This event has passed
© Julie Charland
“Who feels safe these days, either personally or politically? Is our sense of insecurity based in reality, or is it largely imaginary? These are the questions Arne Lygre interweaves with the notions of exile and identity, with stunning results.” Fabienne Darge, Le Monde

In this enigmatic chamber piece, ordinary people overwhelmed by their fears slip outside of themselves, duplicate themselves, invent fantastical identities. A breathtaking reflection on absence and the fragility of the human connection.

Two women flee their country in haste. During their improvised escape from an unnamed threat, their sense of self loses definition, and they engage in enigmatic role plays. Are they running from a political coup? A broken love affair? Norwegian playwright Arne Lygre’s ambiguous text deliberately avoids naming the catastrophe. His words construct a fantastical journey guided by Catherine Vidal, mistress of the art of exposing repressed emotion and distress, and of directing actors with a confident and precise hand.

Related podcast episode

© Julie Charland
© Matthew Fournier
© Matthew Fournier
© Matthew Fournier
© Matthew Fournier
© Matthew Fournier

Artists

Menu

Cet événement est passé
© Julie Charland
« Qui se sent en sécurité, aujourd’hui, à la fois sur le plan intime et sur le plan politique ? Ce sentiment d’insécurité repose-t-il uniquement sur des bases réelles, ou largement fantasmatiques ? C’est tout cela qu’Arne Lygre tisse avec la question de l’exil et celle de l’identité, amenée de manière tout à fait bouleversante. » Fabienne Darge, Le Monde

Un théâtre de chambre énigmatique au sein duquel des êtres ordinaires en proie à leurs peurs glissent hors d’eux-mêmes, se dédoublent, s’inventent une identité fantasmatique. Une époustouflante réflexion sur l’absence et la fragilité des liens humains.

Dans l’urgence, deux femmes quittent leur pays. Pendant cette fuite improvisée pour échapper à une menace indiscernable, leur moi frise la dissolution et s’abandonne à d’énigmatiques jeux de rôle. Fuient-elles un coup d’État ? Une rupture amoureuse ? Les mots ambigus de l’auteur norvégien Arne Lygre se gardent de nommer la catastrophe. Ils donnent naissance à une traversée fantasmatique qui a pour capitaine Catherine Vidal, maîtresse dans l’art de faire affleurer le refoulé et la détresse et d’assurer une direction d’acteurs toujours acérée.

© Julie Charland
© Matthew Fournier
© Matthew Fournier
© Matthew Fournier
© Matthew Fournier
© Matthew Fournier

Artistes

Menu