Joshua Bell’s Christmas

with the NAC Orchestra

Joshua Bell © Shervin Lainez II
"It was a strange feeling, that people were actually, ah...ignoring me." Joshua Bell, Washington Metro, January 12, 2007

Canadian Premiere

NAC Co-commission

This concert begins at 7 p.m.

A holiday concert for the whole family!

The whimsical story at the heart of The Man with the Violin performance is anchored in an evening of Christmas magic. The Choirs of Christ Church Cathedral lead the evening’s programme with a selection of holiday choral classics including HARK! The Heral Angels Sing and Silent Night

After a sold-out premiere at the Kennedy Centre in Washington, DC, the spectacular multi-media show The Man with the Violin* comes to Ottawa for its Canadian debut. Composer Anne Dudley brilliantly transforms Kathy Stinson and Dušan Petričić’s award-winning children’s picture book, telling the true story of how world famous violinist Joshua Bell performed as a street musician for an hour in a bustling subway in Washington, D.C. While more than a thousand people passed, only seven stopped to listen to him play. Bell noticed that children often wanted to stop and listen, but parents pulled them away as they rushed to their destination. Experience what Joshua Bell’s concert in the subway might have felt like, through the eyes of a curious child. With colourful video animation and a star performance by Bell himself, The Man with the Violin works its magic on audiences both young and old.

 

 

Come Early!

10 years ago, when world-famous violinist Joshua Bell busked in a Washington subway Station, thousands of passersby walked on without so much as a glance. We invite you to our public spaces before the evening’s performance, where you can relive the harmonious cacophony of the subway station.  

From 6:15 to 6:45 p.m., you will find a mix of talented musicians hidden unexpectedly throughout the building, busking their hearts out for everyone who’ll listen. Make sure to arrive early so that you can find them all, and enjoy a rare moment of childlike joy and whimsy.

CITY ROOM / G&T STAIRCASE: Les bécarres (vocal group)

JOSE’S LOUNGE : Hibernia (voice and harp)

PARKING LEVEL 3 AT BOTTOM OF CANAL LOBBY ESCALATORS: Baobab drumming group  

CANAL FOYER:  North String Quartet (violin, viola and cello)

BALCONY FOYER: Reeds on Strings (violin, viola and cello)

 

Join us after the concert! Joshua Bell along with Kathy Stinson, author, and Dušan Petričić, llustrator of the children book The Man with the Violin, will be available to sign autographs.

The Friends of the NAC Orchestra are pleased to hold a spectacular silent auction on December 20 in the Southam Hall Foyer of the NAC in conjunction with this NAC Orchestra concert. Bid on outstanding and unique donated items from across Canada and from around the world. Proceeds benefit the Friends of the NAC Orchestra’s commitment to music education programs for young people. Help us build a fantastic future for music in Canada!

Concert made possible in part through the Friends of NAC Orchestra Kilpatrick Fund

*Canadian premiere; NAC Orchestra co-commission with the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

Based on The Man with the Violin © 2013 Kathy Stinson (text); Dusan Petricic (illustrations); Joshua Bell (postscript); published by Annick Press Ltd.

Duration

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission.

video: The Man with the Violin book trailer
The Man with the Violin book trailer
Joshua Bell © Shervin Lainez II

Artists

Menu

Le Noël de Joshua Bell

avec l’Orchestre du CNA

Cet événement est passé
Joshua Bell © Shervin Lainez II

Première canadienne

Commande conjointe du CNA

Ce concert commence à 19 h.

Un concert du temps des Fêtes pour toute la famille!

L’histoire originale au cœur de L’homme au violon fait partie d’une soirée sous le thème de la magie des Fêtes. Les chœurs de la cathédrale Christ Church lancent le programme de la soirée avec une sélection de chants classiques du temps des Fêtes, comprenant « Écoutez le chant des anges » et « Sainte nuit ».

Après une première à guichets fermés au Kennedy Centre de Washington DC, le sensationnel spectacle multimédia L'homme au violon* fait ses débuts canadiens à Ottawa. La compositrice Anne Dudley offre une adaptation magnifique du livre d’images primé du même nom, écrit par Kathy Stinson et illustré par Dušan Petričić, qui raconte l’expérience vécue par le violoniste virtuose Joshua Bell lors de sa prestation d’une heure comme musicien de rue dans une station de métro achalandée de Washington. Tandis qu’un millier d’usagers se hâtaient, indifférents, seuls sept se sont arrêtés pour l’écouter. Bell a observé que souvent des enfants voulaient s’arrêter pour l’écouter jouer, mais leurs parents les bousculaient, pressés de se rendre à leur destination. Faites l’expérience de ce concert de Joshua Bell dans la station de métro à travers les yeux d’un enfant curieux. Avec des animations vidéo colorées et une prestation remarquable de Bell lui-même, L'homme au violon* enchantera les publics jeunes et moins jeunes.   

 

Arrivez tôt!

Il y a dix ans, lorsque le violoniste de renommée mondiale Joshua Bell a joué dans des stations de métro à Washington, des milliers de passants ont poursuivi leur chemin sans même jeter un coup d’œil. Nous vous invitons dans nos espaces publics avant le concert, pour vous immerger dans l’harmonieuse cacophonie d’une station de métro.

De 18 h 15 à 18 h 45, vous entendrez un mélange sonore produit par de talentueux musiciens installés un peu partout dans le CNA, qui joueront avec passion pour tous ceux qui les écouteront. Assurez-vous d’arriver assez tôt pour les trouver et les entendre tous, et profitez d’un rare moment de joie enfantine.

ESPACE URBAIN/ESCALIER G&T : Les bécarres (groupe vocal)

SALON JOSÉ : Hibernia (voix et harpe)

NIVEAU 3 DU STATIONNEMENT, EN BAS DES ESCALIERS ROULANTS DU FOYER DU CANAL : l’ensemble de percussions Baobab

FOYER DU CANAL : Quatuor à cordes North (violon, alto et violoncelle)

FOYER DU BALCON : Reeds on Strings (violon, alto et violoncelle)

 

Restez des nôtres après le concert! Joshua Bell ainsi que Kathy Stinson, l'auteure et Dušan Petričić, l'illustrateur du livre pour enfant L'homme au violon,  seront disponibles pour une session d'autographes.

À l’occasion de ce concert de l’Orchestre du CNA, les Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA ont le plaisir d’organiser un encan silencieux spectaculaire dans le foyer de la salle Southam du CNA, le 20 décembre. Faites vos offres pour des articles hors pairs et uniques provenant de dons originaires du Canada et du monde entier. Les recettes serviront à financer les engagements que les Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA ont contractés envers les programmes d’éducation musicale pour les jeunes. Aidez-nous à bâtir un avenir rayonnant pour la musique au Canada.

Concert rendu possible en partie grâce au Fonds Kilpatrick des Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA

*Première canadienne; commande conjointe de l’Orchestre du CNA et du Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

D’après The Man with the Violin © 2013 Kathy Stinson (texte); Dušan Petričic (illustrations); Joshua Bell (postface); publié aux éditions Annick Press Ltd.

Durée

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte.

video: L’homme au violon video - Veuillez noter que cette vidéo est en anglais seulement.
L’homme au violon video - Veuillez noter que cette vidéo est en anglais seulement.
Joshua Bell © Shervin Lainez II

Artistes

Menu