseuse MARIE CHOUINARD reflète sa conviction que la danse est un art sacré et que le corps humain en est le véhicule. Avec chaque nouvelle pièce (elle en a plus de 50 à son actif), Marie façonne un nouvel univers captivant qui nous habite. Jérôme Bosch : Le jardin des délices est sa plus récente création.

L’œuvre, interprétée par un talentueux ensemble, explore le concept de la tentation et les dangers de la liberté totale tout en nous immergeant dans l’imagerie mystérieuse du tableau le plus célèbre et ambitieux de Jérôme Bosch qui ait survécu jusqu’à notre époque. Elle donne ainsi vie à une imagerie fantastique, à des paysages fertiles qu’évoquent les trois panneaux du triptyque – du paradis au jardin des délices et plus loin encore.

Véritable trésor national, Marie Chouinard est directrice générale et artistique de la COMPAGNIE MARIE CHOUINARD, présidente-fondatrice des Prix de la Danse de Montréal, directrice de la danse à la Biennale de Venise, artiste associée de Danse du Centre national des Arts du Canada, et lauréate d’un Prix de la réalisation artistique de 2016 décerné dans le cadre des Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle.

Présenté par le Festival Danse Canada et La Scène Canada du CNA.

« Chouinard réussit son pari de donner vie au triptyque de Bosch. Tout un exploit! »
Dina Ruttle, Tanzchrift, Vienna

Vidéos

  • Excerpt JÉRÔME BOSCH : LE JARDIN DES DÉLICES (2016)

crédits

Liens artiste

Cdf-logo-2
Menu